We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Really nice place for families. Been a bit skeptical at first reading some of the reviews here, but everything was just about perfect. The resort is situated on a hill, therefore the walks are fairly steep, but there are elevators if is too hot to walk or you just don't feel like walking.
Even though the transfer from Heraklion it is a bit on the long side, it is nice that you can actually see a bit of the island.
Very nice staff, helpful and majority speak good English. Very good food, and you get specific evening dinners also.
There is entertainment for kids at the main pool and on the theatre in the evenings.
Clean sandy beach with plenty of sun beds. The pool bar is very close so you can get sandwiches, ice cream, and drinks all day long. The beach is all surrounded by the same rocky hill on which the resort is situated, which makes it very nice, or at least for me is.
Nice big rooms and very nice furnished, could have done with a couple of English channels though. There is only CNN in English, but who goes there to watch tele? Ask to get if possible a sea view, it is brilliant and you get yourself a nice terrace also. There were some reviews bellow that there is no soap or shower gel in the bathrooms, there was in the one we had.
There are some shops on the hotel premises and it did not look that was overpriced compared to the ones in the resort.
There is not a lot you can do in the village though; therefore if you want to see a bit more you can rent a car and go in places. I think they also organise trips to a water park and different other places. We have been quite static as travelled with a small baby.
The only downside of all the travel was Thomas Cook, with which we ha booked the travel. They are completely rubbish, starting with the information they give you in the agency (1.5 hours transfer time, and you can take water for baby thru airport security), up to flights (the most uncomfortable, and tight I have ever been), up to the service they provide when you are actually there. Will never ever book with them again.
Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and would probably go again.

Room Tip: Get a see view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Billy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikri_Poli-Crete, Manager at Sentido Mikri Poli Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay at the SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards, your SENTIDO MIkri Poli Crete-team.

Dimitris Papassarandis
Resort Manager
SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Mikri Poli Crete Resort is very beautiful, rooms and all hotel´s areas are made in a very modern design. Resort is perfect for families and children, from restaurant over pools to animation program. All staff is very pleasant and all services are on very good level. We had all inclusive program BUT you have to pay extra costs e.g. cappuccino, frappe... In hotel mini bar is only water nothing else. You have to pay also for safe in the room, for beach towels etc. It is not typical for 5* hotel or? Also food is not match with 5* hotel, still the same desserts and no surprise during 12 days of our stay. But in overall very good place and many thanks for a beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: In some parts of the resort there are A/C engines which makes terrible noise for all day (especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikri_Poli-Crete, Manager at Sentido Mikri Poli Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay at the SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards, your SENTIDO MIkri Poli Crete-team.

Dimitris Papassarandis
Resort Manager
SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I am visiting this hotel from its early days.Although it is a family resort, I always have a great time there with my girlfriend .Perfect spacious sea view rooms,great food all day long included in the price.It can get a bit noisy due to the children playing around the pools, but as I said its a family resort, so its expected.The staff is very kind and helpful,and always willing to help.The beach is large and clean ,with sunbeds and really close to showers and the pool bar.Great choice whether you have children or not!!I ll try to go again this August!!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skoukou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikri_Poli-Crete, Manager at Sentido Mikri Poli Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay at the SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards, your SENTIDO MIkri Poli Crete-team.

Dimitris Papassarandis
Resort Manager
SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The best thing in this hotel are the animators. Very friendly and very hellpfull. In one word perfect people doin' perfect job. Aspecialy the children animations in the amphiteather.
Keep it going !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikri_Poli-Crete, Manager at Sentido Mikri Poli Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay at the SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards, your SENTIDO MIkri Poli Crete-team.

Dimitris Papassarandis
Resort Manager
SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have just returned from Crete were I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. The room I was given was very spacious with a large bed room, living room and balcony.
The view from the balcony was to die for as it looked out over the bay and across the sea to Makry gialos. The food was very good with a selection of traditional Greek and English type food available in a buffet format. After a couple of days I realised that I needed to pace myself or I wouldn't fit in my set belt for my return journey. Makrygialos is only a 10-15 minute walk away (to habour) the hill down to it is rather step but if you do your shopping on the way back up it isn't too bad as the shops make it a more gradual climb.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the beach is lovely with plenty of free sunbeds to soak up the sun on.
My only negative is that we appeared to be the only English people at this hotel with the rest being German familes / couples this meant that apart from when the staff spoke to us we did not hear another English voice for the full week which made us feel rather isolated. This also meant no excursions unless we went on German ones which as we don't speak German was not an option. This was not the fault of the hotel but of Thomas cook who we went with.
Would I return to this hotel, no but that is more to do with its location than anything else, Would I return to Makrygialos no again that is to do with the 2.5 hour transfer from the airport to the hotel rather than the village which is lovely though could do with better shops. Now the important one would I go with Thomas Cook again no their travel reps are rubbish not telling us about the transfer half way to the hotel and no rep on the coach going to the resort or returning to the hotel so it looks like its back to Thomsons next year as they are slightly better

Room Tip: We stayed in a room about half way up the hill side and asked for a sea view our room was no 431
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osceneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikri_Poli-Crete, Manager at Sentido Mikri Poli Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to welcome you back in the future!

All the best,

Dimitris Papassarandis
Resort Manager
SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great place, food, beach...Nice family friendly hotel, very kind people. Just a little bit windy weather and we were missing a bit of nightlife there. Definitely worth for money paid. I would come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikri_Poli-Crete, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Sentido Mikri Poli Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your fantastic review! We were very happy to hear that we could make you feel comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay!
Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,

Antonia Kaneli
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel is very large and impressive. Staff is very nice and the rooms are very large and well equipped. One disadvantage of the rooms is that they are scattered over a large area and therefore takes 7 - 5 min walking to reach the dining room and the pool/Beach.

Beach adjacent to the hotel very comfortable and cozy (soft sand). An important advantage is the beach right next to the pool and you can take drinks and snacks (for free) from the pool bar to the beach.
Overall, the hotel was excellent. The only problem is the remote of the hotel from the airport, about an hour and a half drive.

If you also want to go traveling around the island, my advice is to take a vehicle because the city adjacent to the hotel is not so interesting.

Room Tip: Nearby dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hecht2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makry-Gialos
10.9 mi away
Ostria Resort & Spa
Ostria Resort & Spa
#1 of 24 in Ierapetra
1,786 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Achlia
Hotel Achlia
#19 of 24 in Ierapetra
26 reviews
39.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Coriva Beach Hotel
Coriva Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Koutsounari
143 reviews
13.6 mi away
Petra Mare
Petra Mare
#4 of 24 in Ierapetra
438 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel El Greco Ierapetra
Hotel El Greco Ierapetra
#6 of 24 in Ierapetra
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Mikri Poli Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Mikri Poli Crete

Address: Makry-Gialos, Crete 720 55, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Makry-Gialos
Price Range: £91 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentido Mikri Poli Crete 4.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Mikri Poli Crete is set on a sea facing slope... with direct access to the golden sandy beach. This resort is a unique beach getaway in southeastern Crete. Take your children or friends to experience an inviting ambience with tasteful style, modern amenity and expansive beach-facing accommodation. A retreat like no other... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sentido Mikri Poli Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Crete Hotel Makry-Gialos
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing