We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel but Too Remote from the Main Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel
Ranked #203 of 747 Hotels in Foshan
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel but Too Remote from the Main Road”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I think this is one of my shortest review because there are nothing to say about this hotel. This hotel is too far away from the main road. Even though we had car, we had to drive about 10 mins from the main gate to the main building of this hotel.

The whole structure is getting old, lack of maintenance is observed. I stay in a room on the 1st floor, which mainland state "2/F". The room is roomy but the carpet getting old. Room lights are not enough. Bathroom is roomy as well. Room amenities are enough, not too much, not too less.

They are a relaxing swimming pool which is clean and decent. Restaurants are nearby. Western food is not too good. I only can say it is Chinese style western dishes.

Nothing more can say about this hotel because they really don't have much to be introduced.

Room Tip: Don't expect you can find this hotel easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Tak Yu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    42
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago during Canton Fair being booked there by a travel agent (last time!). Hotel is a good 30-40min drive from Guangzhou and the Pazhou complex. The hotel did offer a convenient shuttle bus to and from Pazhou each day. Rooms were spacious and clean and overall facilities are well kept. The hotel definitely caters more for locals and is more a sort of resort for locals (even boasting it's own ten pin bowling course etc). Breakfast was very basic and not great at all. Since the hotel is far from the city there are no restaurants anywhere near the hotel and you are left stuck with one of the two restaurants at the hotel - one being Chinese and the other Western. The western restaurant was OK but choices limited. Communication is a nightmare. I have stayed at various chinese hotels and I know that English is generally a problem but at this hotel it was really bad. Laundry was very good and cheap.Guangzhou taxis are generally unwilling to take you to the hotel - and if they do they really struggle finding it. So whilst probably good for locals it is really not recommended for business travellers in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PE_Travelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I've stayed at this hotel complex several times. It's in a gated community that's pretty far from both the centre of Guangzhou and Foshan. It's actually closer to Guangzhou, just on the border of Panyu district. If you're coming here just for the Canton Fair and don't want to leave the hotel complex then it's quite a good choice and I think it offers good rates during fair time. Their free shuttle bus takes around 45 minutes to the fair. They also have other shuttle buses going into Guangzhou and Foshan, but they might be a bit hard for non-Chinese speakers to handle. The hotel can arrange drivers if you need one.
These days most taxi drivers know the hotel, but if you don't speak Chinese, make sure you have the address written in Chinese.
If possible, try to get a room in the new part of the hotel (out the back). It has a nice view and spacious, clean rooms with comfy beds that aren't too hard!
Pool facilities are quite good, but the gym is way below average. If you feel like doing something different, there's a bowling alley, squash, tennis & badminton courts. There's also a small supermarket and two restaurants at the hotel.
The whole place has quite a Chinese style to it, so as long as you're prepared for that, you will probably enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room in the newer building out the back, although some of the rooms in the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmjtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Even when you have the name and address written in Chinese, no taxi driver knows this hotel, since it's hidden inside a huge enclosed residential area. Hence this fact, there is absolutely nothing to do outside the hotel - no shops, no restaurants.
The whole hotel has a strange moldy smell all over, but the rooms are quite nice - big and quiet. The staff is friendly and there is a free shuttle bus to the Canton Fair.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This review is relevant for western people only, since this is what I compare to.

First of all, this place is difficult to find and we had to take 2 taxi to get there. The room was large, but had a bad smell. The AC didn't work that well so it was very difficult to get a temperature below 25 degrees celcius, even during the night.

It sounds nice with all the facilities, but they are really below standard and we only used the pool that most of the time was overcrowded with chinese people from nearby homes. So we didn't want to stay by the pool to read books and relax as the noise was immense. The reading room only had litterature in chinese.

The people working at the hotel couldn't hardly speak any english. They tried their best, but it was difficult. The chinese restaurant was nice, but the western restaurant was horrible.

It was a "funny" experience but certainly not what we hoped. We wanted a nice place to relax after 2,5 weeks on the run, but got the opposite. We were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKkasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This is a nice hotel and with good staff who speak good English but way way to far from the Airport or City centre of Guangzhou.

It took about 1:20minutes from the airport and over £40 for the taxi. No useful public transport to this hotel from the Airport and no hotel shuttle.

Our taxi driver couldnt find it, so i called the hotel who spoke very good English and gave directions to him and even with this he still found it difficult to locate. When we did get to the so called "resort" which is like a gated multi-acre complex with schools, houses, business' and banks, almost like a small town, it was still very difficult to locate the hotel. Badly sign posted.

Check in was okay and fast need to leave a deposit on your credit card. Room is big and nice and pleasant with free internet. Again its okay but nothing special and requires modernisation and some painting.

Breakfast and western style restaurant is okay and again nothing special but okay choice of food. Small supermarket offering all you could need, but closes early.

Gym is very basic and okay, same as for the pool indoor and outdoor. Not much to do except enjoy a walk and try out the library which is like a small cheap shop, full of books.

Overall the complex looks cheap. Its not easy to get in or out of this mini town, there is a free shuttle bus, but no details in English language, so youll struggle.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigwag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foshan hotels
11.0 mi away
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#6 of 747 in Foshan
289 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Foshan Shunde
Wyndham Foshan Shunde
#11 of 747 in Foshan
92 reviews
11.4 mi away
Swissotel Foshan
Swissotel Foshan
#3 of 747 in Foshan
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hilton Foshan
Hilton Foshan
#2 of 747 in Foshan
247 reviews
8.0 mi away
New World Shunde Hotel
New World Shunde Hotel
#8 of 747 in Foshan
158 reviews
11.2 mi away
Marco Polo Lingnan Tiandi Foshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel

Property: Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel
Address: Bijiang Bridge, Beijiao Town, Panyu District, Foshan 528312, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Foshan
#46 Luxury Hotel in Foshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Resort Shunde Hotel Foshan
Country Garden Holiday Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing