We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a good time!”
Review of QH Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
QH Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Grainau
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Had a good time!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in one of the Timeshare rooms, room 205. The room overlooked the Biergarten and had a pleasant balcony. We weren't disturbed by noise from the garden (the weather kept people out of it most of the time!).

Our room had a small kitchen area but only had a sink and a useful fridge. It had a seating area and table. As other reviews have said, arguably the hotel decor needs refreshing, but that didn't detract from our stay. We didn't use the pool or sauna.

We didn't have a lot to do with hotel staff apart from the restaurant team who were very pleasant and hard working. Breakfast was an excellent buffet, hot and cold. The restaurant in the evenings was often busy. It has a Balkan menu but with plenty of local dishes too. The food was excellent, plentiful and reasonably priced. A good selection of beers too.

The hotel is a couple of Kilometres away from the centre of Grainau - a short drive or pleasant 30 minute walk. It's about 4K from Garmisch-Partenkirchen. It's also very well placed for most of the chair lifts and cog railways in the area. A good spot.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AR-Greenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
28
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here 3 years ago and really liked the hotel saying we would return when next staying in the area. However, we were a bit disappointed. Hotel looking a bit tired now. Eg curtain missing, balcony floor covering torn. Pool is good but really a bit too cold. Breakfast was good. Nice garden area but needs a bit of attention. Restaurant now offering Balkan menu - bit different but would have preferred more traditional menu. Staff friendly. Views from room fantastic and the village is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gin4172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was not a cozy hotel as I had hoped. It was run-down, outdated and dark inside our room. The shower head would not stay in place when showering. Not a big deal, but no wifi here. The breakfast was big and good. The view was also nice. There was not much to do around the hotel, but dinner at the nearby Schmölzer Wirt was an excellent surprise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Quellenhof for two nights this month. The hotel is within a couple minutes drive to the Zugspitze Bahnhof and the "downtown" walking area of Garmish. The hotel has a beautiful swimming area with steam relaxing areas as well as a huge sauna. The room was very comfortable and if lucky enough to be on the back side of the hotel, you will have an amazing view of the Alps. A fantastic breakfast was included in the cost of the room. We did try the restaurant for dinner our first night and it was average on the scale of other places we ate in country. There is an American Army Base near the hotel so most everyone speaks English. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank j_vogt9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I along with our two daughters travelled to Grainau on a short five day ski break.We flew Ryanair to Memmingen in Germany and hired a car. The flight costs were low as we were doing the trip on a budget. The hotel was as described on the website and we had booked a two bedroomed apartment which was located on the fourth floor. The hotel is located a little outside the small hamlet of Grainau and I would recommend hiring a car.
The apartment had two double bedrooms, a separate bathroom, a moderate sized living room and a kitchenette. The apartment was cleaned daily and in good repair.
The hotel restaurant was particularly good it is described as a steakhouse but it serves a very wide variety of food. The Weiner schnitzel was excellent but the portion sizes are huge,one between two is more than adaquate.We had planned on venturing out a bit more but ended up only going into Grainau one night!! A large number of locals also dined here which I think is a very good sign. The breakfast was continental fare and was very good also. Overall a nice hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a huge apartment with a wonderful view over the mountain range. Maid service every day and lovely, friendly staff. However we thought that breakfast was very expensive for what was available. I would recommend you check out the bakeries in Garmish for cheap, delicious, huge croissents and coffee at less than quarter of the hotel price. All in all a lovely hotel and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 310 is massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This 3 star set at the foot of the Alps is lovely. The rooms are spacious, the bath hot and the beds comfy. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was generous and had a nice variety of hot and cold foods. We ate at the restaurant in the evening as well and found it tasty and the staff, also, very friendly. There is a bus stop just outside the property that runs in to Garmisch. Very easy to get around and such stunning views of the mountains. The only negative was the pool was cold.

Room Tip: We had a double room which was huge. It had a loft with a king bed and an oversized living space tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWZ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grainau hotels
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Zugspitze Berghotel Hammersbach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grainauer Hof
Hotel Grainauer Hof
#11 of 17 in Grainau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laengenfelder Hof
Hotel Laengenfelder Hof
#5 of 17 in Grainau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel am Badersee
Hotel am Badersee
#3 of 17 in Grainau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Richter
Hotel-Restaurant Richter
#13 of 17 in Grainau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QH Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QH Hotel

Property: QH Hotel
Address: Schmoelzstr. 1, 82491 Grainau, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Quellenhof Hotel)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Grainau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Grainau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — QH Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your QH Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing