We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empark Grand Hotel Changsha
Ranked #12 of 1,414 Hotels in Changsha
USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We (The Child Bride and I) recently stayed there for 10 days or so. It was a nice place to stay. Our room was 4303, a corner room. It was very clean with a lot of room for the two of us. The shower was as nice as any we've been in. The facility was nicely kept clean. There seemed to be someone all day cleaning ash trays, (and re-making the hotel's logo in the sand, if messed up.) continually, as well as someone else sweeping the floor and cleaning the toilets. The hotel's buffet on the main floor was very good with a large variety of different foods for breakfast and lunch, for example: chicken feet with pickled peppers, yum! The hotel's eight elevator cars was fast, never having to wait very long for one. The shopping mall was a good ten minute walk to the north. It's supermarket is on the east side, on the ground floor, below the mall. (Hint: go down to the lower level of the hotel and find your way out to the east side to get to the lower level supermarket/department store below the 4 story shopping center, or there's steps at the S.E. corner of the parking lot on the hotel's main level, out by the street.) The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
On the negative side, the Wi-Fi was spotty even on the main level and in the meeting rooms and, there wasn't Wi-Fi in the rooms, but their supplied desk-top computer was okay, for the most part. Plus, if you wanted to use a computer in their business center, there was a 30 minute minimum charge. The only other thing was one breakfast in the main floor buffet was included, but not the 2nd person's. And It was a bit pricey. Oh ya, the smog. (That's not the hotel's fault, but for no farther than we could see out of our 43rd floor windows, we might have been better off staying on a lower floor. (We had a 'river view' room.) We seen the sun for a few minutes on two of the 10 days we stayed there.) Rarely, could we see across the river from our room.

Room Tip: Read the main review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    51
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here for over a week, and was impressed. The room was quite nice, very comfortable and clean. The highlight of the room for me was the bathroom, quite large and well done. A separate show and sunken tub, I particularly enjoyed the shower, with it's two options for showerhead, a rainfall one and a handheld.
I thought the breakfast buffet, which was included with your room cost, was pretty good. Being a westerner, I sometimes find the options on a Chinese buffet to be limited when it comes to my taste, but it seemed this buffet did a great job catering to every palate. The service was adequate, I thought they could have done a better job at cleaning tables.
The Front Desk always had an english speaker on duty, and the bell desk also seemed to.
It is a smoker friendly hotel, with only a small selection of non-smoking rooms, people smoke all over. It certainly is a change from North America, and took a bit to get used to again. When the room was booked I never even thought about it, and we ended up in a smoking room. Towards the end I stopped noticing, except every now and then you could really tell in the washroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ft_Garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Nice hotel, nice rooms, good food. In the subtropical climate of Changsha with its heat and humidity the AC in the hotel is inadequate. Lobby through room. Could never really cool. To hot to get a better rating. Fix the AC and this place jumps a point or two...

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tweyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
320 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is good in a land of great hotels. Room was spacious and nicely appointed. Buffet was good. A bit far away from the main city highlights. AC never really got cool. Not matter how much it was adjusted, it never seemed to cool down much and during the heat of the day struggled to keep the room at the set temperature. No wireless Internet in the rooms. Staff was friendly, but allow 30 minutes to check out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Hotel is new and staff is helpful. The manager at the concierge is very helpful to answer many questions and guide me the directions to various tourist spots and the food street.
The room is spaceous and fully equipped with all necessities. It is lovely to have a soft toy doll sitting on the sofa in the room to welcome guests. Mine is a bear doll while my friends' room is a panda doll. If the mattress can be harder (a bit too soft for me), it will be even better.
Also, for a 5-star hotel, I expect the street map can be given to room guests free of charge. But, it is charged at Rmb10 if we take it to use.
The nearby shopping mall (belonging to the same property group of the hotel) is within 10mins walk. It has a good variety of shops including restaurants of different cuisines and price levels, supermarkets, a variety of shops, cinema, etc.
The residentail buildings next to the hotel are still being built (but should be completing soon). There is a little bit of noise occasionally.

Room Tip: The area is still not very busy; hence, not a lot of taxi pass by. Guests need to reserve some time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel is located in the soon to be new business hub of the city, the hotel itself is of a very high standard and certainly deserves it 5 star status, the rooms are very nice, they are extremely well kitted out with all the niceties you would expect in a 5 start hotel, the bathroom was lovely with marbled floor, shower and sunken bath, the view from the room was lovely as it overlooked the river. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent with so much variety.
All in all a very good stay was had.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdfdr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The hotel has only been open since September 2010 so it is still new and located on the outskirts of town, in a new district which will soon become a business hub for the city. The hotel is very modern and lavishly fitted out with much use of granite in the wet areas and lovely views from the bathroom. My Superior room had a sunken bath and a separate shower and I felt quite important while staying there. The amenities are excellent and certainly up to 5 Star standards for China and many other places too. My only criticism is a small one but an important one at this early stage of the hotel's life. I found that some of the important staff (like room service and the operator) didn't have a good enough command of English to fully cater to overseas travelers. But with patience and attentiveness from both traveler and staff, I managed to convey my wishes. Just be patient and give them a chance and you'll be pleasantly surprised by this "new kid on the block"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolo727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Changsha hotels
Sheraton Changsha Hotel
#3 of 1,414 in Changsha
1,017 reviews
Wanda Vista Changsha
#6 of 1,414 in Changsha
89 reviews
InterContinental Changsha
#2 of 1,414 in Changsha
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre
The St. Regis Changsha
#1 of 1,414 in Changsha
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empark Grand Hotel Changsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empark Grand Hotel Changsha

Property: Empark Grand Hotel Changsha
Address: No.199 Jintai Road kaifu District, Changsha 410008, China
Region: China > Hunan > Changsha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,414 Hotels in Changsha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Empark Grand Hotel Changsha 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Empark Grand Hotel Changsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing