We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Certificate of Excellence
08088
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel, and possibly the last, if they don't improve their housekeeping. We stayed in a pet friendly room on the ground floor, and the bathroom was disgusting. There was dried toothpaste on the counter top in the bathroom, and pubic hair on the shower floor. The kitchen counter tops and table had not been wiped down, and showed dried milk, coffee stains and some type of grease. We arrived after 6PM, so I did make my concerns know to the woman at the front desk, and she was sincerely apologetic, but we didn't expect her to do anything about it since it was after the housekeeping staff had left. My husband and I went out and purchased bleach and cleaning supplies and cleaned the place ourselves. I have always left great reviews for this hotel, but was truly disappointed this time. The woman at the front desk was the nicest, most caring person. She is an asset to your hotel. I would also suggest that the hotel look into the A/C system. The current set up is not conducive to efficient cooling of both rooms in a 1 bedroom suite. The beds are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2techs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear 2techs,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your thoughts and concerns. We appreciate all feedback we receive and use it to help develop the product and the service we offer.

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of cleanliness and housekeeping and truly sorry for the room condition fell below your standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    72
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
120
85
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stay in Rocky Mt, NC on travels south & north. This time we were unable to book our usual hotel, & because we needed a dog friendly hotel, were left with this Candlewood Suites. Since it had such a good rating on Trip Advisor, we weren't concerned until we got to our room. We gave it a three only because it is a suite for a reasonable price and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. The kitchen area appeared clean, but the living room is shabby with uncomfortable furniture some which is stained. The bathroom is bare but adequate. The absolute worst is the air conditioning. There's a newer thermostat on the wall and an ancient, noisy wall unit under the window. To its side is a vent containing a fan that we think was to provide air conditioning in the bedroom, as there is no unit there. Wow! This system is terrible! Definitely needs upgrading. Would we stay here again? Onlyl if nothing else was available. There are several other better hotels in the immediate area and, if this hotel intends to be competitive, they really need to update the rooms and A/C.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stpeteisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Stpeteisla,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note your positive feedback about our hotel staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to the quality of your room as well as for the lack of air conditioning unit. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife our dog and I stayed at this hotel on the way down and back from Florida. The front desk mgr Spencer was very friendly and helpful. The Hollywood diner located in front of the hotel had great food and was not pricey. The hotel was clean both inside and outside. We plan on staying there again next year on our trip south.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golflovers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear golflovers46,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are overwhelmed to know that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in being a pet friendly hotel, pets are family as well. We can’t wait for your next return with us here at the Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount NC.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

On a recent return trip home from Florida, my husband and I stayed at the Candlewood Suites, Rocky Mount. We received a warm, friendly greeting from the gentleman behind the desk. But more importantly, we received a needed switch to a handicapped accessible room which we thought had been booked through Hotels.com. The room was spacious and clean and the shower was perfect with every necessary adaptation. We will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Joan L,

We are delighted that you chose Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount for your stay in Rocky Mount. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We strive to make every guest feel as comfortable as possible and we try our hardest to accommodate every guest in every way, no matter how big or small the request is. We can’t wait for your next return with us.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I were on a car trip and stayed at the Candlewood in in Rocky Mount. We had a nice clean room with friendly staff and a good price. I would highly recommend this easy access hotel for business or retires like us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardnerLusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear GardnerLusby,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount NC. After a tiring car ride, I'm sure, it's great to know that you were greeted by friendly staff and entered a clean room. We can't wait for you next stay with us.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount is a great location to stay. The service is great and the people are warm and friendly. All of the staff will go out of their way to help. Rooms are clean and up to date.

Room Tip: Get a King suite, you will pay a few bucks more (very few) but you will love the extar room to move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Al J,

We are thrilled to know that you were pleased with your current stay at the Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount NC. The staff is truly amazing at taking the time to go out of their way to accommodate our guests and ensure that the guests stay is a "home away from home". We hope you find your next stay just as enjoyable as your recent stay.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Candlewood Suites in Rocky Mount, NC went beyond the norm not only with excellent service for the people spending the night, but by welcoming pets with a bag of treats appropriate to their species. The spacious rooms were stocked with all kitchen items necessary for a convenient stay and a free bag of microwave popcorn per room along with a soft drink for each guest's selection from the snack shop. All creature comforts were provided in the room for resting and for use of computers or tablets with Wi-Fi Internet access. An excellent diner is located across the motel parking lot for which discount tickets are provided and several national chain restaurants are within two miles. The accommodations were wonderful along with the professional staff.

Room Tip: Select a ground floor room if traveling with a pet who must be walked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Frank W,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a well descriptive review. We are to delighted that you found your recent stay more than accommodating to your needs. Going above and beyond for our guests it what we strive for. We most certainly can't wait for your next stay here at the Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount NC. We look forward to providing you with the same excellent service.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rocky Mount hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rocky Mount
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn - Rocky Mount
Hampton Inn - Rocky Mount
#1 of 28 in Rocky Mount
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rocky Mount I-95 @ US 64
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rocky Mount North Battleboro
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
#9 of 28 in Rocky Mount
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount

Property: Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount
Address: 688 English Rd, Rocky Mount, NC 27804-9518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rocky Mount
#3 Family Hotel in Rocky Mount
#6 Business Hotel in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Rocky Mount Extended Stay Hotel Offers Choice Amenities Welcome to the Candlewood Suites in Rocky Mount, North Carolina. Our hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 64 and is just 2 miles from I-95. The Rocky Mount - Wilson Airport (RWI) is only nine miles away. Business travelers can make it to and from their meetings easily with the Gateway Convention Center located less than a mile from our Rocky Mount hotel. Businesses within 10 miles of the hotel include Nash General Hospital, Hospira, RBC Centura, Honeywell, Boddie-Noel and the Rose Hill Conference Center. Vacationers can enjoy indoor and outdoor attractions while staying at our hotel in Rocky Mount. Outdoor attractions include the 57-acre Battle Park and Rose Hill Plantation, featuring a sporting clays course where visitors can shoot skeet. Local indoor activities include the Golden East Crossing Mall and the Imperial Centre, featuring an Arts Center and the Children's Museum and Science Center. Historic downtown Rocky Mount is just six miles from the hotel. Visitors can feel comfortable with premium amenities throughout our all suite hotel in Rocky Mount, North Carolina. You can stay connected with our Business Center and free high-speed Internet access in each room. Other amenities include the Candlewood Cupboard, our convenience store, a Fitness Center, a free guest laundry room and a free movie library. Book today for our great Rocky Mount, NC hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount Hotel Rocky Mount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing