We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This "resort" is in an excellent location close to the Dragon tail. The rooms are clean and modest except for a few cockroaches. The restaurant hours are restricted so plan ahead. On most days, the restaurant closes at 6pm. The attitude towards guests held by the managers at the Deal's Gap Motorcycle Resort is appauling and demeaning. They treat customers as if they are potential trouble makers. The manager certainly looks down on hotel guests. Other staff are ok. The food is not good. My friends could not eat their food including a hamburger. Robinsville is a better alternative (some are motorbike friendly - one has motorbike garages).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_P_Burris, General Manager at Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

I apologize for your bad experience. SInce your visit we have made numerous changes in the staff and management. Would love for you to give our place another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here one night on a motorcycle trip through the area, for the sole purpose of riding the local roads, including the Tail of the Dragon. The resort (not the appropriate term, but it was fine) has a number of decent sized rooms which are functional but not well outfitted. They serve their purpose, and the staff is highly friendly and helpful. This is a motorcycle resort, so if you come to ride, it works great, but it isn't a destination stay otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTxGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stopped here on our way up the Dragon's Tail to get souvenirs, and to eat lunch. Lunch was very good and very reasonable with large portions. This is a must stop to see the tree of shame, other motorcycles, and one of the only places to get souvenirs. There are two shops, must check both of them out. We spent a couple hours here between the restaurant, looking at motorcycles and looking in the shops. Can't wait to go back and ride the Dragon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AmberLynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A must stop for a biker or sports car driver in the area. Haven't stayed in the motel just the required stop at the store to buy trinkets and T-shirts then a bite to eat from next door.

Looking forward to going back and staying a night in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KiloBravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is a classic place to stop for a bite to eat or drink while visiting the Tail of the Dragon. The food is not fancy, but very good. And I really enjoyed their potato salad. While there were no picnic tables, we sat on a bench outside in the sun and shared stories with some of the bikers there. We were driving with four wheels, and they admired our cards

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarefootContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

There is nothing fancy about the rooms but there is nothing fancy about the price either and that's what most Bikers are looking for. Just a step above a tent is all we need every 3rd day or so and this is it. Better get there early though case they close pretty early and don't think your gonna get a midnight snack unless your ready to run down the mountain for about 20 miles to the next town. But if you wanna be ready to run the Dragon's tail at the crack of dawn with a good breakfast under your belt, or end your day at the beginning of the Dragon's tail - then this place is for you. It seems like it was around $70 for room that had a bunk bed and a Queen bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I'd read a lot about it being a man's place, but told my husband that I'd stay there one night for the "experience". When we checked in there was a long list of things we had to agree not to do, now you know they have had people do these things or they wouldn't be on the list. The list was not reassuring that this would be a place that I wanted to stay. The room was spartan, a queen sized bed, a set of bunks, a wire baker's rack that held your saddle bags. Racks that held out jackets, pants and helmets. The TV was on a wall mounted shelf. The bathroom was a shower, small sink and a toilet. That being said - it was clean. Very clean. Towels were plentiful and also very clean and fluffy. The diner portion of the place served a great breakfast, the eggs were perfect. Their lunch special was pork sandwich that was wonderful! Lots of meat on it. The strawberry cobbler was great too. What was weird was that this place was booked full, is 20 miles from anywhere and because it rained they arbitrarily closed the diner and store at 5 instead of at 7 leaving their guests, most of whom were on motorcycles, to either starve or drive 20 miles in the rain to get dinner. Fortunately, we had stopped in to see if we could stay an extra night and found out they were closing early. They were very accomodating about packing us a couple of the great pork sandwiches in to-go boxes to heat in the in room microwave so we did have food for the evening. Not all of the tennants got the memo and they were not happy. The next day it poured until noon and they closed at 3 that day. We stayed in our room until afternoon, then the rain eased up and we headed out. Knowing that they were closing early, we ate before we returned so we weren't inconvienced but it just seemed odd that they would close the dining facility knowing there was a lot of people needing to eat - I understand closing the store but not the diner. Other than that though, we enjoyed the comradarie of the other riders, talked a lot of "bike talk" and hit the road early the next day. The rooms although spartan were clean and comfortable and that's what riders need. Women do not have to be afraid to stay there unless they are diva's and need a vanity and a whirlpool. The other bikers were respectful too. The housekeepers here deserve kudos because despite all the bikers they serve, the place is clean! The AC units were very quiet and efficient, they removed humidity and kicked into heat mode the night it got chilly outside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wings1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
665 reviews
2.2 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
732 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
623 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Owl's Perch
The Owl's Perch
#6 of 12 in Robbinsville
6 reviews
11.7 mi away
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 12 in Robbinsville
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort

Address: 17548 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort is the official home of the world famous "Dragon". There is no better place to stay to enjoy quick access to the Dragon and many other fantastic roads in the area. Our rooms are always clean and comfortable. We serve a full breakfast and dinner menu in our restaurant. Make sure to get your official Dragon t-shirt and other souvenirs in our store and top off the gas tank before you make another pass through the Dragon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing