We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperation prevails”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Rocky Mount
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

If it can rust, it's rusted. If it can peel, it's peeling. If you like that dingy ashtray smell this is your place. NASCAR was going down this spring break weekend and this was the only place within 100 miles that had a room. On the plus side, I found no bugs on our mattress which looked like a recent import from the floor of a brothel. Pictures to follow. What do you expect for 40 bucks a night?

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a good place for dog owners, plenty of grass and abandoned lot for walking and bathroom. Property is older and a little worn, but the friendly staff almost make up for this. A great value at $33 and no pet fee, but the old saying you get what you pay for applies.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank SherryC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband, two children and I stayed here one night on our way to Florida. The property is definitely in need of some renovations but our non-smoking room was clean and adequate for a stay that was only to shower and sleep. It had secure interior hallway access. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful, pointing us in the direction of a 'southern style' restaurant for dinner. It is an non-descript motel in need of updating but suited our needs adequately enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieNTorrinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Hey, don't know what room the other reviewers had, but mine for 35.00 was by far the best one I had compared to the last four Motel 6 units I stayed at.
Pros: Lots of space, king bed, clean, toilet was fine, front desk staff great, heater worked fine, Chipped key locks worked great, secure interior hallway door access,
Cons: old tube style TVs, wifi slow, sink faucet water saving units installed so very low volume, carpet old:wear socks

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank xxxHOMEBREWxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I booked the room traveling home from Fl. online. I requested a non smoking room. Apparently this means they turn over the dirty ashtray in the room that has the circle with the line through with a symbol of a cigarette. The room reeked of old smoke. The toiled had fecal matter splattered on the basin. There were a bunch of black people that kept coning and going, they were leaving an emergency exit open at the end of the hotel. They kept keeping the door ajar and going in and out of the door as if they had no proper access to the hotel. I needed Ice and was told the only ice machine available was on the third floor. WIFI is a pay per use service. My overall suggestion is to stay away and spend an extra $10 for safety, clean room and piece of mind (I hope my car is still here in the morning).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It's not a bad place for $35.00. There are other "mom and pop" places at that price and cheaper along Hwy. 301 S. The highway is a strip of restaurants (Eastern NC BBQ joint, etc. just up the road), chain stores, used car lots, bars, and so forth. Did not see a strip club or a liquor store. The motel is totally non-descript and you really have to look for sign. It sits just behind a parking lot for semis and off the highway. I don't know how they find these locations, but Motel 6 has some of the funkiest spots -- like staying under a freeway overpass or behind a McDonald's. The place was quiet, secure -- you had to use a key to enter the building -- worn out but comfortable for a night's stay. Rocky Mount sucks. I hoped to find shades of T. Monk and J. Keroauc since they both spent time here, but all that's left is a very mediocre North Carolina town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachtrekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have stayed at different hotels and motels over the years and this one by far was the most deplorable, disgusting, dirty rat hole I ever stayed at. Carpet dirty, stained, worn spots, loose. Furniture was old and worn, mattress was also old and sagged. Toilet very loose, sat on it and it literally tipped to one side up off of the floor. Bed spread had numerous cigarette burn holes in it and when I pulled it back there was an old band aid in it. Entire building inside and out was disgustingly dirty and unkempt. Too many unsavory elements hanging about and coming and going all hours of the night, as if there was illegal activities going on in other rooms. Had to pay for WiFi. Was afraid that I was going to catch something. Water pressure was so low it took a long time to rinse off in shower. Thank god it was only one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear James T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness and maintenance conditions you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rocky Mount hotels
5.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Battleboro
Red Carpet Inn Battleboro
#18 of 28 in Rocky Mount
28 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn North
Quality Inn North
#11 of 28 in Rocky Mount
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 28 in Rocky Mount
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Affordable Suites of America
Affordable Suites of America
#10 of 28 in Rocky Mount
19 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Rocky Mount
Residence Inn Rocky Mount
#8 of 28 in Rocky Mount
381 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount
#4 of 28 in Rocky Mount
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rocky Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rocky Mount

Address: 1370 N Wesleyan Blvd, I-95 at US 64, Exit #138, Rocky Mount, NC 27804-1816 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Rocky Mount)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range: £37 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rocky Mount 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring easy access on & off of US Route 30, US Route 64 and I-95, the Rocky Mount Motel 6 is located near a wide variety of dining options and just 3 blocks from Golden East Mall or a 24-Hour Wal-Mart. Free WiFi & seasonal outdoor pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Rocky Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rocky Mount Hotel Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Rocky Mount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing