We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in clean and comfortable conditions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuskeegee Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuskeegee Motel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in clean and comfortable conditions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love this little place on Moonshiner 28. Stayed her while riding the roads in the area and Lance was most hospitable. He even gave some advice on a nice route that we followed and had a great ride. The convenience store and gas on site is a great plus. Will be back often.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lzharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCE C, Owner at Tuskeegee Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed the area and had a great experience! Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great little touring motel. Family owned and operated with down home Appalachian atmosphere. 2 miles from the Appalachian Trail and about 12 miles from the Trail of the Dragon. Great get away. Loved the laid back feel, sitting on the porch drinking coffee at looking at at the mountains with the country church in the foreground. Brought back great memories. Book early. Apartments go fast. Had a been a week earlier or latter I would have hit one of the many rallies in the area.

Room Tip: If your staying longer than a day or two, book one of the apartments with kitchen facilities as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great family owned motel. Very clean rooms, and exceptional service make many that stay there keep coming back (met several during my stay). Location is awesome as you're right on Moonshiner 28, and you can sit right outside your room and watch the bikes ride by. Rooms have very basic cable so be prepared not to watch a lot of tv, but heck, if you're up in this area, you shouldn't be spending time in your room anyway. Beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are very clean and they have free wifi. Nice general store in the office and fuel onsite. Very convenient if your riding out there. To top it all, the cost is incredibly low compared to others in the area. I'm already planning on coming back in May and with others this time. I'd recommend this motel to anyone. Rated Fitness Center and Pool as 1 just because they don't have one.

Room Tip: Be sure to call ahead...with so many that travel to The Tail of the Dragon, don't make the mista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LavFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCE C, Owner at Tuskeegee Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thanks! Glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a great place to stay for basic service and value price. Family owned, great hospitality. Lance and his Mom (can't remember her name) are great host. The store has basic needs and 3 different types of gas, including 100% gas. We stayed 4 nights, dropped our pull behind motorcycle trailer here at the motel as a base station and did day rides in this pristine riding area. You can park your Bike right at the door/window of your room. A few cable TV channels, A/C, Wi-Fi (with my smartphone), porch with chairs. Could hear the Bullfrogs from the pond across hwy 28. Some traffic noise early but things quieted down by 10 or so. No coffee maker in basic rooms but, store opens at 0700, reasonably priced and refills are free.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RZR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCE C, Owner at Tuskeegee Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Glad you had a good trip. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here with other motorcyclists for a local rally which was at the Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge. This place was built in 1961 and hasn't changed at all since then, (not even owners).. except for a redecoration probably in the 80's. It's a roadside motor inn typical of the 1960's, all one level and you can park right in front of your room. I loved everything about the place. If you're not a cyclist, chances are you'll be staying when there are motorcyclists there. Some of us are early risers and of course, the cranking of a motor can be a little rude around 7:00 in the morning. There are no coffee makers in the room (or not the one I was in, I think #6). You can buy coffee in the morning when the office opens, at 8:00am. Also, the only ice machine is in the office so you have to get your ice before they close, I think around 8:00pm.

We had such a wonderful experience at this great little place. Across the street is a lake that guests from the motel are welcomed to fish on. Some of the little side roads around the motel are great just to set out on foot and explore. At night we gathered out on the front with some of the other bikers we met there and chatted like we were around a campfire. We met some amazing friends that weekend and it just adds to the romance of this little gem.

Our room, though way dated with paneling and such, it was immaculate. The bathroom, though rustic was immaculate. No rust, no rot, no missing tiles, no flaking paint. Lots of TLC has gone into keeping this great icon of a bygone era. Don't forget your shampoo as you'll have to buy some from the motel store (VO5, which I didn't know was still in production) I am so glad there wasn't room for us at the Iron Horse that time, we were granted a terrific experience here at the Tuskeegee and cannot wait to go back! Absolutely fantastic country! I cannot stress to you enough, this whole area we just fell in love with! We will never go back to the Tennessee side of the Smokies again.
http://www.tuskeegeemotel.com/

Room Tip: There are rooms that have an efficiency kitchen. You have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCE C, Owner at Tuskeegee Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your awesome review! You summarized all that we maintain and embrace in our characterization of a 1960's motor lodge. It is the foundation of our business from the time it was originally established and we have held true to the simplicity and fundamentals of that era with a few improvements of course (Wi-Fi etc) On behalf of myself and all the staff I am honored to receive such an outstanding review and am delighted you had such a wonderful experience while in the area. Best wishes in ALL your future travels and I hope to exceed your expectations when you frequent our business again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
6.1 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
12.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
10.1 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
14.1 mi away
The Owl's Perch
The Owl's Perch
#6 of 12 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuskeegee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuskeegee Motel

Property: Tuskeegee Motel
Address: 2511 Fontana Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-9212
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuskeegee Motel is a roadside motor lodge reminiscent of the 1960's. The business was built in 1965 and has operated as an American owned business continually since opening. Our primary patrons are motorcyclist (both sport and cruisers) who frequent the area for the numerous roads visited by tens of thousands of motorcyclists each year. Approximately 17 miles North of our location is "The Tail of the Dragon" which draws visitors from around the world. Many other notable roads are in the area including Moonshiner 28, The Blue Ridge Parkway, the Cherohala Skyway, The Diamond Back, Six Gap/Blood Mountain, The Rattler and various others which have not been named but are incredible rides all the same. As the area is mostly National Park and US Forest Service property, it is very remote. Many people prefer staying with us to get away from everything and detach for a few days from the hectic hustle and bustle of life. If you prefer staying in town, numerous restaurants and things to do such as nightlife we are not for you. Our customers are dedicated riders who leave early, ride all day, return in the evening to refresh and do it all again tomorrow. Having been operating for over 50 seasons now we have an extensive following of customers and friends. We will gladly refer you to another facility if we are booked out so you may enjoy the area even if we are unable to assist you. We also will be happy to refer you to facilities which cater to other groups such as hikers, family vacations etc when we are full of motorcycle groups and events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing