We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lodge!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Norton, Ohio
1 review
“Amazing Lodge!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Rocky Top and it was fantastic. Cabin was large and inviting with a large kitchen and living room. It was in pristine condition and equipped with everything you could need. The owners and staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Wifi free in dining lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    20
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
43
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Definitely more comfortable than some other accommodations in the area. Beautiful grounds, helpful staff and delicious food. Considering the alternative of a several mile twisty turny ride to get dinner, eating at the lodge was reasonably priced and convenient. Camping was quiet but somewhat cramped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
219 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed several times at Iron Horse and will continue to return. The owners are on-site and this makes such a difference. The rooms are spotless, the food good, and the energy just great! These folks ride and you can see they appreciate what is needed. I am baffled by a previous review about a bunkhouse stay. I've not stayed in one but I can assure you, after reading a recent poor review about a bunkhouse, that the photo shown is not of anything on the property. I made a point of looking, as I was curious. I would say if you have questions to call and make sure you know what you are booking, as there are big differences in what they have available, although each is great depending on your needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattyjo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnell, Florida
Level Contributor
433 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We camped here for a week, and it couldn't have been better. A well-run business is a pleasure to deal with -- seemed like these guys had thought of everything. Centrally located in the midst of great street AND dirt motorcycle roads. The setup fosters easy conversation with other guests, which was an added benefit I had not considered. Shower and bathroom always sparkly clean. Food was great, and though some might not like the non-spontaneity of having to order meals in advance, it makes a lot of sense. The price to do laundry included soap -- clever. Only caveat I can think of is that we did not stay on a weekend night, so evenings were peaceful and quiet; not sure if things get loud on Saturday nights.

Room Tip: Gravel pads might be best for tents -- we had a lot of rain, and had to move our tent once (on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VespagirL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the Lodge. Attention to detail was high and the place was clean. it impressed my wife who runs a hotel, always a plus. The environment was great and the staff was Accommodating.

Highly recommended.

We also were part of a group and the Iron Horse variable lodging was just what was needed. Some of our group wanted to camp, others wanted to share a house.. It just worked great.. for a group the Iron Horse staff was very accomodating and made everyone feel comfortable.

The only negative was the food. Unless you're a fan of Institutionalized style food. I'd recommend eating elsewhere. If you're just looking for filling up after a day riding, They do a good job.. But I guess we were hoping/looking for more on our Vacation..

Overall the place was great and we would be happy to go back again..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReddTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've just returned from my fourth visit to the Ironhorse since 2009. Previously I've always camped; this year though my stay was in a creek-view cabin with a lovely verandah and chairs to enjoy the view.
The main bathrooms when camping are always clean and well maintained and each shower is stocked with shampoo, conditioner and bodywash. There is even a hair-dryer in the ladies bathrooms with lots of mirror space for those that wish to pamper themselves after a day on the bike.
The shared cabin bathrooms are stocked similarly. The beds in the cabins are comfortable and the cabins are also air-conditioned if the weather turns balmy. The furniture is functional with a shelving unit that is handy for helmets and similar, as well as a hanging area for jackets. There are also several power outlets in the rooms for charging phones etc. On the property more generally there is also a laundry; the shop; the lodge with TVs, pool tables, kitchen, dining tables and chairs. The front verandah gives an undercover asphalt parking area for the bikes. There is another undercover area for the bikes on the other side off the creek, though with a gravel surface. Then there is the magnificent rear verandah of the lodge with its rocking chairs and the nearby communal fireplace.
This year's trip was to meet up with a group of friends and this communal area was perfect for catching up and relaxing together over a few drinks in the evenings. In past visits this area, especially around the campfire, has been great for meeting other riders from around the world that share the biking bug.
I will be back to the Ironhorse in the future, and will continue to recommend it to any riders planning on visiting the Smokeys and the Dragon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having done now three annual group rides/meet ups, we have stayed at some places that seemed similar on paper, so I was not expecting much. Man was I shocked. Rooms were very nice, campers were well accommodated, the communal fire made for a great end of day meeting space. The food was good and plentiful. It was nice to not have to go out or cook if we wanted to stay in. The staff was top notch. We had been planning this get together and coordinating this with people from all over the US, Canada, and even Australia and it went off without a hitch. I'd go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
8.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
15.2 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
87 reviews
20.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
490 reviews
13.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge

Property: Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Address: 1755 Lower Stecoah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a motorcycle exclusive resort located in the middle of the twists & turns in Western NC. We offer all types of accommodations from primitive tent camping, private rooms, RV sites, and full cabin rentals that sleep up to 6-12ppl!! We also have a restaurant on property, Chuck Wagon Grill, that serves breakfast 7 days a week and Dinners Wed - Sunday for our guests on property. We carter to couples, individuals, small groups and even larger groups with 120+. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing