We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel little food nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Roanoke Rapids
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel little food nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at this facility a few weeks back. Great room, ice cold air, great bathroom - all restaurants are an exit either way on I-95. After driving for 12 hours I really didn't want reheated Sysco nor drive to another exit to eat.

Room Tip: I had an accessible room which was very spacious... and great value. Excellent wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belashah, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Thank you very much for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    146
    83
    31
    38
See reviews for
188
130
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stay a lot at different hotels on the east coast and I have never had the front desk clerks NOT speak to people when checking in. We had our daughters college graduation gathering there (Hilton Garden was already booked) and I will NEVER go back to this place for anything. I thought it was just me, but I had other family members complain about the same thing. Then to add to things, our key pad on our room stopped working and we had to switch rooms in the middle of our gathering (they couldn't replace it right then). One thing that was my fault was I forgot a pair of sandals in the room and they were nice enough to call me after we were already one hour away, so they asked if I wanted them to mail them to me...sure. Four days later I receive a COD package in mail for $24.40....wow, I only live two hours away, If I had known they were going to mail them PRIORITY at that price without letting me know, they could have kept the sandals. All I can say is if you are checking in, get ready for attitude!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belashah, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay at Best Western. Since May, several changes have taken place with our staff and guest services. Nevertheless, we have taken your feedback into review and will be dealt with the upmost priority.

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roanoke Rapids hotels

Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
279 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Formally Holiday Inn Express. Travelling from south to north. Called ahead & made reservations to sleep overnight. Reasonably priced room. Clean & neat. Morning continental breakfast. Staff friendly .

Room Tip: ask for room near elevator & away from ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belashah, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and your feedback. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on our way home. Room was clean but the air conditioner did not seem to work properly. It took a long time for it to turn on. Same with refrigerator. It was not getting cool before we went to bed but water turned to ice overnight. I agree with other reviews, breakfast was pretty bad. There was one girl working it and she was very nice, but frazzled. They ran out of white bread for toast, had no regular teabags, only decaf and the pancake machine did not work. I asked the girl about it, she tried pushing a few buttons, but then walked away. Bottom line, I would come again for an overnight stay, but not for a vacation.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathydisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belashah, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Since April, our property has made significant changes within the staff, guest services, and new corporate affiliations. We encourage you to visit the newly enriched Best Western again and let us know about your experience. Nevertheless, we have taken your feedback into review and will have it dealt with the upmost priority.

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Dirty rooms and bed pillows stained. Pulled out nightstand to find outlet and it looked as though no one ever cleaned that area. I am a female and felt I was staying at a truck stop hotel. Was not impressed with breakfast area. Too small and not able to accommodate all guests. I would not recommend if you are a stickler for cleanliness.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 924dianep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belashah, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Since April, numerous changes have taken place including the staff, guest services, along with new corporate affiliations. We encourage you to come visit Best Western again and let us know of your experience during your stay. Nevertheless, we have taken your feedback into review and will deal with it with the upmost priority.

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was here visiting a friend who was in town on business. I was a bit skeptical when I saw the hotel was off the highway but when I got inside I was quickly put at ease. The room he had was very nice and comfortable. I enjoyed every second there. It was clean and very spacious. TV channels were great considering it is a hotel. I will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmom0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belashah, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and great feedback. Please visit us again. We have special promotion going on for Best Western Rewards member and not a member we can enroll you and get 15% off on our Best Available rate. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The entire place smells like an ashtray. It's pretty gross (though the hotel it's self is not in bad shape). I woke up every morning with a cough and congestion from breathing in the stale smoke that seems to perpetually linger. Would not stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Roadyeti,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke Rapids
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Roanoke Rapids SE
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Rapids
Quality Inn Roanoke Rapids
#4 of 8 in Roanoke Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke Rapids
Hampton Inn Roanoke Rapids
#1 of 8 in Roanoke Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Roanoke Rapids
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Roanoke Rapids
Sleep Inn Roanoke Rapids
#7 of 8 in Roanoke Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites
Address: 136 Sheraton Drive, I 95 Exit 171 (Route 125), Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870-8488 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Rapids)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Roanoke Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Roanoke Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites welcomes you to the half-way point between New York and Florida. You are sure to find this Roanoke Rapids, NC hotel full of charm. When looking at a map of I-95, you will find Roanoke Rapids on the border of NC and VA at I-95 exit 171. The Best Western Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites offers a microwave and refrigerator in every room, as well as your choice of wired or wireless HSIA in every room. Attractions near the hotel: Carolina Crossroads, Roanoke Rapids Theatre, Lake Gaston, NC, Medoc Mountain, NC, Haliwa Saponi Indian Tribe, and Roanoke River. In addition, there are several historical points of interest, including museums and festivals, nearby. Local businesses: Georgia Pacific Corporation, International Paper Company, CSX Railroad, PCB Piezotronics and Lowes Distribution Center. Nearby towns: Roanoke Rapids, NC, Rocky Mount, NC, Enfield, NC, Littleton, NC, Halifax, NC, Whitakers, NC, Tillery, NC, Weldon, NC and Emporia, VA. Halifax Community College is located less than twenty miles from the hotel.We look forward to seeing you soon at the Best Western Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Rapids Hotel Roanoke Rapids
Holiday Inn Roanoke Rapids
Roanoke Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing