We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Matthews, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain perfection”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our second trip to Snowbird Mountain Lodge. The lodge is a beautiful old building that has been exceptionally well kept and updated, but maintains the true lodge feel. Rooms are spacious but quaint, and the gathering area is so inviting! We took two other couples with us this time who had never been there, and they loved it as well. The food is wonderful and plentiful, and the hospitality is great. We hit a perfect weather weekend, and of course that helps, too. I highly recommend the lodge for adult couples who are looking for a real get-away to a peaceful, quiet, and natural place.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs will hear the creaky groans of old flooring from the rooms above them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLHN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    39
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
459
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We've been reading about Snowbird for years and finally got a chance to go. What a beautiful setting, high on a ridge! Food was excellent, staff friendly and knowledgeable. Many guests seem to return every year, and we're planning to join them!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Without question Snowbird Mountain Lodge is as good as it gets in the Smokies or anywhere else if you are looking for a great setting - fantastic views - outstanding food - a beautiful lodge and accommodations and terrific staff. We went on a February weekend when the lodge hosts a Wine Pairings and French cuisine - so fantastic - that this was our second year to attend. The area boasts hiking trails of every description - outdoor vistas at over 5000 ft and they pack you a wonderful lunch to take either hiking or just for a stop along the way. The rooms are casual and comfy - the furniture hand made mountain style - the beds the best. The main lodge has a pub with great fireplace - and the main lodge fire place is huge - with plenty of oversized chairs for reading or the occasional snooze. Wrap around porch looks out over miles of forest and mountain tops with rocking chair to bird watch or just take in the beauty. Question of what to do are answered by helpful staff with tons of info on trails, hikes, driving tours, national and state parks, lakes and other points of interest. Don't pass this up - Snowbird is a find - they even provide iPads for use to stay connected --- and best of all - no TV.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Snowbird Mointain Lodge,and again, our experience was truly memorable.Quiet, peaceful, and beautiful...but there is lots to do: Hiking mountain trails (Joyce Kilmer Forest is nearby), canoeing on Lake Santeetlah, biking, and driving through the gorgeous mountains...or just curling up in the lodge's library by the fireplace. And the food! Incredible gpurmet dinnets, breakfast, and a hearty packed lunch...you need to be active! The staff was amazing...we love it here and will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8GatorGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just returned from our annual visit to the Snowbird Mountain Lodge - Bliss! The setting is beautiful; the inn is cozy; the staff is attentive. The food is terrific - gourmet restaurant quality and beautifully presented. We especially enjoy the area's numerous hiking trails. After a long hike we can return to warm cookies and a soak in our deck's hot tub.
Great spot for a romantic long weekend!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Wolfe Cottage and Chestnut Lodge are bigger, more private and have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husand and I started visiting the Snowbird over 30 years ago and to this day it is still our favorite place to go to relax and enjoy eachothers company.The ambience is great, the food even greater. One of the things I have noticed about the Snowbird is the the staff treats the lodge as if it belonged to them. Everything is just so. Even the pillows and blankets in the closet are stacked just right! Robert is a grand host, Butch runs a mean bar, and April not only keeps things running smoothly but pretties up the place.
If you want a home away from home, please give the Snowbird a visit. After all these years, it is still my favorite place to go.
Pam and Jerry Pullen, Helena, Al

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are great, as the name emplies. The forest rooms are very warm and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamkellypullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We spent this past week-end at Snowbird to celebrate our anniversary. We've been many times, but had not been in the past four or five years. Such a romantic place with wonderful food, beautiful scenery, great hiking. Great place to get connected with Nature again. They have paid attention to every little detail to make your stay pleasurable. next time, we are going to stay longer!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Lodge many times and love the coziness of the rooms and the lodge itself, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_R_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
7.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
7.4 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
23.9 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
530 reviews
3.0 mi away
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 12 in Robbinsville
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowbird Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowbird Mountain Lodge

Property: Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Address: 4633 Santeetlah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-7824
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowbird Mountain Lodge, a unique and timeless retreat with majestic views, pampering accommodations, warm hospitality, endless adventure and delectable cuisine, is tucked deep in the Nantahala National Forest. Created in 1941, Snowbird continues to be a mountain haven where guests remove themselves from everyday life and connect with one another amidst nature's abundance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snowbird Mountain Hotel Robbinsville
Snowbird Mountain Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing