We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a spa but definitely the place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deal's Gap Motorcycle Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not a spa but definitely the place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I'd read a lot about it being a man's place, but told my husband that I'd stay there one night for the "experience". When we checked in there was a long list of things we had to agree not to do, now you know they have had people do these things or they wouldn't be on the list. The list was not reassuring that this would be a place that I wanted to stay. The room was spartan, a queen sized bed, a set of bunks, a wire baker's rack that held your saddle bags. Racks that held out jackets, pants and helmets. The TV was on a wall mounted shelf. The bathroom was a shower, small sink and a toilet. That being said - it was clean. Very clean. Towels were plentiful and also very clean and fluffy. The diner portion of the place served a great breakfast, the eggs were perfect. Their lunch special was pork sandwich that was wonderful! Lots of meat on it. The strawberry cobbler was great too. What was weird was that this place was booked full, is 20 miles from anywhere and because it rained they arbitrarily closed the diner and store at 5 instead of at 7 leaving their guests, most of whom were on motorcycles, to either starve or drive 20 miles in the rain to get dinner. Fortunately, we had stopped in to see if we could stay an extra night and found out they were closing early. They were very accomodating about packing us a couple of the great pork sandwiches in to-go boxes to heat in the in room microwave so we did have food for the evening. Not all of the tennants got the memo and they were not happy. The next day it poured until noon and they closed at 3 that day. We stayed in our room until afternoon, then the rain eased up and we headed out. Knowing that they were closing early, we ate before we returned so we weren't inconvienced but it just seemed odd that they would close the dining facility knowing there was a lot of people needing to eat - I understand closing the store but not the diner. Other than that though, we enjoyed the comradarie of the other riders, talked a lot of "bike talk" and hit the road early the next day. The rooms although spartan were clean and comfortable and that's what riders need. Women do not have to be afraid to stay there unless they are diva's and need a vanity and a whirlpool. The other bikers were respectful too. The housekeepers here deserve kudos because despite all the bikers they serve, the place is clean! The AC units were very quiet and efficient, they removed humidity and kicked into heat mode the night it got chilly outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wings1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
22
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IAH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you are a motorcycle rider or a sports car driver then the Tail of the Dragon is a must do. 318 curves in 11 miles is like no another. Just watch out for law enforcement.
This place is located right at the entrance of The Dragon on NC side. I visit this place at least once or twice in a year.
I never stayed at their motel rooms but they looked very basic when I glanced thru it. I don't think I would like to stay here because of all the crowd, noise and for the very basic rooms. I usually stay in Robbinsville, a nice little town which is not far away.
Their food is very average, nothing special and sometimes the wait time can be quite long.
Since they are conveniently located right at the entrance to the Dragon and there is no other place to eat nearby, this place became a Mecca for motorcyclists.
You will see hundreds, if not thousands, of motorcycles of ALL kind. If not the location I wouldn't have given 4 stars for this place.
Having said that your trip to Dragon wouldn't complete until you visit this place at least once either for a pit stop or to buy a souvenir or to eat (but not for spend a night). Happy and safe riding.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyHighTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

went to do the Tail of the Dragon and other rides. Deals gap is the best place to stay its right in the middle of the action.it is the begining of the tail. The rooms are for men not women.bunk beds an a queen sz. Fire pit at night an benches to sit on and talk about riding the Dragon.everyone is a friend. Restraunt. Bar.store. And don't forget the tree of shame..would go back just remember its a mans playgound.....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2zoezoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Its ok - but they can't handle crowds. Maybe a Tuesday in October would be great but stay away in summer, just too crazy. The food shack is stacked up and takes 30 mins to get a drink, the gift shop is backed up to the food line. Its a good place to pull over and catch up with ur group but def not a place to sleep, eat or shop in July and prob August.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremiahF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is a great place for any bike rider to visit, whether for a "pit stop" or an extended stay. We have enjoyed sitting at the Resort, watching fellow bikers come and go as much as riding in the area. The food is good, the people friendly and we had a great time. We stayed for three nights and they have quiet time posted (10 PM to 7 AM I think) and it is very quiet. We would sit out front of the room and all our neighbors would talk about what they did and saw that day. The Place is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I didn't stay in the hotel part, but the diner is great. This is pretty much the official base camp of the Dragon's Tail - lots of motorcycles, motorcycle people, & good food. Walking around in the parking lot and chatting with others is a fun pastime. When it comes time to chow down, you don't want to miss the BBQ pork sandwich or the HUGE burgers they offer. They're fast and know how to handle a crowd in record time. It's clean and the prices are very reasonable. The clientele are mixed in both age and bike type - it isn't just a sport bike or Harley hangout - it's a fun stop for all types.

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the diner! ZOOM ZOOM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dietcokeani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

We had a rather sobering experience at the deal's gap bikers 'resort'. The term resort can't be futher from reality with the establishment rather resembling a run-down motel.

Ok, some bikers are a little rough around the edges, and the owner of the 'resort' had some bad experiences with badly behaving customers stealing everything in the guest room - including bolted on items and the fridge, as well as defecating into the shower, resulting into huge clean-up and replacement costs. Granted, but I am sure the average hotel in Las Vegas will experience similar. Unfortunately, the 'resort' feels its necessary to remind every guest of the house rules and makes them sign it too.

The rooms are spartanic to say the least, reminding us of a backpacker place or youth hostel, and included squeaky double and a bunk. The room was not clean and we found some dark curly hair and dirty towels. Our room was in the middle of the complex adjacent to a diesel generator, which was going all night long.

The location is just at the beginning (southern end) of the dragons tail, which is not bad if you intend to ride it and want an early start to beat the crowds. Down-side is that there are services anywhere near. The 'resort' is closing its restaurant at 7pm - so no food or drinks after that.

We recommend to stay somewhere nearby, there are multiple better choices available. Even though the 60 dollar room rate sounds low, you are not getting much bang for your buck.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
1.9 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
11.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
6.0 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
87 reviews
24.7 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deal's Gap Motorcycle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deal's Gap Motorcycle Resort

Property: Deal's Gap Motorcycle Resort
Address: 17548 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort is the official home of the world famous "Dragon". There is no better place to stay to enjoy quick access to the Dragon and many other fantastic roads in the area. Our rooms are always clean and comfortable. We serve a full breakfast and dinner menu in our restaurant. Make sure to get your official Dragon t-shirt and other souvenirs in our store and top off the gas tank before you make another pass through the Dragon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing