We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
7
64
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
64
13
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Pleasant, modern rooms with comfy beds.

Free WiFi in hotel lobby. Note the English level of the hotel staff is very limited (much like my Mandarin) so do bear this in mind! The hotel also requires that you pay a deposit upfront (200 Yuan I think, returned on check-out).

Location is a bit out of the way and approx 25 mins walk from the city centre. Low price makes it well worth it however.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasonL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Jinjiang Inn on Wusi Rd is simple but clean and comfortable. The front desk staff speak limited English, but they tried hard to make my stay comfortable. The shower is simple but worked well. The room is sparse but clean and the bed was comfortable. Two good cafes are located nearby: The Greenhouse Coffee Cafe is a five minute walk away (take a left out of the hotel to the first major intersection and go right) and Cafe Java is one large city block north of the hotel just across from the large city park (walk past the Greenhouse cafe going north and take a right at the first main intersection. Walk 200 meters and Cafe Java is on your right).

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank bruchko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel and the room given was spacious with clean sheets and towels. There was hot water and shower with good pressure and the bathroom came with a heater which was a big plus in winter snowy Xining. The room had a centrally controlled heater but it was not operating by 10pm and through the night till the next day. We had to use the extra blanket in the room to keep warm. The free internet provided with a LAN cable in the room was a big plus too.

The staff were friendly and helpful on the public transportation available in the area.

The location of the hotel was 15 minutes ride away the railway station but 35km from the airport. It has a handful of eateries in the area but not much of a shopping area.

Room tip: There is a choice between smoking and non-smoking level and rooms. So choose one that suits you.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victoria900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

These are simple rooms- think Best Western in the US- but they have wood floors (and if you've seen the carpets in many Chinese hotels you are jumping for joy), hot showers with good water pressure, clean western bathrooms and English speaking staff. They often have rooms with one large bed (also hard to find in China) the beds are western style and comfortable. They are well lit and kept in 'new' condition. Overall a very solid hotel that I'd give 3 points in the US but close to 5 in China, expecially when you are in the sticks.
This location is somewhat poor, but a tax is going to cost you less than $2 anywhere in the city, so no real worries about that. There is a wonderful muslim night restaurant down the street past the college ($5 simple delicious dinner for two) as well as a (Sichuan? style) chinese place called the something Family Restaurant ($15 for two with beer).
Xining is the gateway to Tibet, and in the summer it is nightmarishly crowded. You need to have accomidations before you get there, and this hotel or a hostel may be your only options. Definately the cleanest hotel I stayed in in Xining by far. Also, the only night in China I actually had a full/queen sized bed.
The rooms are "ikeaesque' decorated and reminded me of a dorm room, in a good way.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andiralaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My wife and I spent one night in Xining waiting to connect with the train to Lhasa. The Jinjaing is an older hotel, it is reasonably well kept. Not spotless but is clean enough. The bathroom was walled in glass which was a bit weird. I'm fairly liberal but I did not understand why actions that are usually private shoud be semi public. The mattress needed replacing as there seemed to be a "honeymoon slope" leading to a very cosy sleep. Even though the info said the hotel had AC we did not find any indication that was the case. It was not hot when we were in Xining so opening the windows sufficed for us. The staff was quite nice but spoke less English then we did Chinese. We still managed quite well with a lot of laughing, both sides of the conversations tried very hard. While in China the one meal each day I did not enjoy was breakfast. The breakfast here was mostly Chinese but I did find enough things of interest that I could start the day satiated.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews