We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem ...beautiful, tranquil with horseback trek option.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domaine de la Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real gem ...beautiful, tranquil with horseback trek option.”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This place is delightful ... The grounds and gardens tended lovingly & are filled with flowers and roses and so many birds . There are paths around the extensive grounds and a stable on site complete with horses and camel all of which appear well cared or - there was a vet checking the animals over when we walked up .
We actually found another 2 smaller swimming pools when walking round but as it was quiet they were not in use. The spa is in a separate building and looked lovely we just didn't have the time to use it . There are double rattan beds to relax on by the pool which is of a good size as well as shaded chairs in the gardens ( lawns are so well kept) sofas on the verandas ,all contributing to ensuring total relaxation .The terrace ( where we preferred sitting for breakfast ) overlooks the river ( dry in summer) and the local small village Ouirgane with the mountains behind so it's not totally remote which means village life can be appreciated
The rooms are like small bungalows with private terraces, of good size, comfortable beds and very clean & authentically furnished . The bathroom was large ... just a wait needed for the hot water to come through . We had our own rosé garden too
Robes toiletries hair dryer and fluffy towels all provided.
Fridge in room with 2 bottles of beer and complimentary water and biscuits provided on arrival.
The staff are friendly, and attentive and were happy to do anything to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible .
The highlight of outstay was the horseback trek into the mountains and the Berber villages .We are not used to riding horses but despite our lack of experience we were looked after well , the horses plodded over the dry river bed, on tracks and through remote villages - once you were used to sitting on horseback it was fine . Lunch was ' chez inhabitant' in a Berber village house and it was the best food we had and a real experience . We saw all aspects of village life in the mountains on the trek.
The hotel arranged a taxi to take us to the mosque Tin Mal and to a local souk in one of he villages - the road was quite spectacular if a little hairy but the driver drove very safely though it wasn't the most well maintained car we were driven in in Morocco .Once again another highlight of our stay .
The breakfasts were typically Moroccan with freshly cooked breads and pancakes and were delicious . The menu for dinner had 3 options for each of the 3 courses and this is one area where there could be improvements ... Rather than try to go ' international including chips ' a more authentic approach to cuisine would have been our preference as sure this would have elevated the overall standard of food . Anything in a tagine was tasty , fresh fruit desserts and soup starters were fine too . It was the grilled type meat option which was grilled a little too much .This is our only slight criticism from our stay and why we gave it 4 stars and not 5 ,however speaking to another couple who'd stayed at another place in the Atlas this seems par for the course.
We also stayed in Marrakech and Essaouira on our Morocco trip and La Roseraie was our favourite place of all ( even with the slight dinner disappointment ) . It's a very special place .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainegwasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    60
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
71
117
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I did not stay here but stopped for lunch, which I have done twice before. The grounds are wonderful, full of roses and other flowering plants. An after lunch walk on their paths through the hotel grounds was also delightful. The problem is with the food. A very limited and not very interesting menu. We were a group of 5, two were happy with their lunches, the rest of us not. The food was poorly cooked, small portions of really basic ingredients. Service was friendly but quite slow despite there being only one other table of clients. That may have been part of the problem. As with other places I have stayed at, visited or heard about from friends recently; there seem to be very few clients. I suspect the hotel is cutting costs by using cheaper foods and smaller portions to economize, but keeping its high prices. A foolish way to go in my opinon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massaoud39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I just got bck from one of the more lovely places I have ever been to in my very well travelled life. It is May so the flowers are in full bloom and are mesmerizing with color and aroma. La Roserie reviews here are a shock to me as it was tranquil, the service warm and friendly and the grounds and surrounding area superb.

We had a beautiful room with a beautiful Morrocan firplace. They had the firewood set to go in the firplace so 1 match made us feel like hunter, gatherer, firemakers! In addition more wood was in the room and just outside. We had a nice quiet back yard to sit and the gardens were in full bloom.
We met some wonderful Morrocan visitors there and shared some lovely time with them. The waiters were attentive and would do anything for you. We enjoyed the pool and hiking in the high Atlas it was truly amazing.
We felt so relaxed and wonderful we are going back next weekend as well. Marrakech is only a bit over an hours drive on a very new and improved road. Its a quick jaunt that we will take again and again with friends and visitors.
The food was good, but not amazing so we also tried some local eatiers nearby and they were great!
I can only highly reccommend La Roserie! It is at its best in the spring and summer. The high Atlas is not the place to go in winter as it realy does get cold and the flowers are not in bloom. When they are, like now, it is absolutely amazing and heaven on earth. I hope to see you there!

Room Tip: We had number 20 which had a beautiful fireplace we used even in May! Otehrs nearby were 17 and 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We spent 4 nights at La Roseraie at the end of March 2012 when the hotel was quiet but the service was wonderful, the location amazing and the rooms fantastic - really well equipped. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and there are so many things to do. For us the highlight was horse riding and tracking in the Atlas mountains with the stable owner. We were travelling with our twin 10 year old girls and they loved it! Even though it was wet we had lovely evenings in the restaurant with a log fire. Our daughters are committed to a return trip to do an overnight horse trek to a Berber village! Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a junior suite which was amazing- terraces back and front and huge bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottross10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at la Roseraie for the first 2 nights of a 10 day stay in Morocco in early October. The weather was fantastic! 32 degrees everyday. The hotel is in the most beautiful setting, surrounded by the mountains with birds and butterflies in the beautiful garden. It is the most relaxing place in earth! The staff are super friendly, breakfast is served in the garden or on the terrace - you feel at peace there. The veal tagine cooked with honey and cinnamon was a real highlight. Horse riding is also highly recommended! the guide is very knowledgeable and speaks good English, the horses are fit and healthy and your ride through the mountains on short or long treks depending on what you feel like. I left feeling like a new person, refreshed relaxed and very happy. Thank You!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Something born out by the fact that we were the only people staying there! The food was particularly poor and very expensive. There were no vegetarian options so we ended up paying 300Dh (£25) for an omelette! The place was run down in need of some serious maintenance. When we stayed they were building a second floor on the restaurant - just what you want when you've gone there for some peace and quiet. Other things included: Live snakes were found in the swimming pool and the filters, which clearly had not been cleaned recently. Air-conditioning was not working in the bedrooms. The gardens were untidy; weeds everywhere, grass not cut until we were leaving etc. Luckily we only stayed for 3 nights. The only good thing to say was that the staff (3 of them) were very good and you couldn't fault their service. Maybe if there had been a few more people there it would have been different. I've written twice complaining and trying to get some money back but they haven't even had the decency to reply. Chez Momo round the corner looks better and much better value!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

La Roseraie is a calm haven where you can recharge the batteries. The staff are super friendly, the location is devine and this hotel was the highlight of our trip around Morocco.

The extensive property and surrounding hills have some stunning walks. The room was very comfortable and the food excellent. In February it is just too cold to swim in the outside pools, but this didn't detract. We came for one night and stayed for four.

And the stars......WOW.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TagineSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.5 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
12.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Roseraie

Property: Domaine de la Roseraie
Address: Km 60 Route de Taroudant Val d'Ouirgane | Par Marrakech ElHaouz, Ouirgane 42173, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de la Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Berber Mountains of the High Atlas, 60 km from Marrakech, you will discover La Roseraie. The altitude will offer the perfect climate. Cool in summer, mild in winter, its pure air will revitalize you. Secretly hidden in the middle of a 25 hectars of natural parkland, far away from stressful city life, it will be the ideal retreat for nature lovers. The rooms lead into rose gardens, lime and lemon groves, orchards, exotic plants and wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domaine de la Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Roseraie Hotel Ouirgane
Domaine De La Roseraie Ouirgane
Domaine De La Roseraie Morocco/Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing