We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My happy vacation in ALBERGO MACCOTTA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Maccotta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Maccotta
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Trapani
Tampere, Finland
1 review
“My happy vacation in ALBERGO MACCOTTA”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Ludmilla Perepiolkina, Doctor of Philosophiy, Finland
My vacation in Trapani, Sicily was great. This is thanks to my stay at the hotel Albergo Maccotta.During the three weeks, which I spent there, everything was perfect: excellent service and courtesy of owner and staff, convenience and clean rooms (thoroughly cleaned every day!). Pleasant, warm, home-styled afternoon wine tasting and dinner at the end of the summer by owners.
Additionally, the ideal location of Albergo Maccotta in the beautiful historic center of Trapani.
I will definitely recommend this good hotel to my family and friends and will try to return here.
It is strange that this good hotel does not yet have three stars. It definitely deserves them!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludmilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    83
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
58
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked this hotel at the last minute after phoning several other booked-out hotels, as it appeared in the Italian Michelin hotel guide.

If you have to stay at Trapani, (and I say 'have to', as despite the historic centre, Trapani is a touristic city which lacks the culture of other Sicilian towns), I think you can do better for a similar price.

Once we found it, the location of the hotel was excellent, as it is in the heart of the historic centre. The hotel has alot of potential but unfortunately, the younger staff seemed 'disinterested'. The room was very basic and generally clean, although based on the description on booking.com, we were expecting much more.

I do speak Italian, but found the younger staff unhelpful, unless we persisted. The toilet seat in our room was broken and it took some convincing on my behalf to get them to have a look at the seat. They then promised that it would be fixed that day, but nothing was ever done about it. The information in the hotel regarding the funivia to Enrico was outdated, and so we turned up at the funivia station (based on the timetable in the hotel), only to find that we had a 3 hour wait.

In short, this hotel is fine and with more engaged staff and repairs, has the potential to be a lovely hotel. I do however, think there are better places to stay in Sicily. If you do happen to find yourself at Trapani, I would recommend feeding of the tourism in this place and staying in a B&B or nicer hotel, as you will get more for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Nice little hotel in the city center. It would be very good but the staff is not nice at all and to have breakfast you have to pay, even if on the reservation it seemed included.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trapani
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was a guest at this hotel for 2 weeks and had a very nice stay. The staff was very friendly and although we didn't speak the same language we seemed to communicate quite well. During my stay they implemented an new breakfast service and had a bar type operation open afternoon/early evening. The breakfast was not huge or fancy but adequate for my needs. The only complaint I had was my room was on the corner of a busy courtyard and was extremely loud at night. But hey that can happen anywhere, certainly not the hotel's fault!

The location was great as I was able to stroll around the central area of the city, walk to the Thursday market and catch public transportation and boats to get to the islands or wherever else I wanted to go. Again, if you only speak English you could be at a disadvantage but get your translator out and you will be just fine!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank AK774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our room was an adequately sized on a corner. As a consequence it was very noisy from the Piazza (pizza shop opposite), especially around 0430 when the street sweeper went past!
Beds were comfortable and room clean.TV, air con, Wi Fi (hard to get at times) included. No breakfast.
Bathroom was a very odd triangular shape with a very small shower recess..a larger sized person would have trouble getting into it.
The toilet seat hinges were broken..a little dangerous...and I suspect it had been like that for some time. We reported it to the front desk who said it would be fixed the next morning (wasn't, just as we thought!)
Front desk staff spoke very little English ..if any..which I suppose is not surprising seeing the bulk of tourists are from the mainland. My daughter speaks fluent Italian, and they were very offhand to her, and provided very little helpful information about anything, especially how to get to the hilltop town Erice..a main tourist attraction. Well worth the hassle of a visit.
The hotel is situated in the old area, about a 15 min walk from the train station (dont look at train timetables, they are wrong..ask the staff) Buses leave from around there also. The Port and a "beach" area shortish walk away.
Old Trapani is very pretty when lit up at night, but generally we were unimpressed with the town and probably would not stay at this accom or in Trapani again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Hotel staff extremely unhelpful, bordering on rude to non Italian speaking people. No help available
at front desk regarding sight seeing options or with restaurants nearby. Wi Fi reception in rooms is bordering on nonexistent. Bathroom is tiny, with a water purification system that regularly makes wierd noises. The bed is great for a sound night sleep. Good location in heart of old town.

Room Tip: I don't think this is possible, the place is like a rabbit warren!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthanddavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trapani hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.1 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
0.1 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#2 of 19 in Trapani
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abita Appartamenti
Abita Appartamenti
#15 of 19 in Trapani
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ai Lumi
Ai Lumi
#10 of 19 in Trapani
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Maccotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Maccotta

Property: Albergo Maccotta
Address: Via Argentieri 4, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Maccotta 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Maccotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Maccotta Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing