We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the "candy" - GOOD AND PLENTY”

Mayflower Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 140 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Rocky Mount
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like the "candy" - GOOD AND PLENTY”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Very good seafood and lots of it! If you leave here hungry - you might have some serious issues. Quite a few people go there and share a plate - it's just that much food. They have other items too - the chicken tenders are real breast meat. It appears to me two tenders equal one breast. The grilled pork chops are also very good! Not sure what they do different but their baked potato is the best I've ever had. Be sure to dip the hot homemade hush puppy in butter! Great onion rings. Usually, our bill (for two) runs about $20 including tip. Very reasonable daily specials most days. Give it a try but wear something loose or stretchy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
elizabeth city, nc
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Calabash style fried seafood”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Fried shrimp/flounder is always excellent, and the portions are huge. I eat here 3-4 time s a year, and have only had one meal that was not up to standards.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank weeksvillejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greensboro, NC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great price, fried seafood”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

always hot, fast and good. This is carolina style fried seafood. Good, but not doctor recommended. I had flounder and baby shrimp special. more than I could eat. Also had had great service

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachbum045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We were looking for "good" & "local"...we got local”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I knew we were in trouble when I asked the waitress (who was obviously local) if a certain dish was a "local specialty" and she said "I don't know but could ask someone". We will usually do all we can not to eat at chain restaurants but Red Lobster down the street might be a viable alternative to this place. The staff was very friendly, but this place is what it is...a purveyor of typical fried seafood, fried hushpuppies, fried pickels, fried....you get the idea.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arowhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sub standard very poor quality”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This was a poor quality seafood restaurant. The fish was obviously cooked from frozen and was quite waterlogged and tasteless. The shrimp were similar but with the telltale rubbery taste of frozen low grade shrimp. The deviled crab had no visible crab meat. For those who are used to seafood prepared as it should be and properly seasoned you will be very disappointed with this restaurant. Supposedly it is a family of restaurants in NC so we expected a higher standard. Not worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayflower Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing