We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Grainau
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I just spent two nights here in late October 2011. It was low season on a Monday and Tuesday night so the hotel was particularly quiet. Delicious breakfast and nice rooms, but the best part was the view of the mountains from our balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    32
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
82
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here on our tour through Southern Germany. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff. She walked us to our room and gave a quick tour of the hotel. The rooms were smallish and pretty outdated, but had a quaint rustic lodge feel. We arrived at dusk, opened our window and had the most amazing view of the Alps and the countryside. We didn't eat at the hotel, but did have a couple drinks in the small bar (which were very pricey). Breakfast was included in our rate and included warm and cold dishes (eggs, cheese, meat, yogurt, etc.). Definitely one of the better breakfasts we had in Germany.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
354 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed near the center of Garmisch on a visit ten years ago, and assumed we'd do so again this time, but reviews of the Waxenstein lured us out the 4 or 5 km to Grainau. We are so glad we chose the Waxenstein -- four nights for our party of five, including a two-year-old, went by all too quickly. Ask for a mountain view room, and you'll have a balcony looking out on the Zugspitze and its neighbors. The restaurant is first-rate -- we expected to have just one dinner there and ended up dining in the hotel three out of the four nights. The Toedt family excels in dealing with the public -- the proprietor met us at the door, greeted us by name, and he and his family and staff seemed to anticipate anything we might want. The restaurant can be expensive -- it's worth it -- but also offers simpler dishes. The wine list is good and not too high-priced; service not only was fine but also was very accommodating for our grandson. In the neighborhood are several very pleasant, and generally easy, walking/hiking trails, a really good wood-carving shop, and a useful collection of banks, shops, etc.

The hotel itself is up above the main road just a bit, in a residential neighborhood, and might seem a bit tricky to find, but stay with it -- after the first time it will be obvious how to get there, and it's worth the effort.

We'd give the Waxenstein absolutely top marks, both as a hotel and a restaurant -- and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We are just about to check out of the Waxenstein after three wonderful days. Our room was clean and comfortable (although a bit small) and had a balcony that directly overlooked the Zugspitz. The staff, especially Maggie at the front desk, couldn't have been freindlier or more helpful. Our inability to speak German was no problem at all.

If you love good food, this is the place to be. We were on half board and had huge breakfasts, cake in the afternoon and truly gourmet meals in the evening. The hotel is just down the road from Garmisch, but away from all of the tourists. There is also an indoor pool, sauna and steam room which were great after being out all day. We can't wait to stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Our family of floor stayed 4 nights in 2 connecting rooms. The rooms were lovely with beautiful views. Service was excellent and the facilities very nice. We enjoyed the indoor pool. The restaurant is excellent. We had dinner every night and did not have a bad meal. One evening we had a BBQ in the garden (in a tent since it was raining) and it was fabulous! My only complaint is that they allow smoking in the lobby area. Several times we came in and it was quite smokey. The rooms did not smell like smoke and were fine. Overall we had a great visit and would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMNewOrleans_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Hotel
is by car a little over an hour from Munich's city away.
it is in between Garmisch Partenkirchen and the Eibsee (lift tothe Zugspitze mountain).
the hotel has 4stars ( superiore).
the kitchen is excellent. we had a training package including all meals and coffee breaks. the food was of an excellent / superb quality. after a few days, I am already afraid checking my weight development.

the hotel has free parking available. a spa area incl. a sauna with also outside relax areas.

Rooms
I had a staandard room. containing
coffee/tea maker
room safe
small desk with wired broad band free of charge internet
small tft TV and DVD player (which you dont need, due to the great view onto the mountains).
desk, chair etc.
bed is really comfortable, was a bid too warm through the thick linen.
balcony with alpe view.

Service
staff is extremely friendly, reserved but there once needed. extra wishes on the menu where accommodated in a great way.

Meeting Room
we had a meeting room with everything needed. nice and bright (natural light) and view. Ideal for getting out , free your mind and pick up new ideas, have a relaxed atmosphere for discussions and trainings.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

This one has it all--lovely hotel, beautifully furnished rooms with comfortable beds, great mountain views, and yummy breakfasts. My husband and I have stayed here twice and plan to visit again later this month with relatives. There are many hiking/walking trails within walking distance of the hotel that lead into the mountains and valleys. Dinners have also been excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1744360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grainau
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Badersee
Hotel am Badersee
#4 of 17 in Grainau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Laengenfelder Hof
Hotel Laengenfelder Hof
#5 of 17 in Grainau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eibsee Hotel
Eibsee Hotel
#7 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenhof Grainau
Alpenhof Grainau
#3 of 17 in Grainau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein

Property: Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein
Address: Hoehenrainweg 3, 82491 Grainau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Grainau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grainau
#2 Spa Hotel in Grainau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grainau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grainau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with 100 years of tradition and with a fantastic mountain panorama right outside the door! The completely renovated ROMANTIK ALPENHOTEL WAXENSTEIN in Grainau near Garmisch-Partenkirchen offers style and comfort, family atmosphere, a small and lovely wellness area and numerous different recreation activities. We also look forward to spoiling you in our restaurant with our delicious cuisine of regional and international specialties, all in the finest quality. Waxenstein Quite close to the Hotel in Grainau are the crystal clear mountain lakes Eibsee and Badersee; there are numerous hiking trails and mountain bike routes as well as wonderful skiing regions in the German and Austrian Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing