We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated - rated 5 star but not worth even a 2 star motel rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunan Bestride Hotel
Ranked #467 of 1,410 Hotels in Changsha
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dated - rated 5 star but not worth even a 2 star motel rating”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

In summary: Peeling walls, filthy carpets, moldy bathrooms, dirty bathrooms sinks and non smoking rooms that spelled of smoke and ash trays available for use. Bath towels should be white but gray and fraying.

Very dated hotel with run-down furnishings. They advertise that they are 5-star, not even close. At best a 2 Star Motel. Don't even attempt to use English, none of the hotel reception staff including management understand or speak the language.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationAccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    92
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
320 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent one night at this hotel. Generally, the quality is good, except for a few points. (a) The bathroom door is in need of a new coat of paint. (b) The bed mattress and pillow are wee hard. (c) We could not adjust the air-conditioner. As it was summer, the room was rather warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapitanchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Yes, I came back to stay here again, one year after. Got a room on 26th floor (business), computer not working but managed to use one on reception desk. As someone else mentioned, bed could be a bit softer but overall good value for money (about half other 5 star). Walked over to stadium next door and had a swim in clean 50m pool. As usual not many people on 32nd floor so had many nice and peaceful drinks and dinners up there. Staff were exceptional knowing that I had stayed there last year, many smiles and couldn't do enough for me. A bit dated, but I like wood panelling and old fashioned styling rather than something too clinical.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the closer to the bar and western restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGreg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A dated hotel with run-down furnishings. Was expecting something better, since they advertise that they are 5-star. You get a decent amount of space, but paint is peeling, carpets are stained, TV isn't even flatscreen! Morning breakfast is mainly Chinese fare, with the option of fried eggs, cereal, and some baked goods. You'll get a decent stay here, but don't expect much glam.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

There was nothing particularly memorable about the facility, but the staff was exceptionally helpful. We needed reservations and tickets for the high-speed train to Guangzhou and a customer service manager took us down the street to a ticketing office. There's not a lot for a tourist to see or do in Changsha and I think the location is as good as most. Overall, a three-star property with four-to-five star staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed for four nights. Rooms very good value for money, fridge provided, the food was excellent and the breakfast choices nice but watch for closing times.
The mattresses could have been a bit softer. Room on 21st floor, all staff worked hard, friendly and one outstanding assistant manager, Sunny or SAMMI on nametag is a very good English speaker and knows all. Noisy neighborhood and I was unable to get the Air Conditioning to perform, very nice bathroom, tv and so forth.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Nice room and pleasant staff. I was a solo traveller and stayed in a deluxe room on the 30th floor for 3 nights. Best thing about this floor is just a short walk to the bar on 32nd. The bar has extensive views over the city, nice decor and food as well. The food was great and best of all, it was quiet, I was the only one there most times. Menu included Asian and Western dishes. One of the surprises was having my very own computer in the room included in the room price. Breakfast is also included but remember to get there in good time as they start packing up and stop replenishing well before the 10am finish. The hotel is in a good location with short walk to shops and Baisha Well, although this is not over-whelming. I also took a bit longer stroll down to First National School which is worth a visit. The hotel also has pool tables which are in good condition. Minor hassle with trying to get someone to pick up my laundry as not a lot English speaking staff in house-keeping, my call was transferred 5 times. But overall good value for money and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor close to restaurant and bar was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGreg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Changsha hotels
InterContinental Changsha
#2 of 1,410 in Changsha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Sheraton Changsha Hotel
#3 of 1,410 in Changsha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huatian Hotel
#9 of 1,410 in Changsha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Mellow Orange Hotel
#43 of 1,410 in Changsha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunan Bestride Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunan Bestride Hotel

Property: Hunan Bestride Hotel
Address: No. 215 Laodong West Road, Tianxin District, Changsha 410007, China
Region: China > Hunan > Changsha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 1,410 Hotels in Changsha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunan Bestride Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Hunan Bestride Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing