We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domaine de la Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
1 review
“A very special place”
Reviewed 19 February 2008

After reading Kitty's review ( see hers dated Jan 2008) we were quite apprehensive - we shouldn't have been.

The accommodation and general buildings were fine as far as we were concerned. Our room, in particular, was excellent, and always kept clean. The breakfasts were either presented as a buffet or individually served to us, depending on how many other guests were booked in, but in both events they were great. In fact, when we booked for a three course evening meal, the only complaint that we had was that there was too much food!!!
The staff were always attentive and very polite, the grounds were very picturesque, and the views stunning.
I regard myself as being very fussy on hotels/restaurants,and like things to be just so.

This place qualifies as being ' Just So'.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Grahamchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    60
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
71
118
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

Thought we'd stay at this place on our way to Marrakech, as in the Rough Guide it said it was one of the nicest hotels in the country and the best in Ouirgane....
Don't know when this reviewer visited to get that idea, it certainly wasn't recent.
The place was built 35 years ago and hasn't been touched since.
It has a real faded glamour look about it, but in reality it's in need of a lot of maintenance and updating.
We stayed in Jan 08 and as it's in the mountains it's a bit nippy out, so you'd expect cosy little bungalows.
Ours was awful, it was musty and damp, freezing and in good need of a clean.
It was like a 70's hotel room -no moroccan touches at all, just bad, cheap furniture.
The radiator didn't work in our room, they supplied a plug in one with lots of wires dangling out which didn't look to safe, so we got an extra duvet as it gets pretty cold at night.
Had dinner there one night - lovely looking room, but the service was so stiff and formal, and the food was like school dinners.
Which is fine if you like that kind of thing but when you are paying top prices for these things you expect decent food.
Breakfast was a free for all, you had to help yourself to coffee, cutlery etc....
The main reason I am complaining is they charge top end 5 star prices over £100 per night (which is pretty expensive for that part of Morocco) but they deliver really poor quality service. Like they are not even trying, whoever owns it doesn't seem to care that the place is becoming run down - they must get enough people through the doors.
It's a shame as you get amazing views of the mountains, but I'd stay somewhere else - couldn't wait to leave.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Depressing rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kittyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

I am so glad we made the decision to go here. We were nearly put off by the negative reviews on this site, but what an experience we would have missed out on!
This place is amazing! It is not all shiny, new and polished like those awful 5 star chain hotels, but rather it is homely, friendly, cosy and very welcoming.
By day it was so hot we sat by the pool, occassionally braving the cold water to cool off. By night we sat in the gorgeous bar area surrounded by open fires and enjoyed fantastic meals in the restaurant. OK so it's not little bits of meat resting on pureed potato with a rosemary jus but it is traditional Moroccan fare which presumably you would want to experience whilst in Morocco?
The breakfast and lunch terrace overlooking the river was just wonderful, surrounded by singing birds, woodpeckers and stunning flowers.
One part of the gardens has been planted to encourage butterflies so when you walk though the area they fly all around you, just like walking through a dream in a film!
The local market was an experience. Lots of people trying desperately to get some of your hard earned Western pounds as they get the impression if your white your rolling in it. But it was well worth paying our guide to take us round because we found out a lot more about the locals and the things they were selling there.
We finished our short stay with a Hammam which was amazing and the beer we had afterwards certainly went straight to our heads!
Our room was so cosy and warm and night and in the morning we opened our balcony doors to the sound of nightingales and the flowing river.
I shed a tear when I left, it was so wonderful.
I am not one for revisiting places I have already been, but this one will be an exception. I can see us becoming true regulars at this little Oasis in the foothills of the Atlas mountains.

  • Liked — The traditional Berber emphasis which made you feel very at home within hours of arriving
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

A truly wonderful experience - with children as well as romantic - amazing views, lovely grounds, tennis, pools, hot tub, perfect!
Hotel organised lovely trip into the mountains to visit a Berber village, our youngest (aged 5) sat on a mule - great for kids 4+ in age.
Not sure for babies - didn't see any.

  • Liked — Amazing rooms - we had 3 room family suite overlooking semi private pool
  • Disliked — Not sure about the hotel for under 3s - service a bit slow, too many miles from a good hospital!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We have just returned from 3 nights at La Roseraie and we are glad we hadn't booked for longer. First impressions were not too bad as the sun was shining and the children were happy by the pool. However, the staff seemed unwelcoming and pretty unhelpful. e.g. on our 2nd night, the weather had broken and we began to feel cold in our room. So we rang reception to ask them to come to our room to help us with the heating system, as the remote control was not working. After an hour and a half of waiting, we asked a member of garden staff to help us - he did in fact sort out some heaters in our room, but reception had done absolutely nothing! Also, if you plan to do any horse treking, it is definitely not suitable for beginners!! We were surprised they even let us on the horses, having explained that we were novices - they just seemed to want our money, but we got off after 20 mins of being terrified going up the hillsides on rocky, slippery, narrow tracks. (Luckily we were not charged for this). Also, food was very disappointing and it was very annoying being forced to have a 3 course meal every evening at £20 a head. We just wanted something other than tagine!! We did ask for pasta one evening and they did give it to us begrudgingly (£5 a head). This place could be stunning, but needs new management and a bit of updating in places. If the weather had been better, maybe we would have enjoyed the gardens a little more, but all we really did was visit a Berber village and took a taxi up to Kasbah du Toubkal which was worth doing - great view and better food!! If you are not sure where to go in Morocco, I would give this place a miss unless you are a keen walker or brave horserider.

  • Liked — Liked the gardens
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LuLuHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

I have just returned from 5 days in Morocco today.

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights in the Atlas mountains in the Roseraie followed by 3 nights in Marrakech.

The grounds are beautiful and there are 3 pools. However, compared to the standard of service, rooms and food we got in Marrakech it was
very poor and hugely overpriced. It is not near any shops or any other restaurants, so you are forced to eat at the hotel. Breakfast was poor and with slow service. Lunch was a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains and you will easily spend £15-£20 on a poor lunch. Dinner is a choice of 3 starters, mains and deserts. - but was sorely dissapointing. On top of this - the service was often very slow.

In Marrakech we ate out in a variety of places from the markets in the main square to Dar Yacout - and the food was SO much better everywhere than in La Roseraie. There is also so much more culture and exitement and a wide choice of things to do.

My advice? Stay in Marrakech and spend a day in the mountains, save your money and have a much better cultural and eating experience!!

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — The food, the service, the value for money
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2007

I organised a week in Morocco for my husband and I for our anniversary. The riads in Marrakech were amazing, as was the service, which made the service and food at La Roseraie seem even worse.

Firstly, let me stress that the stables and the horses were amazing! The stable staff and guide were so kind and helpful - a step above the rest of the hotel staff.

We orginally booked a 2 day / 1night ride, which is the only reason we went to Ouirgane. However, after getting ill from the dinner at La Roseraie, we had to cut that to a half-day ride. It was still amazing and we had a wonderful lunch with our guides Berber family in a nearby village. He then invited us back for lunch the next day, which was just amazing. Such wonderful, generous people.

When we were ill and had to cut the ride short, the one manager offered for us to stay another night in our room free of charge, instead of sleeping in the Berber village as planned. But the next day another manager was trying to charge us for it and wasn't kind at all.

La Roseraie is an odd place - there were only 5 couples there, including ourselves - and easily 3 times as many staff members, however the service was still poor. There was a gardener who had a chainsaw going for the whole first afternoon and then woke us the next morning at about 8.20 with it outside our room.

The gardens were lovely, although unkept in areas, the pools and grounds are run down, but it's a beautiful area - the mountains and walks are wonderful and refreshing.

All in all, the highlight was the riding and the views, but they have many issues to deal with at the hotel.

  • Liked — the stables and the roses
  • Disliked — the staff, the meals, the long awaited hot water, the smell in bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.5 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
501 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
10.3 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Roseraie

Property: Domaine de la Roseraie
Address: Km 60 Route de Taroudant Val d'Ouirgane | Par Marrakech ElHaouz, Ouirgane 42173, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de la Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Berber Mountains of the High Atlas, 60 km from Marrakech, you will discover La Roseraie. The altitude will offer the perfect climate. Cool in summer, mild in winter, its pure air will revitalize you. Secretly hidden in the middle of a 25 hectars of natural parkland, far away from stressful city life, it will be the ideal retreat for nature lovers. The rooms lead into rose gardens, lime and lemon groves, orchards, exotic plants and wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine de la Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Roseraie Hotel Ouirgane
Domaine De La Roseraie Ouirgane
Domaine De La Roseraie Morocco/Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing