We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favorite Get-Away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Waters Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
The Villages, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our New Favorite Get-Away”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our first visit and we loved this inn. Blue Waters is about 4 miles from a small town -- Robbinsville -- in an area with gorgeous views from many of the roads on which to enjoy an afternoon drive. It's on a quiet road overlooking a serene lake. The great room is just beautiful -- with lovely wood paneling giving the whole inn a warm feeling. Michael's greeting was very welcoming and our room was great. We stayed on the first floor in "The Music Room" -- with a view of the lake. We were so comfortable -- not only with the ambience but also with the cleanliness and friendliness. Michael is so knowledgeable about the area and very willing to answer any questions and make suggestions. Breakfasts were amazing -- including various egg dishes and meats and fruits and pancakes or sinfully delicious stuffed French toast. My favorite thing was Maury's fabulous raspberry scones. Every breakfast was different and special. Maury and Michael obviously take great pride in their inn -- and it shows. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy437109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
What a wonderful headline to read this fine morning! Thank you for this and your kind words of praise regarding your stay here. We appreciate your thoughts and are touched by your kindness. A huge part of the reward of this business is seeing this beautiful area through the eyes of our guests. And each and every guest sees it differently and that is why we really do enjoy hearing the "how was your day?" responses. Never the same! We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfasts each day and look forward to making you some more scones on future visits. Best wishes and thanks again – hope to see you, Jay and the Mini soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    8
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I arrived at the lodge after a long day of work and travel, about 9:30 pm. I was 35 weeks pregnant and excited to stay in a place that had a dock on the lake, a canoe for guests to enjoy, and that would generally be a nice place to relax all day long. It was going to be our last getaway for quite some time, just the two of us. To unwind after the day, I decided to take a bath. While the tub was filling up, all the water just stopped working. We buzzed the keepers and they informed us that the well pump had just gone out and condescendingly welcomed us to "life in the mountains." Obviously this kind of thing can't be helped, so we were polite and waited another hour or so to try again. It was about 11 o'clock at night and it was clear that the water wasn't coming back on that night, which meant, no bath, no shower, no washing hands, and no #2 in the toilet. This was a serious bummer. But again, we can't fault them for something beyond their control. But we figured for $175/night, it is pretty reasonable to expect running water. So my husband went to talk to them again, just to make sure they had it under control and mentioned that all was fine, but we would expect compensation for the lack of water. They were extremely rude and proclaimed that they were working on it as fast as possible and that there would be absolutely no discount in the price! And they continued to repeat, "This is just life in the mountains." I guess they thought we were from Charlotte or Atlanta, but we are also from rural Western North Carolina and found this of little consequence. And then at 11pm, in the rural town of Robbinsville, they welcomed us to leave. For any of you who have ever been pregnant, you can imagine the discomfort that I felt at 35 weeks, working all day, driving for two hours, not being able to take a shower, and then having the owners/innkeepers be rude about it and welcome us to leave!! I was fuming, and definitely not going to get any sleep at this place. Luckily, the Microtel was still open and had a vacancy. I got to bed about 1am and the Microtel was really nice...but not on the water. We ended up coming home the next day, jaded by our experience, even though we had planned on being gone the whole weekend.

Again, let me make it clear, that this complaint is not about the lack of running water, even though that was way less than ideal, it is about how the owners/innkeepers responded to the situation. I do not know what the other guests ended up doing, but paying $175 for a place without running water for a night, was completely unacceptable. Maybe they thought they were being nice by allowing us to leave at 11pm???

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
As luck would have it, at 9:40 p.m. on Friday of Labor Day weekend, our well pump failed. By 10:00 p.m. we had spoken with our general contractor, plumber as well as the pump repairman and thankfully the water was restored in a timely fashion. It was most unfortunate that your “Baby-Moon” was disrupted by our loss of water and we regret any discomfort you experienced during your short time on the property. During our conversation at 10:15 p.m., we felt your demand for a refund was premature as we were still trying to determine a timeline for a resolution of the issue. At that time, we did offer to find you accommodation elsewhere, which was declined. At 10:35 p.m., shortly after your hasty departure, we noticed both sets of faucets in your room were left on, which could have caused significant damage when water service resumed. We do regret that you did not have the getaway that you anticipated and wish you the best with your new arrival in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I had never been to Lake Santeetlah, but was captured by the idea of a little known corner of NC with a gorgeous lake. My friends found the Blue Waters Mountain Lodge and we were all very happy they did. Great, comfortable rooms. Great breakfast that was included. Comfortable sitting area. Right on the water with a fun little bar sitting beside the lake. The lodge has a dock for your boat too. We took kayaks up and really enjoyed the gorgeous lake. There are so few boats and houses on the water. What a secret. The Lodge is clearly a secret too. Good price for a great place to stay. Well worth going west in NC.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgenmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting this wonderful review. We're so glad you and the Dentremonts enjoyed yourselves, and took advantage of all we have to offer. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had been staying at another resort in Graham County and they had went up on their rates. I thus came to TripAdvisor for some help in looking at another property that would satisfy my wife and I. We were pleasantly taken back when we arrived and saw a well kept lodge and greeted. The lady took us through the lodge and showed us around. We then were shown to our room with a "award winning" view of the lake. No traffic on the street made it very calming. We swam in the lake and floated around in tubes for a while.

The breakfast was also award winning with items such as Quiche with Gouda and Bacon, French bread with raspberry cream in the middle, fruits, cereal, juices....
The Lodge owners were very pleasant and make you feel like you are at home.

Room Tip: You can rent a pontoon boat from the marina for $220.00 for 8 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for such a nice review of the Blue Waters Mountain Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Graham County. Thank you for such a lovely recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Spent one night there on 7/15 and it was everything advertised. The lake was beautiful and sitting on the porch in the evening looking out over the lake and enjoying the lightning bugs was like childhood days.

Dinner quality matched anything we've had in find dining restaurants. The trout almondine was melt in your mouth and you've never had such fresh asparagus. We would return just for the food. Was so fresh.

Inn was exceptionally clean and Mike and Maury were absolutely so friendly and accomodating. The drive there is great fun.

We will return. Porbably often.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms 7, 8, or 9 as they have views to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppiesGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit! Thank you for your time in reviewing our property on TripAdvisor, and please let us know when you will be returning, as we would love to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I won't recap the amenities provided as you can see those in the reviews below. That said, this place is everything the prior two reviewers say it is.

My wife and I traveled here in early May during the spring rains. We traveled across the Cherohala Skyway to get there that evening and really appreciated the idea/recommendation to grab pizza to bring back while they got out & prepared the wine. My wife and and I sat on the covered porch, relaxed and enjoyed a beautiful evening. We stayed in the corner room on the second floor with a view of the lake.

Maury and Michael were fantastic hosts. It is because of them and their commitment to their guests experience that will keep us coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We always enjoy hearing from our guests. May is a wonderful time of year to be in the Smoky Mountains even with the pesky Spring showers! Your kind words are appreciated and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We came for a quiet stay to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and it was all we'd hoped for. Beautiful lodge with superb service. Our room overlooked the lake and was so quiet and lovely! Jacuzzi tub, comfy bed with down comforter, coffee and tea available before breakfast and a library filled with bookes to read! The lodge is gorgeous, filled with interesting objects, books, antiques. All the food is cooked to order, better than any restaurant. Sweeping staircase, plush bathrobes, super great owners, and super quiet. We have a new "home" in North Carolina and it's the Blue Waters Mountain Lodge overlooking Lake Santeetlah a short drive from the Tail of the Dragon!

Room Tip: We like room 9 overlooking the lake but they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylandBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words and the time that it took to post this review. It was wonderful that you could spend a milestone birthday with us. We hope you can come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
4.7 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
500 reviews
22.0 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
92 reviews
22.9 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
268 reviews
16.3 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Mountain Lodge

Property: Blue Waters Mountain Lodge
Address: 292 Pine Ridge Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina and nestled along the shoreline of picturesque 2,800 acre Santeetlah Lake in the lush Nantahala National Forest, Blue Waters Mountain Lodge puts you in the heart of one of the nation's most beautiful areas. Known for its natural splendor, activity filled outdoor lifestyle and deep serenity, this majestic setting offers a wealth of activities or the perfect backdrop to do nothing at all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing