We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dragon is awesome, but why stay here?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I guess this would be a convenient place to stay if you absolutely need to get riding at 7am, but a real hotel nearby would be so much better. Glad they have a bathroom outside, but it hasn't been cleaned since the Dragon was considered an interstate. Also, why would they close before 5 on a Friday right while I am walking up to the store. I guess I'll find my bumper sticker elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Room very clean, stayed in bunkhouse. Two sets of bunk beds and two futons, one slept great. Flat screen tv , microwave small coffee pot stove and equiped kitchen. Too tired to cook after the beautiful riding. Nice restaurant and gift shop. BBQ right across the street!
What else do you need! Will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boots-n-theGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I found the apt we reserved was very clean and well stocked. The staff was very hospitable and friendly. The Grill and Pub closed a little early but considering the roads are extremely dangerous during the day and even more so at night. All in all a very good experience! Don't miss the chance!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed for two nights to run the "Dragon" and all the other local roads. The resort is the perfect location for the Dragon, directly at the base of the run. Accomodations are very basic here, no carpeting in the rooms, tile only. Which is easily cleaned.

The bed, not very comfortable at all. There are two other twin beds in the room, which are bunkbeds if friends are in your group. I had the room for myself on this trip. The bathroom is small, but is sufficient, and the water is hot. Small refrigerator and a microwave are also in the room.

Outside the door is a bench at each room, as well as the parking is directly out your door. Everyone at the resort/motel is friendly and sharing stories of the days ride. Met people from all over the US and Canada during this trip here.

The restaurant closes at 6pm, so you have to eat early, or down the hill during your riding. I carry a Jet-boil when traveling on my bike, so meals were not an issue. There is a BBQ trailer set up across the road, but he usually was sold out around 2pm on the weekday.

Pricing for the motel are very reasonable for being at the Dragon. Souvenier shop, small market for the basics if anything is needed. Will stay here again next year.

My room was directly in front of the "Tree of Shame" and was a perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Right at the foot of The Dragon. Hotel, Restraunt, Gift Store, and Gas Station. Rooms are very reasonably priced, VERY CLEAN! nice bright room. A queen size bed and bunk beds in the room, TV and a nice bathroom. You can take a hot bath, and I did, ahhhhh..... Burgers are good, white gravey and grits were mix from a package and too much water, not very good. But as I said, Burgers & Fries Good! Plan ahead, rooms are hard to get. Like I said you are at the foot of The Dragon. Close to the Cherohoula Skyway, Moonshiners Hwy down thru SC into GA. Oceoee Loop, Devils Triangle. They have a very nice stone fire pit with seating, camping, clean restrooms and showers for campers too. 12 bucks a night to camp and $65.34 per night for the room, 2 people, could be 3 or 4. Can't say enough about how nice, clean and fun it was to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 the higher the number, they go to 14, to more quiet it is. But the farther you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TKTPLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A great oasis in the mountains for Bikers , basic camp style rooms for 3 people and really affordable and right at the beginning of the Famous dragon, gas bar , restaurant , ,closes a little early but fits the purpose , Well maintained, great staff , you are made to feel welcomed !!!

Room Tip: the rooms are all ground level with your bike right outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithk20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This motel is not fancy but it absolutely works if you are motorcycling through the Dragon's Tail. Staff was nice. Room was not fancy but clean, shower was warm, your inexpensive room includes a small refrigerator and microwave, and 2 helmet and jacket racks, a queen size bed and twin bunks. You also get a bag of ice and camp fire wood included in the room fee. There is a small café on site, and right across the street is a BBQ truck. You park your bike right outside your door, and the outside of the rooms are monitored by video surveillance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
665 reviews
2.2 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
732 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
623 reviews
11.7 mi away
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 12 in Robbinsville
34 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Owl's Perch
The Owl's Perch
#6 of 12 in Robbinsville
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort

Address: 17548 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort is the official home of the world famous "Dragon". There is no better place to stay to enjoy quick access to the Dragon and many other fantastic roads in the area. Our rooms are always clean and comfortable. We serve a full breakfast and dinner menu in our restaurant. Make sure to get your official Dragon t-shirt and other souvenirs in our store and top off the gas tank before you make another pass through the Dragon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing