We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, poor service.”
Review of Albergo Maccotta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Maccotta
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel is great in location, looks-wise. Breakfast very simple, but had the best crossaints I've ever eaten. Service was bad. One of the girls was very unfriendly and even rude. Another was just stupid and couldn't stop breaching inside my room every morning. If I'm not opening doesn't it mean I want to sleep???

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glimmerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Maccotta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Sat Nav does have difficulty finding it because it is up a pedestrianised side street. Step out of the hotel, turn left and within a hundred yards you are in the main corso, ready to take part in the evening passagiata.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhylMelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The comfort in room was good, the cleaning was fine both in bedroom and bathroom. The service was good, but there was some language problem.
The staff did not speak so much English and we don´t speak Italian.
The location of the hotel, superb, in the Old Town, near to restaurants and not so far from beach.


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is nice both in common areas and in the rooms.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located in the historical center, convenient to enjoy walks in the center and easy to reach from the port.
It is quite difficult to find parking.
Near the hotel there are so many good places for eating.
I have recommended the hotel to my friends and they have also confirmed my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerio_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is a great place! Room was clean, reasonably quiet, and the price was great. Staff is friendly and helpful. B&Bs are plentiful in Trapani and Marsala (at least in the off-season), but this was--based on my experience over eight days--a decidedly above-average place to stay.

Room Tip: There's an open mini-courtyard and you might want to back away from the front / office for noise...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is a nice little hotel, right in the atmospheric centre of old Trapani, Again we were first allocated a room with double bed, in spite of booking twin beds. But we were quickly moved to another room which was perfectly satisfactory. The bathroom was small but everything worked. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was quite basic but adequate and cheap. Staff were generally helpful but incorrect information about buses nearly made us miss our flight home. Obviously the timetables change on !st October, but the hotel staff don't know about this. By the time we realised that our 7.45 a.m. bus was not coming, the only way to get to Palermo airport in time was by taxi - €120! Still, we enjoyed our stay and I would go back to Albergo Maccotta for its convenient location and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Room: It was an average room, but didn't seem very clean. There was a worn out chair that had the stuffing coming out of it and it looked dirty and that's where they put the towels - right on top of that dirty falling apart seat. I was disgusted.

Cleanliness: I would rate cleanliness Poor

Location: Not far from the port, and near the shopping area.

Review: The bathroom had not even been cleaned. There was a used soap in the soap dish in the shower and it didn't look like they had cleaned the bathroom after the last person who used the room. Also, it was extremely noisy because of the noise from the street that went into the early hours of the morning, so it was hard to sleep with all the noise. The water did not drain from the shower because it must have been clogged with hair.

Value for Money: I would rate it 1 out of 5, extremely poor on value for money. I later found an apartment for 10 euros more and it was clean and modern and far better than this place. No sense spending money in this run down place when you can find much better.

Overall Experience: I would rate it Poor.

Satisfaction Rating: Poor

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travel_beacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
0.3 mi away
Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 18 in Trapani
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 18 in Trapani
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#3 of 18 in Trapani
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
BADIA NUOVA residence
BADIA NUOVA residence
#2 of 18 in Trapani
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Maccotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Maccotta

Address: Via Argentieri 4, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Price Range: £50 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Maccotta 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Maccotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Maccotta Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing