We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms”
Review of Chez Momo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouirgane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Momo
Ranked #4 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed a night at Chez Momo and spent two days walking. The hotel rooms were great - spacious, with comfy beds and a good bathroom. There were lovely views over the hills and the swimming pool (we swam, although it was a bit chilly at the end of October). The staff were really friendly and accommodating, although a little slow at times and perhaps a little amateur. But any waits were more than made up for by their friendliness. We did a lot of walking with the most wonderful guide, Hamid, who's much to be recommended and was found for us by Chez Momo. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank B-005CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Chez Momo does, as others have said, feel like a real oasis. Nice swimming pool, lots of flowers in a very pleasant garden. Their reception area is not manned a lot of the time, but it is only a few steps down to the kitchen/bar area, where there is always a friendly member of staff to help you. The staff are a real plus, making you feel at home. Mustaffa, in particular, looked after us well, and gave us directions for hiking in the surrounding hills, including drawing us a map that was 'interesting' but did the job. Ouirgane is a beautiful place to do some fairly gentle hiking, with interesting villages to visit. The food at Chez Momo was OK but not spectacular. It is a bit more expensive than many hotel options around the Atlas, but has been really nicely finished and is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank crods01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Came here last minute after a whirlwind visit to Marrakech and Essouira. It really is the most beautiful place - the gardens are spectacular - full of roses, bougainvillea, fruit trees, beautiful grasses and much much more. Something new and different awaits you in every corner. The interior of the auberge is reminiscent of a hunting lodge -spacious with a huge open fire and large bar and dining room. Spectacular location and views. Our room was in the gardens - small but very nicely decorated. Sadly linens, towels and beds weren't up to the standard of the Raids we'd been staying in - a pity because it does make all the difference. The evening meal was OK - not remarkable. Breakfast was a little disappointing - no eggs or toast were offered. Staff were very nice and friendly, but didn't seem to notice things that needed clearing in the garden/pool area, ie a lunch table wasn't cleared until mid morning the following day. The pool was beautiful but sadly v cold! We had a lovely stay though and would certainly come again, but things do need tightening up a bit ... and some large fluffy white towels and crisp sheets would be nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank kRISTINA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

A great location, lovely buildings, gardens and pool area but marred by non-service minded, demotivated staff and an owner/manager who seemed to adopt a hands-off approach - as such he couldn't see what was going wrong and where improvements were required; in such a small and intimate place like Chez Momo my view is that the manager/owner needs to get in there are be part of the operational team running the place.

The day we arrived there was a large group of day trippers eating lunch there and the staff were obviously working their socks off trying to get the food they ordered onto the tables. So when we came through the door there was no one to be found who welcomed us, to give us the traditional mint tea/refreshment after our trip etc etc. Eventually we got some attention and were shown to our room only to be told we'd have to move out of it the next day to another room or bungalow in the garden; we'd booked a specific room for 2 nights a week earlier! That evening we went down to eat and found a very limited menu which we suspect was due to the fact they had run out of food during the day. What was served up had obviously been made in a hurry and was not that good. We experienced problems with the food for the two days we were there and suspected that the cook's planning and food logistics were in disarray. We also thought that he should perhaps learn how to cook properly too.

Staff in general looked tires and too busy to give us any attention unless we went looking for it. One member of staff had an argument with another staff member right in front of us and when I talked to him later on he mentioned that he gets very low pay and is working a 72 hour week.

So Chez Momo you need to address staff motivation, pay levels, working hours and training, review your food and drink logistics and planning and improve the quality and selection of the food you have on offer. You also can't shuffle guests around between rooms as you did with us; we booked a specific room for two nights and we should have been allowed to stay put there. Finally I would really suggest to the owner/manager that you get more intimate with your staff and operations and get hands-on.

Room Tip: The two upstairs rooms in the main building offer the best views of the mountains and valley. The bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent 3 days at this lovely place after having been to Marrakech.
What a romantic oasis! Arrived with a taxi - as much as we found out the only way to get there if you don't drive yourself - and the first thing we saw was this sea of flowers in reds and oranges. Wow!
As I made some booking mistakes we were lucky to still get a place. The owners - as much as I know 4 brothers , one friendlier and politer than the other - booked us into the room above the restaurant. Which was even better than the normal bungalows as we had the best view over the whole valley! The room itself was very nicely decorated ,big open fireplace (don't know if its in use ,it was warm enough without it) ,very clean and quiet.
The gardens with loads of roses and other flowers was in tip top condition, the pool looked very clean - too cold for us to swim though , the outside sitting area as well as the restaurant very nicely decorated with attention to detail.
The food was amazing!! We got breakfast outside in between the roses -so romantic!! And the dinners soooo good! Look out for the chocolate mousse - it's to die for!! Tried my best to get the recipe , but wasn't successful :-( The bread is baked freshly outside - go and chat to the woman baking it and you might get some straight out of the "bakery" - yummy!
Next to the restaurant is a big bar with all the drinks you fancy , a big open fire , so you can chat with other visitors, one of the owners or just sit and relax and enjoy the views.
If you want to go for a mountain trip the owners are happy to arrange a guide , or you just go and have a walk around . The berbers are quite friendly and put you back on the right path (usually for a tip though).
Want to go back there!!

Room Tip: Don't know how the "normal" bungalows are, but the rooms above the restaurant are extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geckoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A very peaceful destination which was perfect after a busy 5 days in Marrakech! The staff were very helpful and really attentive, they even organised a walk up the mountains! The pool and gardens were beautifully kept. Unfortunately we found the bed was not the most comfortable. But if your looking for peace and quiet with with wonderful views this perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sportsmansamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I genuinely cannot think of anywhere I would rather stay in Morocco. This is the second time we've stayed and we had such a great time on our first visit we were worried this time would be a let down - we needn't have worried.

The location is nothing short of breathtaking. On the side of the rising Atlas Mountains, up a track, you have an amazing view of the flooded (for a dam) valley and the mountains opposite. When the sky is clear the night sky is incredible. The moon above the mountains was enormous and bright. In fact as the sun goes down and they dim the lights around the pool and put out the lanterns I challenge anyone to find a more romantic spot.

The rooms are either chalets arranged around the pool or rooms above the bar. We were in the smaller of those above the bar. They are clean, comfortable, tall rooms with wood ceilings and rustic features.

While I'm at it I'll touch on the design of the Auberge as a whole - it's just the right balance of traditional Moroccan and modern comforts. The pool is the focal point and is surrounded by tables and loungers, then around the numerous walkways between the olive trees are lanterns, old wooden doors, terracotta pots and bowls. It's tasteful, stylish and traditional at the same time.

The food is of a high standard and great value. They serve a good range of alcohol and this isn't expensive either. I heartily recommend a nice cool Casablanca beer with your feet dangling in the pool as the sun goes down!

The thing that makes Chez Momo though is the staff. What is particularly nice to see is the evident pride that Momo has in his hotel and this is reflected in the attitude of all the staff. They are friendly, polite and nothing is too much trouble. They all speak good English and Mustafa in particular speaks it to a very high standard.

It's possible to get guided walks in the mountains behind the hotel, but Chez Momo really is all about the relaxation. The peaceful atmosphere combined with the staff and the location really makes this one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
0 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
260 reviews
2.1 mi away
L'Oliveraie de Marigha
L'Oliveraie de Marigha
#2 of 9 in Ouirgane
229 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ouirgane Ecolodge
Ouirgane Ecolodge
#3 of 9 in Ouirgane
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo

Address: Route de Taroudannt - km61, Ouirgane, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chez Momo Hotel Ouirgane
Chez Momo Morocco/Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing