We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Tassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Tassa
Ranked #5 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights with a GAdventure group. The place is absolutely amazing: great staff, nice views and good food. We were invited to help preparing dinner with the kitchen staff in late afternoon (chicken tagine and couscous). Breakfast was also extensive. Our group of 15 had a good time here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarTassa, Manager at Dar Tassa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted your group enjoyed your stay at Dar Tassa and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    39
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
40
99
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

There were 14 of us on a day walk....Mustafa managed us brilliantly!
Fabulous scenery, good pace that accomodated us all, delightful lunch under the trees with wonderful views.
A memorable day that we will not forget!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarTassa, Manager at Dar Tassa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your Day with the Berbers at Dar Tassa. Mustapha certainly is a star and has been a wonderful host since joining us at the end of April. He loves to guide guests as well as entertain and is a mine of information on Berber life and culture. Hopefully we'll see you back at Dar Tassa one day for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Tim from Riyad Africa where we were staying arranged the day for us. We were taken by car, stopping at the market in Asni - great local colour - everything sold, on up to Dar Tassa where we were met Mustapha who looked after our every need. He arranged a donky trip which was a real experience and we did take a short walk to the local Berber village with him, and he explained about life there, how water was delivered to the gardens, and turns were taken to us it. We had a wonderful lunch on the roof terrace (which also has a pool) looking over the Atlas mountains - a very tranquil spot, ideal for chilling out as we did, or going off for wonderful walks or rides. Mustapha then taught John how to make and werve mint tea and the lovely family there showed us how Berber bread was made. Once made we sat in the garden and a tray had been prepared with local green/black olives, olive oil, james etc., which we were then able to enjoy. We were only there for a day, but a truly wonderful experience Mustapha really spent a lot of time talking to us and entertaining us. Great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAIRACRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarTassa, Manager at Dar Tassa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
It is kind of you to take the time to leave your comments. Thank you. Our Day With The Berbers trip really does give guests a great insight into Berber village life and culture - and it sounds like you experienced just that, helped so much by Mustapha. Hope to see you soon back at Dar Tassa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I didnt get to stay the night at Dar Tassa, I was just there for the day having walked up from Kasbah Africa down the valley. But even after many years of travelling I have to say I found the terrace at Dar Tassa one of the most magical spots I've ever encountered! I could have sat there for days just looking down that valley and listening to the sounds of the village below. What a place to forget about your worries and just relax. And the evening light was amazing. They've also rigged up a temporary plunge pool so you can cool off from the afternoon heat.

I opted for lunch (true, there's no other 'restaurant' options, but then what do you expect from a remote Atlas lodge?!) We had a very tasty roasted vegetable starter, followed by an amazing lamb tagine. (Ask for some of the red chilly sauce. It's great and not too hot). The serving staff were extremely friendly and very helpful when I asked about walking options in the area.

It is true there was no wifi. (One could argue that if you want all the comforts of home you should stay at home, but I know these days we must all check our emails every 5 minutes even when 'relaxing'.) But I was told that a new dish was about to be installed the very next week.

The place looks like it has just had a fresh coat of paint. Out of interest I asked to see some of the bedrooms and they were spotlessly clean and cosy and decorated nicely. Yes I guess those rooms off the public area might be a bit noisy if other guests are not considerate at night. But probably no noisier than most Moroccan riads where, by design, every bedroom is usually set off a central courtyard/patio, often with the only windows looking onto that patio. Again, if you want a soundproofed 'European style' 4 star hotel, don't book a Moroccan style guest house in the Atlas foothills!

My only regret was that I couldn't stay longer and do some of those fantastic walks...

Room Tip: There are rooms available not off the public areas too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BalhamFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the highlight of our holiday! We booked a daytrip through www.marrakechtours.co.uk, and were picked up from our hotel in Marrakech by Mustafa number 1, driven to a town called Asni and shown round the local market, which our two daughters (age 8 and 9) loved!
From there we were taken to Dar Tassa, where we were greeted with milk and dates, and served mint tea by Mustafa number 2, our guide for the day.
Mustafa, who is a Berber living locally, spoke perfect English, and adapted our two hikes either side of lunch to suit our kids and our own fitness levels. His enthusiasm for Tassa Ouirgane, his village, and the Berber way of life was infectious!
Lunch was served on the terrace overlooking the valley, and was fantastic! They even made our youngest, who is a bit of a picky eater, some lovely chicken kebabs, whilst the rest of us tucked into a wonderful tagine!
After lunch and the second hike, we settled down for a mint tea making lesson, and a Berber bread making demonstration. The bread tasted wonderful!
This was a fantastic day in a magical setting, and we would highly recommend it! Next time we come to Morocco (we are already planning our next trip!), we will definitely stay at Dar Tassa!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Dar Tassa was a surprising disappointment. The upsides were it's location set above the Ouirgane valley and the clean, comfortable public areas. The staff were friendly and helped where they could, but it appears most of the issues lies with pricing and decisions of the UK owners.

Value: at 40BGP (a *discount* from 50GBP) we got a room with a shared bathroom and breakfast.

The room: Cozy, with sufficient bedding, but only one small window that faced any natural source of light. The shared bathroom was just off the public area, set awkwardly right next to where dinner was served. Very little privacy was available.

The amenities: No wifi, which I can understand if they want to keep it quiet for people to appreciate the natural surroundings, unfortunately the satellite television was working and did more to disturb the peace then checking one's email would.

Transportation: Offered at a flat rate of 36GBP (500MAD). Usually 4 star hotels do a better job of finding transportation that works for you, in this case the alternatives given were either walking 6km to the main road below Tassa Ouirgane or taking a grand taxi (180MAD) to Asni and then catching some other form of transportation to Marrakech. For reference it cost us 40MAD/person to get to the Atlas mountains by public transportation, so we ended up arranging a Grand Taxi through another establishment for considerably less to get us back. It was less the price and more that the person I was exchanging emails with in the UK didn't appear to be concerned that the price of options to get to the hotel were so unreasonably high given local prices for the same services.

Food: We found out that the manager had decided we were having dinner there before we did. We had planned on eating at Dar Tassa anyway, but were a little surprised that they didn't check with us beforehand. It ended up being 300MAD for 2 for a three course meal consisting of small hors d'oeuvres, a fruit salad and a medium sized chicken tajine for 2, a dish we had also had the night before at a local gite that was both better quality and about 50MAD. They charged us for mint tea that we asked for after dinner. We should have checked before hand, but I was surprised given no other establishment we visited in the High Atlases or Morocco charged for mint tea. The breakfast was exactly the same as any other set breakfast we had at hotels across Morocco: bread, jam, vache qui rit cheese, a crepe and yogurt.

I can't speak to the activities, but when we reviewed their price list (our bill) it was clear Dar Tassa didn't offer anything that other establishments in the High Atlas couldn't also offer.

All this being said, Dar Tassa was comparable to most other Riads/Dars/Maisons d'Hotes that we stayed at in Morocco, just at double the price and with more ambiguous/disinterested customer service from it's owners/UK reps. It brands itself an escape from the city, and perhaps that's what it is for British tourists flying into Marrakech for a week or even weekend, but if you read about Dar Tassa in planning a trip to the High Atlas and like what you hear, book anywhere else and you will likely get the same thing at half the price and also won't be disappointed because you were expecting 4 stars and didn't get it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
47 Thank AB_DF355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked a room with shower which is total overprized for that what you get.
The owner in UK promised wifi - I asked before - because we had to check Email for work.
But there is no wifi and there was no wifi and no Internet. There is no hammam and for nearly 100,- Eur per night you can't lock your room. There is only a iron bolt. The heating doesn't work well and its very cold in that place.
Even the price for local guides is the double as elsewhere in the valley.
We spook to the local manager which is a really nice person and changed to another hotel 5 km away which was very luxury compared to Dar Tassa and was a little cheaper.
We felt really cheated.
Sorry to say that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
46 Thank Anzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
0.0 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#73 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tatfi
Hotel Tatfi
#6 of 9 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tassa

Property: Dar Tassa
Address: Marigha, Ouirgane | Al Houze, Ouirgane AC 42150, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dar Tassa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tassa is a wonderful property in a dramatic location. It is completely off the beaten track in a hidden corner of the High Atlas Mountains yet offers superb walking for all levels of ability; from gentle strolls along the valley to more challenging treks from the front door all the way to Mount Toubkal, the highest mountain in North Africa. An eco-friendly mountain lodge tucked away in a superb location on the edge of Toubkal National Park, and just 1 hour 20 minutes' drive from Marrakech, the lodge sleeps a total of 24 people in 10 rooms, each furnished in a rustic Berber country style. Relax, unwind, eat and sleep well and enjoy the wonderful views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Tassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tassa Hotel Ouirgane
Dar Tassa Morocco/Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing