We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect finish for our honeymoon - not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ville du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ville du Soleil
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“perfect finish for our honeymoon - not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of October. It was absolutely the best part of our trip in Crete (and Santorini). Our spacious villa had an upstairs terrace with a hammock, a kitchen already equipped with three different types of coffee (Greek, espresso, and filter), not to mention homemade jams, olive oil, and, most importantly raki, an extra bedroom, a living room, and two bathrooms. But certainly one of the best things about our stay was our host, Kostas, who is easy-going, full of information and ready to help anyone out. He took us on a great tour of a nearby cave and told us a beautiful trail to walk down. He let me borrow a pair of hiking boots since my shoes were certainly not up for the job, and he even let me borrow one of his cameras when ours ran out of batteries. Just a very nice and knowledgeable guy. I'd happily return here and heartily recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

With our 3 year old girl in tow, we were debating whether to go for an all inclusive two week lobotomy with a kids club thrown in to ease the pain, or keep it real with an independent trip to see the beaches and wonders of south east Crete. How glad we were to have done the latter, ending up at Ville du Soleil. Tucked away up a hill and away from most of humanity, the villa was wonderful, as was the hospitality from Costas and his dad Dimitri. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely and welcome package of food including local honey and bread, olive oil, home made strawberry jam and of course Raki! The villas are a very nice size set over two floors with everything you need and tons of rustic charm. They are kept very clean and the furniture and decor has been well thought out too. The view from the roof terrace across the olive trees, shimmering bay and over to the mountains in the distance is magical. Costas told us his grandparents first lived here and you can see the love and attention that generations of his family have brought to the buildings and the olive groves alike.
For a 3 year old swimming addict there are plenty of local beaches to discover, none better than the shallow, warm waters of Makrygialos bay. For a bit of variety we also used the Ocean Beach Club hotel swimming pool nearby with no issues at all (Costas told me the owner of OBC actually prefers to stay with him when in town rather than at his own hotel).
So, go mad; book for two weeks not one, jump in a car and go explore the hills, the tavernas, the ruins, the beaches and the stars. With Costas looking after you, you won't be disappointed with this magical corner of the world.

Room Tip: All the villas are the same and offer the same beautiful view over the bay at Makrygialos with the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in Ville de Soleil for 3 nights. The stone villa has a beautiful panoramic view over the sea and olive groves. The house is very well-equipped, with two terraces. We even had BBQ at the villa with local fishes from the area. The owner Kostas is an amazingly friendly, generous and hospitable guy. He is so welcoming and brining us homemade snacks that are very delicious! During our stay, it happened to be my father's birthday and Kostas gave my dad a very nice surprise with ice-cream! That was very sweet and kind to us! It really made us very happy to stay. Around the areas, there is this beautiful beach that doesnt have much wind and it is almost private. We spent our afternoon there snorkelling alone. Also the Pefki Gorge nearby can be a great walk. The area is very cozy and chilled without too much touristic thing here. And if you enjoy nature and want to feel the greek hospitality, that will be the place to be. P.S. Kostas told us that we are the first visitors from Hong Kong and he hopes there will be more to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the Ville du Soleil for one week and had a fantastic time. Kostas, the owner is the best host you can wish for. He is so entertaining, has so much to tell you about Greece, its people, culture, way of life...it is fantastic what kind of insight you can get. The house we stayed in, number 1, has all you need for a vacation far away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas. The kitchen is fully equipped and we received a welcome package with their own olive oul, honeys, jams, Raki! The view from the terrace over the area is stunning, olive trees, mountains, the sea! And at night, you can see the stars and the milky way shining bright...the area is extremely quiet, not much trafic and it still is close to Makry Gialos, the next village that offers lots of shops, tavernas and beaches. The nice beaches however are the remote ones, on the eastern part from the Ville du Soleil, the non-civilized part, as Kostas would refer too. Once you get there you will feel how easy it is to unwind! I can only highly recommend, go and visit this outstanding place!

Room Tip: All Villas have a nice view and are two storey buildings,, very traditional furniture, great kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isi-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just one word: perfect. Stone-made villa, with a lot of wood inside, clean, bright, sunny, warm, with really enough space for two of us - we've been there with my wife, but I'm sure 4 people would feel also comfortable, there are two bedrooms - close to the nice beaches (some of them completely empty!). Costas - I have no words to express how delighted I'm to meet You, it's a real pleasure to find personalities like him on this world. No doubts it's a perfect place to stay for a dream holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacek1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked the place really on last minute as we made some very bad choice from airbnb. So after one night there we started looking for a better location. And we found this wonderful place . The house is spotless, very spacious and beautiful. I can really admit it is the best place I ever stayed in. The owner Costas couldn't be nicer. You will be welcomed with home made jam and honey. It is simply worth the money and I am very gratefull to my husband that he found it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Ville du Soleil. The warm welcome, excellent location and spotless accommodation made this a holiday to remember! This is certainly a very special place.

We arrived at midnight to find Dimitris waiting for us with a huge smile and a big hello. He showed us to our house where we found home made jams, bread, biscuits and other treats waiting for us. The next morning Dimitris brought us some home made cheese pies for breakfast - delicious! Dimitris and his son, Kostas, were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble, they were always jolly and they were delightful with the children.

The houses are set away from the small town of Makry Gialos so a car is advised. The town is very nice with some excellent restaurants and shops and a trip to the nearby hillside town of Pefki is a real treat. There is a good family-friendly beach in Makry Gialos. The road network around the town is very good so day trips to other parts of the region are easy.

The houses are just a few minutes away from some truly beautiful coves and beaches which provided us with hours of fun swimming and snorkelling. These coves are very quiet - completely unspoilt - and are perfect for young children as they slope gently providing shallow water to splash around in. The deeper water further out is full of beautiful fish with under water caves to explore too.

The houses are very clean, very well maintained and very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you need and the linen and towels are changed every couple of days. We had 2 great bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a lovely living area but my favourite part of the house was the hammock on the balcony!

This was our best family holiday ever and we will definitely be returning to Ville du Soleil. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaraMelaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makry-Gialos
8.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Belissario
1.6 mi away
Villea Village Resort
Villea Village Resort
#1 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
#1 of 3 in Makry-Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Afroditi Apartments
Afroditi Apartments
#11 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmira Apartments
Palmira Apartments
#13 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Houses
The White Houses
#24 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ville du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ville du Soleil

Property: Ville du Soleil
Address: Laggada, Makry-Gialos, Crete 720 55, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Makry-Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ville du Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Ville du Soleil”, is located in the South-East part of the island of Crete, and is comprised of 4 double-floored stone-built houses & 2 bungalows. The houses are built in a traditional Cretan style with wooden ceilings and furniture, with a panoramic view over the sea and mountains, 500 metres from the beach of Laggada. The visitors of the houses have only positive comments to provide, concerning the beauty of the place and the personal care for their comfortable vacations, as can be seen in all internet sites. Costas and Manuela, the owners of “Ville du Soleil” have excellent communicative skills in English. As a Greek national, I can communicate moderately in German and my wife is a native French speaker. The business is open from 1st of April until 30th of November, however, since my wife and I live permanently onsite, we could potentially offer accommodation possibilities throughout the year. The experience that is provided in our business can potentially be expanded to an insider’s look to the area around, by: - organising hiking and bicycling tours, - olive oil seminars (I am an olive oil judge, part of the International olive oil Jury of "Der Feinschmecker” magazine. - daily trips to Koufonissi and Chrissi island, - visiting archeological sites of the area, - as well as an insider’s look to the local cuisine. The houses do not provide a swimming pool, however, the sandy beaches around the area and the relaxing atmosphere provided by the absence of the pool, is one of the attractions to our guests in the past 5 years of operation. I will be looking forward to hearing from you in the near future, Best wishes from Makrygialos, Konstantinos Dritsas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ville du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ville Du Soleil Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing