We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villea Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

If a warm friendly welcome where every effort is made to make your holiday relaxing, enjoyable and memorable is what you are looking for, then this is the hotel for you.

The numerous favourable reviews already posted list all the plus points of the pool and gardens, Makri Gialos and south eastern Crete, while the occasional unfavourable review draws attention to the fact that rooms are not equipped to modern, five star, state of the art standard. However they are spotlessly clean with all essentials and full of character, with an outside space to sit for meals if you want to prepare your own, although this certainly isn't necessary as excellent food is available in the hotel or the many tavernas within strolling distance along the street.

For those who like to be entertained, there are opportunities to meet other guests around the pool and during evening events such as the BBQ and quiz, but there is no pressure to join in.
For those who want an organised daily programme for children or kid's club, however, this is not the hotel for them.

We have now visited three times and on each occasion we have found the advice provided by the small team of staff invaluable. For example, we enjoy walking, so after joining in the gorge walk guided by Vassilis during our first visit, he has provided directions for us to tackle other gorge walks on our own. Suggestions for places to go are usually accompanied by advice on where to eat which we have found uniformly good, often with an extra course or snacks provided with drinks.

After one rather strenuous gorge walk, the next day we wanted something less demanding - no problem. Following a minute's consideration, we were provided with directions for a walk between two villages through a pine forest, details of some interesting church architecture to view, a brief history of one of the few houses remaining locally where a room had been built over the street to link two properties during the Turkish occupation, and of course, where to have lunch.

We also like snorkelling, and after mentioning that the winter weather had left a nearby beach slightly stony, Nico the barman promptly suggested a gently shelving sandy beach with rocks at either end, where fish could be seen.

These examples give a taste of the kind of holiday available for those who like to explore, but the hotel is also ideally suited to those who would prefer so spend the day relaxing on a sun lounger on a beach or beside the pool, with food and drink supplied from the pool bar. Either way, the staff all give a friendly greeting whenever you pass by and do their very best to provide prompt service.

They have been warned, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    80
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
106
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a studio on the road side with a double bed. The road wasn't very busy and it was quiet at night. Our very large terrace was shaded with a grapevine and had a sea view. The kitchen is partial (as described) but we cooked in couple of nights easily. The flatscreen TV only had Greek channels but there is big TV with sky in reception if you want to keep up with the news. The pool is gorgeous (22 metres apparently) with plenty of space to swim, sunbathe or sit in the shade under the olive trees. As other reviewers have said, the staff are fantastic and do everything to ensure you have a good holiday. Sue and Vassilis take time to sit with you and ask about your day and plans you may have for the next. Nicos, Nico and Chrissoula (excuse the spellings) - the bar staff are second to none. We only met Eva(?) on reception a few times but very helpful when we did. Definitely go to the BYOM BBQ. The local tavernas are very good and very reasonably priced. The lovely beach is a stone's throw. We ventured to the north west for our last two nights to see friends who have retired to Crete but I think Makry-Gialos and Villea Village have won our hearts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The setting and service are great. The garden around which the rooms are set is tranquil, olive trees providing shade with a beautiful collection of flora and a couple of historical features. The hotel is 200 yards from a beautiful sandy beach very safe for children.The area is quiet but we found plenty to fill 2 weeks including historical sites, fine beaches and excellent cretan and international cuisine. However the real delight was the wonderful resort staff. The reception and bar is spacious and was always a welcoming and fun place to be and this extended to the pool area. The food available at breakfast and throughout the day was fresh and beautifully prepared. In addition the resort offered evening events including a barbecue and wine tasting providing opportunities to share experiences with other guests.Vassilis shared much of his extensive knowledge with us when designing our excursions enabling us to experience so much more. We had a studio which was spacious and cool in May. The basic kitchen was perfect for light meals and the beds comfortable. Just right for us as we were out and about.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road might be a little noisier at peak periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Villea Village has small aprtments set around pretty gardens with a great pool. I've just come back from a holiday walking in the mountains and staying each night here. We were just out of season, so the pool bar and some of the activities weren't in operation - but the experience was terrific. Vassilis, our host, is a mine of information about food, wine, the countryside - and whatever is going on. The whole team made us feel very welcome, part of an interesting and knowledgeable family. The service was wonderful. A great place for singles, couples or families.

I was travelling without my partner for the first time but never felt out of things. The area is very beautiful. It's a small resort and retains the sense of a real, working community. The greenhouses, olive groves, vineyards - and of course the sea - provide great fresh produce. The walking is spectacular. And the charming harbour and the restaurants and two beaches are there for chilling out.

All this and a music festival in June. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnieWard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford,MA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked a week via our timeshare company at Villea Village. Crete was the first Greek Island that we've visited and it proved to be a great choice. Makri Gialos is a sea side town in the less touristed southeastern corner of Crete. I have to admit,when we arrived I did wonder what we were going to do to fill a week in this quiet area. No worries on that front. The impressively knowledgeable manager, Vassilis, was always ready to sit down and chart out a driving route, suggest evocative ruins to explore, and always had a spot-on suggestion for an excellent stop for lunch. Nikkos, who staffed the bar and also the front desk was extremely welcoming and hospitable.

The week flew by and we plan to return! The studio unit that we stayed in was well designed and comfortable. There were single twin beds-- but also a comfortable seating area and a kitchen (hot plate, refrigerator, kettle). The kitchen was not really equipped for cooking ambitious meals but was fine for light meals and salads. The hotel offers various activities at night, quiz nights or game nights which you are not pressured to join but which are fun. There is a lovely pool and a convivial bar. The hotel is within easy walk of numerous tavernas and other good places for lunch or dinner. If you like to hike, explore hill towns and seaside villages, visit Minoan ruins and also hit the beach, this is a place to consider. The village has bakeries, small markets and a good butcher. A great base for a lovely stay exploring an island that is very rewarding to explore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very relaxing, perfect for a young girl travelling alone, couples or for business. Mary and Vasilis are excellent people and I would stay there again. I also loved that there were always events going on; bingo nights, and walks to the gorge were fun and memorable! I highly recommend going towards the end of October, when they make their year supply of Raki; I got to go attend at least 3 parties, and was fed all kinds of wonderful food, was invited to dance and hear traditional Greek music! Also this place has a pool and they are 5 minutes away from the beach--it was a perfect way to end my holiday in Greece!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have lovely murals in the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktcoxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've been holidaying in Makry Gialos for years, but this is the first time we've stayed at Villea Village. VV has (or certainly used to have) the only swimming pool in the village, so we've visited the complex every year to use the pool, do a bit of sand-free sun worshipping, and enjoy the delights of 'Fisherman Jack's Pool Bar'. This year we were able to take three weeks holiday and decided to try VV as our base. Good decision! Sue and Vasilis run the place magnificently, with help from Nikos, Evva, Krissoula and Niko - please pardon spelling and I aplogise to those whose names I just didn't find out.
VV is a great place to stay. We were travelling with our Mothers, so we took 3 rooms. The Mums had rooms on the ground floor, facing a beautifully maintained and lusciously green garden. We had an upstairs room with a wonderful balcony and sea view. All three rooms were faultless. Bins were emptied every day, beds made/changed frequently and nothing was too much trouble (extra pillows, etc.). Breakfast was available every morning on the balcony overlooking the pool (continental or cooked) and was very reasonably priced. Krissoula provides the breakfast service and then opens the pool bar at around 11 am and just doesn't stop until she leaves late afternoon. Whatever she gets paid, it's not enough!
The pool is lovely. A large pool, nothing fancy, but it's clear, clean and meticulously maintained. A real pleasure to swim in. It is surrounded by mature olive trees which provide a wonderful dappled shade to laze under, and relaxation is not disturbed by any loud music.
If you want to know about wines, then Vasilis is the man to ask. He is approachable and extremely knowledgeable. If you are considering a day out travelling, then Vasilis will be able to suggest an alternative route, taking in an ancient ruin or olive tree, or just an interesting mountain village to visit.
VV organises a pub quiz, a bring-your-own BBQ, wine tasing, Pefki gorge walks and Krisoula will show you how to make proper tsatsiki!
If you are considering a stay in south-east Crete, consider Makry Gialos. And if you decide to stay in Makry Gialos, then you should seriously consider staying at Villea Village.
Thanks Sue, Vasilis and everyone! We will be coming back!!

Room Tip: Rooms around the garden are quieter. Rooms with sea view look across the 'main' road throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pea-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makry-Gialos
40.0 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
85.0 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#6 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Belissario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
Sentido Mikri Poli Crete
#1 of 3 in Makry-Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afroditi Apartments
Afroditi Apartments
#11 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmira Apartments
Palmira Apartments
#13 of 34 in Makry-Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villea Village Resort

Property: Villea Village Resort
Address: | Sitia, Makry-Gialos, Crete 72055, Greece (Formerly Royal Villea Village)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Makry-Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villea Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villea Village is located on the South Eastern coast of Crete, where you will find still Authentic Crete.... The small resort is built around an olive grove, each apartment with its own patio or balcony overlooking the gardens or the mountain backdrop. Lie around the large pool shaded by olive treesor walk 50 meters to the beach, crystal clear waters. The fishing village with seaside tavernas and drink establishments serve famed local cuisine. Gorges for hiking, architectural sites, wineries and local mountain villages, along with stunning day trips and adventures await you or you can simply lie by the pool or simply spend time watching the local craftsmen and fishermen ply their trade. Hear Cretan music, learn Cretan dancing, drink Cretan wines and local spirits, have a go at quiz night, enjoy poolside bar b ques or do nothing at all. This small resort is run family style with most staff giving 15 plus years of Cretan hospitality and welcome back guests as once is never enough!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villea Village Hotel Makry-Gialos
Villea Village Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing