We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a little slice of heaven.”
Review of Chez Momo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouirgane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Momo
Ranked #5 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I genuinely cannot think of anywhere I would rather stay in Morocco. This is the second time we've stayed and we had such a great time on our first visit we were worried this time would be a let down - we needn't have worried.

The location is nothing short of breathtaking. On the side of the rising Atlas Mountains, up a track, you have an amazing view of the flooded (for a dam) valley and the mountains opposite. When the sky is clear the night sky is incredible. The moon above the mountains was enormous and bright. In fact as the sun goes down and they dim the lights around the pool and put out the lanterns I challenge anyone to find a more romantic spot.

The rooms are either chalets arranged around the pool or rooms above the bar. We were in the smaller of those above the bar. They are clean, comfortable, tall rooms with wood ceilings and rustic features.

While I'm at it I'll touch on the design of the Auberge as a whole - it's just the right balance of traditional Moroccan and modern comforts. The pool is the focal point and is surrounded by tables and loungers, then around the numerous walkways between the olive trees are lanterns, old wooden doors, terracotta pots and bowls. It's tasteful, stylish and traditional at the same time.

The food is of a high standard and great value. They serve a good range of alcohol and this isn't expensive either. I heartily recommend a nice cool Casablanca beer with your feet dangling in the pool as the sun goes down!

The thing that makes Chez Momo though is the staff. What is particularly nice to see is the evident pride that Momo has in his hotel and this is reflected in the attitude of all the staff. They are friendly, polite and nothing is too much trouble. They all speak good English and Mustafa in particular speaks it to a very high standard.

It's possible to get guided walks in the mountains behind the hotel, but Chez Momo really is all about the relaxation. The peaceful atmosphere combined with the staff and the location really makes this one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We headed here after a busy time in Marrakesh. We hired a car in Marrakesh and drove to Chez Momo (approx. 1 1/2 hours). The hotel was beautiful, pool lovely. The food was very good. The staff gave very good advice about where to visit/directions etc. A few issues with our stay - that we travelled during Ramadan and that we were told to go down to dinner at 7.30 however we then had to sit and watch the family eat and were not served until they had finished. A bit weird! We also found a few creepy crawlies in our room- including some droppings which we asked to be looked at so we could identify and the staff did not come and have a look nor did the cleaner remove them over the 3 days we were there! The rooms could have been cleaner! On the whole a lovely, relaxing visit!

Room Tip: We had a room furthest away from the hotel- very quiet, despite other reviews no road noise and no o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Chez Momo is a fantastic place to spend in Morocco - only 1-1/2 hours drive south of Marrakech:

Lovely and clean bungalows, beautiful gardens, nice and clean pool, friendly staff in every respect, good and evocative restaurant and great possibilities for nature walks.

We stayed here 4 nights - and we really calmed down due to the cosy, quite and relaxed atmosphere. It's a splendid place to stay while waiting for your departure from the airport in Marrakesh. It's easy to reach Marrakesh in a short time with a private taxi for 400 dirhans.

Lonely Planet writes: Romantic overnights. I write: Go here for your romantic wedding party instead of a wine yard in Toscana ! The atmosphere is absolutely in top !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GitteThetmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Beautiful drive from Marrakech through picturesque mountains and valleys. Arrived with two tired children (6&9 years) to wonderful welcome. Peaceful, comfortable, safe, great food and excellent friendly service. Relaxed by pool in beautiful garden, lovely hot weather, stunning views. Went on trek through local countryside, mule for the children, picnic in flower filled orchard.
Absolutely perfect, simple luxury and will definitely be back. Big thank you to Mustafa and team.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel chez momo is really very nice. An oasis with nice rooms, a beautiful garden with pool, and a decent restaurant. However, our stay is leaving a sour taste. The hotel manager on duty was trying to upsell a hike with a local guide suggesting prices way out of the market prices. When checking out we noticed that three items on the invoice were not correct. A discrepancy of about 20% to our disadvantage. This felt a bit like a rip-off to us...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Good things
- superb views, beautiful gardens and nice pool
- peace and solitude
- friendly helpful staff
- nice rooms, good bar and food
To improve
- a few improved comforts (towels, toiletries etc) and local information
- the noisy, ignorant visitors who spoilt it one afternoon (kick them out!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grastejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We've just got back from a lovely 2 night stay at Chez MoMo. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been more friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The location is stunning - with mountains, a small village and beautiful lake right on the doorstep. The pool area and patio were a lovely place to spend the evening after trecking in the atlas foothills.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
0.0 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
812 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ouirgane Ecolodge
Ouirgane Ecolodge
#3 of 9 in Ouirgane
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo

Address: Route de Taroudannt - km61, Ouirgane, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chez Momo Hotel Ouirgane
Chez Momo Morocco/Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing