We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having done now three annual group rides/meet ups, we have stayed at some places that seemed similar on paper, so I was not expecting much. Man was I shocked. Rooms were very nice, campers were well accommodated, the communal fire made for a great end of day meeting space. The food was good and plentiful. It was nice to not have to go out or cook if we wanted to stay in. The staff was top notch. We had been planning this get together and coordinating this with people from all over the US, Canada, and even Australia and it went off without a hitch. I'd go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    20
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
46
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Met with a group of bikes from different parts of the country to ride. This was our "home base". We stayed in a semi private room (shared bathroom). The unit was very very clean. Not extravagant, but we were there to ride, not hang out in the room. Evenings were spent on the porch in rockers or by the fire telling lies and sharing drinks. It was a very pleasant stay and I will most definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent place! I had a private room in Cabin 4. Everything is pretty close together so it was easy to join the campfire parties that our group threw every night. The beds and room were clean and comfy, and everything we needed was there, right down to a cooler in our room. The owners are personable and obviously ride themselves, because this place is seriously put together for motorcyclists, from the ones like me that rent a nice room, right down to the ones who pack a small tent on their bikes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mills River, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice. We live about 70 miles away in Asheville but will take a day or so to just ride the twisties and stay out overnight. We love the comradarie of the bikers. The rooms are clean and fresh. It's great to not have to carry towels and essentials ie soap, shampoo, hairdryer on the bikes. The food is always plentiful and delicious and we love not having to deal with dinner or breakfast, it's served there. And if the budget is tight we can always take a tent and camp in one of the flat tent spaces. We'll return soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent the night at the Ironhorse. Lots of fun. Very good food-highly recommended. I recommend getting your own cabin. We shared with people we didn't know and it was a little weird sharing a bathroom. Definitely would go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Bravissimi to Charlene and John and their entire staff for creating an outstanding and memorable experience! Their TLC is evident in even the smallest of details, including the lodge's cleanliness, organization, and just an overall well-run resort. Our room with private bath and access to a kitchen and living room offered plenty of space for relaxation, so much so that we can't wait to return with our friends! Over fourth of July weekend, admittedly we were surprised by the at-times uncanny quiet punctuated only by an occasional rev of an engine as guests came and went . Along with stretches of silence, except for when we gathered around the fire to enjoy the band on Saturday night, we savored the lodge's setting in a valley amid vast forested tracts of land, not to mention access to some of THE BEST biking roads on this continent. Aiming for as much time as possible on the Dragon, Cherohala, other twisties and sweepers, we'd head out early in the day, stopping for breakfast at River's End in the Nantahala Gorge or at Everett Street Diner in Bryson City. I'd recommend both as well as the Saturday night dinner at Iron Horse. The Saturday night special, prime rib, had been highly recommended by other bikers who stay regularly at the lodge, and though I steer (intended) clear of meat, my husband enjoyed it while I opted for salmon and a salad. Like those IH "regulars," we're planning to get back there as soon as we can. Thank "y'all" for rockin' the Iron Horse!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrier, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was the first time here at the Iron Horse. Our motorcycle group booked this trip about a month ago. One of our members had been here before. It is in a remote area. There is not too much around the area, in regards to food or gas, etc. Breakfast was served every morning. For two people, around $20 was a little steep, as there were no seconds, anything additional was a-la-carte. Lunch is not served, as I guess most people would be out riding. Dinner is served every night except Mondays and Tuesdays (There is a restaurant at the beginning of Lower Stecoah, that is open most nights until 8, we discovered). We had a room in a cabin that shared a bathroom with another room on the opposite side of the cabin. The room doors locked, but the overall door to the cabin and bathroom from the outside did not. Safety did not seem to be an issue, but there are quite a few people around the area. This lodge has people that camp in tents, camp in campers, and lodge in cabins and bunkhouses. There are quite a few areas to park your bike in a covered area, but it rained a few days while we were there and those spots were taken rather quickly. The price of the cabins per night were a little steep, as you had a bed in a room and shared a bathroom. There are NO TVs in the rooms. There was a shared TV close to the area where the dining hall was. Like I said before, it rained for a few of the days we were there and there was no area to dry out shoes and clothes, unless you wanted to go to the laundry room and do laundry. Overall this place was nice for what it was intended for. The employees there were really nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
8.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
8.7 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
501 reviews
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
20.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
190 reviews
20.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge

Property: Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Address: 1755 Lower Stecoah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a motorcycle exclusive resort located in the middle of the twists & turns in Western NC. We offer all types of accommodations from primitive tent camping, private rooms, RV sites, and full cabin rentals that sleep up to 6-12ppl!! We also have a restaurant on property, Chuck Wagon Grill, that serves breakfast 7 days a week and Dinners Wed - Sunday for our guests on property. We carter to couples, individuals, small groups and even larger groups with 120+. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing