We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spring break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Sound Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodanthe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Sound Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Rodanthe B&B and Inns
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spring break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our third weekend staying in hotels and we were truly not expecting anything great. It was a relief to walk into,our efficiency and see a beach cottage style efficiency. The room was clean and comfortable. The walls had bead board wainscot, painted white and the walls were a beach green. The bathroom had no hint of mold the shower was very nicely tiled, the tub an wide porcelain one. Everything was clean. The kitchen had a small 4 burner stove and oven, microwave, full refrigerator, toaster and coffee pot. All the dishes, pots and pans were clean and in good condition. The owners were friendly and helpful. Will be back with my younger son for his break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

What a pleasant surprise the Sea Sound Motel in Rodanthe was! Just off the highway, but far enough back not to be disturbed by road noise. The staff was very friendly and gave helpful advice on places to eat and shop in the area. The room was large, with a microwave and mini refrigerator; great if your stay is for more than one night.. A nice eating area with table and chairs, as well. Very clean and well maintained; beds were very comfortable. Nice outdoor swimming pool. It's a short walk to the beach, so the rooms were very quiet. You can tell the property has been lovingly taken care of. Whether for a couple or a whole family, Sea Sound can accomodate both. I will definitely recommend the Sea Sound to anyone coming to the area.

Room Tip: No elevator, so take a lower room if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Loved, Loved, Loved, our stay at the Sea Sound Motel!!! If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place for you. We arrived early and actually got to check in 4 hours early. Never got to meet Fred, but Sharon, she is so sweet and extremely helpful. Loved the hospitality we had while we were there. Just a short walk to the beach, but trust me, its worth it. Rooms are very clean and perfect for couples in love just looking for a getaway. We can not wait to get back there, its the only place we will ever stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Whitney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

great little hotel. rooms are big and very clean staff is very nice. will be back again for sure. prices are very affordable for an older hotel. very pleased! had a pretty nice view of the ocean from our room. close to all the things you might want to do in rodanthe area. quiet and a great nights sleep here. i highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: make this your next stay in rodanthe nc!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 296mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pgh PA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our first stay for family of 4, 2 adults, 2 kids ages 10 & 7 for 2 nights. The owners couldn't be nicer here. We had an efficiency 2 double bed room that worked well for us.

Positives:
* The kitchen had a full fridge, oven, & sink. We were able to cook meals in and that saved us $$$. There really aren't many restaurants and the ones here are mediocre and expensive, so it was nice to cook-in.
* Nice size, clean pool on property
* Walking distance to beach
* Clean, updated rooms
* Great price
* Easy to find

Negative (only one!)
* Wood floors that look nice but can be slippery. There are 2 rugs. You may want to move them so they are right where you come in the door to catch dirt/water. My son slipped, spilled his milk, resulting in a call to the owners to get a change of bedding. If you just move the 2 rugs, you will be fine.

We will definitely return and recommend this to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MellyRussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were supposed to be staying in Nags Head and when reservations fell through I panicked! Tryed finding a hotel/motel wasn't happening- googled hotels in rodanthe knowing it was pretty close & read the reviews so I said let's try it! My kids loved the pool. Stayed in 101- very cute room! Two beds, TV, stove, microwave, sink & fridge. Wood floors & laminent. Bathroom was brand new & everything is up to date. 100 bucks for peak season, you cannot beat it. Staff was very nice & the room was spotless! Very good surprise to our seemingly wrecked weekend! Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mhemp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We normally rent a house when staying in Cape Hatteras. This year being on a budget and it only being our immidiate family (two adults one child) we decided to try this place out. We stayed 4 nights and it could not have been better. The owners as previously stated are more than friendly. You will not find hospitality like theirs at a major chain anywhere. We stayed in room 104. It was an efficiency with two beds. The rooms are not huge, but hey you are at the beach. The rooms were recently remodeled and they look wonderful and very up to date. The pool was a wonderful addition as well. This hotel is in a great location. Located within a nice walk on the beach to the Rodanthe Pier. In Cape Hatteras all of the hotels are independently owned and I have to say these folks here are doing it right! Save your money and stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodanthe
23.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
23.3 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
22.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
22.6 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
22.5 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sound Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sound Motel

Property: Sea Sound Motel
Address: 24224 Sea Sound Rd, PO Box 53, Rodanthe, NC 27968
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Rodanthe
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rodanthe
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sea Sound Hotel Rodanthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing