We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dogs & burgers in the state” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Cafe

Central Cafe
Ranked #16 of 135 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best dogs & burgers in the state”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I have been eating here since the 60's,, excellent burgers & chilly dogs,, management needs training!!,, Waitress's nice & pleasant !! Only way to really appreciate the flavor of these cheeseburgers a/w & hotdogs a/w ( definitely with chilli) is to have eaten at several other establishments that claim to have the best dogs & burgers,,

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great disappointment, skip this one”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

On a long drive we needed to stop for lunch, using the reviews we went here with high hopes..... goodness me, I felt like Alice down the Rabbit Hole....where we ate was clean and the servers very sweet but the food...nothing special and in fact was so mundane as to be subpar. The reviews cheering on their hot dogs did not reflect the poor quality of the dog...I had it with only mustard...which was just yellow, nothing special..,the color of the dog once bitten reminded me of public school...we all know that hot dogs ain't prime...but this was certainly not top notch..and it tasted just as it looked...no flavor, soggy bun. Lovely people but skip this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jrvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Chili Dogs - and I don't usually like Chili Dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Friend recommended this place as a 3rd generation restuarant that served great chili dogs. I decided to try just on rep and they did not disappoint - their chili is brown chili that looks like alot of finely ground beef on a dog, not the typical runny red stuff.

I could have eaten 3 easily.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hotdogs and Burgers anywhere!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We go over every week to eat and the food is great and the service is awesome!!! You can get in eat and be on your way out in less than 15-20 mins!!! The best hotdogs and burgers around!!!! Wish they were closer to home but its worth driving for!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruth61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have eaten cheeseburgers all over this world and Central Cafe has the best burgers you can find. A true southern atmosphere and sweet tea that will rot your teeth. Don't miss this cafe!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markandblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Central Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing