We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been several times over the years, always excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been several times over the years, always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just a great motorcycle centric lodge and campground. I've camped there mostly but my last visit was in a shared cabin. The camping restrooms have always impressed me as first rate for campgrounds. The overall grounds are just great and inviting. Always have a positive experience.

The community camp fire is always a great way to spend the evenings talking with fellow motorcyclist. The food is fair and needs to be pre-ordered. Not a huge deal, just set your expectations appropriately. Great friendly staff and owners.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SL_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
39
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I've been visiting Iron Horse since the first year they were open, and I'll be back again in September for the Horizons Unlimited Travelers Meeting. John and Charlene provide the closest thing to motorcycle nirvana at a reasonable price you could imagine. It seems every time I return, they've added new features. Last time, it was the covered motorcycle parking; what will it be this year?

I've both camped and rented semi-private cabin space, and both were very nice. The buildings are beautifully designed and built. The food is terrific, especially the prime rib they do on Saturday nights, and the desserts are wicked. The camp store has most everything you'd need, and the staff is always friendly and helpful.

The first time I saw Iron Horse, I thought it was the kind of place I'd like to live. That opinion hasn't changed over the last 10+ years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Rocky Top and it was fantastic. Cabin was large and inviting with a large kitchen and living room. It was in pristine condition and equipped with everything you could need. The owners and staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Wifi free in dining lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Definitely more comfortable than some other accommodations in the area. Beautiful grounds, helpful staff and delicious food. Considering the alternative of a several mile twisty turny ride to get dinner, eating at the lodge was reasonably priced and convenient. Camping was quiet but somewhat cramped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
204 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed several times at Iron Horse and will continue to return. The owners are on-site and this makes such a difference. The rooms are spotless, the food good, and the energy just great! These folks ride and you can see they appreciate what is needed. I am baffled by a previous review about a bunkhouse stay. I've not stayed in one but I can assure you, after reading a recent poor review about a bunkhouse, that the photo shown is not of anything on the property. I made a point of looking, as I was curious. I would say if you have questions to call and make sure you know what you are booking, as there are big differences in what they have available, although each is great depending on your needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattyjo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnell, Florida
Level Contributor
383 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We camped here for a week, and it couldn't have been better. A well-run business is a pleasure to deal with -- seemed like these guys had thought of everything. Centrally located in the midst of great street AND dirt motorcycle roads. The setup fosters easy conversation with other guests, which was an added benefit I had not considered. Shower and bathroom always sparkly clean. Food was great, and though some might not like the non-spontaneity of having to order meals in advance, it makes a lot of sense. The price to do laundry included soap -- clever. Only caveat I can think of is that we did not stay on a weekend night, so evenings were peaceful and quiet; not sure if things get loud on Saturday nights.

Room Tip: Gravel pads might be best for tents -- we had a lot of rain, and had to move our tent once (on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VespagirL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the Lodge. Attention to detail was high and the place was clean. it impressed my wife who runs a hotel, always a plus. The environment was great and the staff was Accommodating.

Highly recommended.

We also were part of a group and the Iron Horse variable lodging was just what was needed. Some of our group wanted to camp, others wanted to share a house.. It just worked great.. for a group the Iron Horse staff was very accomodating and made everyone feel comfortable.

The only negative was the food. Unless you're a fan of Institutionalized style food. I'd recommend eating elsewhere. If you're just looking for filling up after a day riding, They do a good job.. But I guess we were hoping/looking for more on our Vacation..

Overall the place was great and we would be happy to go back again..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReddTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
15.2 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
15.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
13.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
7.3 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge

Property: Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Address: 1755 Lower Stecoah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a motorcycle exclusive resort located in the middle of the twists & turns in Western NC. We offer all types of accommodations from primitive tent camping, private rooms, RV sites, and full cabin rentals that sleep up to 6-12ppl!! We also have a restaurant on property, Chuck Wagon Grill, that serves breakfast 7 days a week and Dinners Wed - Sunday for our guests on property. We carter to couples, individuals, small groups and even larger groups with 120+. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing