We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality”
Review of B&B La Veranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B La Veranda
Ranked #25 of 178 Trapani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

La Veranda is in a 20th-century building with an old-world feel. The room is large and comfortable, quiet, well-furnished and with everything we needed. The WiFi signal was good. As another review noted, you walk out of the bedroom into a short corridor to get to the bathroom, but the corridor is closed off from the rest of the place by a door, so it's very private. Free parking was available on the street right outside the B&B. What makes this place a gem is the host, Mino, who seems to manage the B&B for his parents. I speak Italian, so it was a pleasure to hear about his grandfather building the place, the business of running a B&B, the town & province of Trapani, and lots of other things. Mino drove us around so we could see the sights of the town, then dropped us off so we could explore the pedestrians-only historic center. He gave us a map and repeated directions as well as instructions to call him if we needed a ride back to the B&B. We decided to go to a restaurant he had recommended near the B&B, which was a great experience. In the morning, Mino had set out a feast for breakfast, including both sweet and savory foods and freshly squeezed juice from oranges he had just picked from a friend's tree. Mino made sure we had information about what to see on our way to our next stop, where to eat, where to get the best oranges, and how to get out of town and back to the highway. He even helped us put water into the windshield washer tank, which the rental company had neglected to do when we got the car. This is really a great place to stay in an area filled with interesting things to see and do.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for five nights in October while we were exploring the area. Mino is a great host, non-intrusive but delighted to help with advice and restaurant recommendations. The house is a home. Our room and bathroom were large and quiet. The B&B is just outside the old city, which was perfect for us. It felt like living in a community, with easy access to local restaurants and shops. Breakfast was delicious and huge - enough for lunch on our excursion days.

Mino is working on his English but we're working on our Italian. Communication was not a problem, in fact, Mino was good at anticipating our needs before we asked.

Highly recommended as a base when you're in Trapani.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 359kateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was my favourite B&B out of five I stayed in. For €30 pppn in late Sept, we had a lovely room with high ceilings and good bathroom. The owner, who runs the B&B with his grandfather, serves a good breakfast of either sweet cakes and cornetti (filled croissants typical of the area) or savoury food such as fresh filled foccaccia. We stayed two nights and on one morning had both savoury and sweet breakfast on the table and two good cups of cafe latte each.
It is about a mile from the rail and bus stations. We were offered help on tourism details and the owner gave us a lift to the station with our luggage on the last morning. Altogether a lovely experience of staying with local people,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkingBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I decided to book this B&B because of perfect reviews in Tripadvisor. Booking was done by e-mail very simply in excellent english. When I called to clarify the time of arrival, it was not possible to understand each other. Our navigation system could not find the street, I asked passers-by for help - to speak with B&B owner by phone in italian. Our room was big and really nice - with double bed and extra bed, but no fridge (necessary in August..)., bathroom very big and spacious, BUT NOT CONNECTED with the bedroom. It means, that from bedroom to the bathroom you have to go through a common corridor. Because of vacation period restaurants near B&B are closed, each evening we went to the city centre - it's really not so close; to the port is about 40 minutes by foot. Thanks for Mino - when I tried to ask about possibility to cach bus to the port, he took us by car, he ordered for us taxi to the airport - "asking" was done by drawing signs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaivaRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The place is really nice, big rooms with all the facilities, also free bycicles for the guests. The owner was really helpful with us, he gave us nice suggestions on restaurants and places to go. He prepared a really good breakfast (cornetti con ricotta!) and also gave us a lift to the port early in the morning. On of the best b&b ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergentpollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stay with my family in this B&B for a week and it was a fantastic period for us. The room was clean and very cosy.
The owner is very friendly and heplful. He gives us as much informations as we want. He also permits us to make use of his fridge. Thanks a lot Mino, if we will come back to Sicily we definitely want to stay in your B&B.
Gosia, Grazyna, Waldek, Marian

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma_g0rzata_M1841477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Situated about 30mins walk between the port of Trapani and Erice, this B&B is a fantastic find. We arrived late at night, and the owner, Mino, kindly collected us from the bus stop. Our lovely high ceilinged room(actually more like an apartment) was spacious, very clean and came fully equipped with a kitchen, fridge and en suite bathroom.

Mino is a really kind person and a fantastic host. He is a great source of knowledge on where to eat and what to see and very helpful at checking public transport information (not always the easiest to negotiate in Sicily!)

Breakfast is a sweet treat of delicate pastries from the local pasticceria, fresh fruit, slices of salami and prosciutto and a superb selection of home-made jams, including lemon, orange & cinnamon and pineapple. In addition, Mino's mother makes a delicious tart called crostata, bursting with berries!

We only intended staying 3 nights here but loved it so much that decided to return for an extra two. The locality is interesting in itself - a warren of side streets with independent shops whose owners always seemed ready with a smile and keen to chat. It has a real sense of community, with lots of old people sitting outside chatting and children playing. Despite this, street noise isn't an issue late at night and we slept very well.

Unusually for a B&B, our room was cleaned and the bed made up every day - something we appreciated, as we did a lot of walking and usually returned back early evening. Also, little touches like complimentary bottles of water left in the fridge (and maps left out for perusal) were great extras.

There's a lot to see and do in the area of Trapani and the apartment is a great base from which to explore. Don't miss the churches in Trapani's old town, the azure waters of the Egadi islands and the mysterious medieval town of Erice (well worth the cable car trip alone, for its wonderful views over the bay.)

On our day of departure, Mino offered to drive us to the airport and en route, gave us a mini tour of the surrounding Saline - the salt marshes outside Trapani. When we tried to offer him payment, he graciously refused (even though the airport is about 10 miles away!)

Although Mino doesn't speak a lot of English, he still managed to convey warmth and generosity. For 50€ a night, it is exceptional value for money and a true taste of Sicilian hospitality. Molte grazie Mino!

Room Tip: We slept on the ground floor which is like an apartment, complete with kitchen, fridge and living ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisyfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trapani hotels
7.0 mi away
I Giardini di Elencosta
0.3 mi away
B&B La Casa di Paola
B&B La Casa di Paola
#12 of 178 in Trapani
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrazze Villanova Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B Piazza Vittorio
B&B Piazza Vittorio
#7 of 178 in Trapani
261 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Bianco Sale
B&B Bianco Sale
#16 of 178 in Trapani
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belle Epoque Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Veranda

Address: Via del Mandorlo 13, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Trapani
Price Range: £40 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B La Veranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Veranda Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing