We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence La Gancia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Gancia
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had the junior suite room 401 with a gorgeous terrace overlooking the sea. The room was lovely - really modern and could sleep 4 - 2 on a sofa bed in an adjoining room. The rooftop bar is fabulous for wine o'clock and also where breakfast is served. The nibbles provided with the drinks were sometimes almost a meal in themselves - one night we had a free tasting plate with lots of Sicilian specialities. The breakfast buffet was lovely and one of the best we had during our 2 week stay in Sicily. Trapani is a beautiful town and there is a nice walk along the sea and many good restaurants. It is also close to Erice - a beatiful mountain village which is a must see. And last but not least the staff were lovely. Parking is easy - paid parking just on the street outside the hotel, but beware there are parking police patroilling the street constantly until 23.00 when it is free parking until the next morning. Do not be a minute late or you will get a fine. You will not regret choosing this hotel - it is truly fabulous in every way!

Room Tip: Room 401 is definitely the best location, but I imagine any of the rooms will be fine and it is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia8134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    156
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
332
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I wish they had this hotel in every place we stayed! The room and bathroom were large, with kitchen if you want to use it. Great customer service, quiet room, terrific roof top bar for breakfast and night time drinks. Best breakfast on our three week trip. At night you can get a drink and very generous "nibbles" - the view can't be beat and they light lanterns at night. This is the best location in town after touring the town for four days. Wondering city and hotel to base in to explore the region. Highly recommend!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank staceytann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My first time in Trapani and this hotel was excellent. I stayed a week and enjoyed every day there. Service was efficient and very friendly.
Breakfast had a wide range of fresh offerings and the coffee was as good as it gets.
Breakfast is taken on the roof terrace which doubles as a bar in the evening. Wonderful views of the sea. Easy walking distance of all that one is likely to visit.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, N.Y.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our bright room had a view of the former fish market and a bit of the sea. It was nice to walk along the sea from the hotel. Really, we could reach almost everything in the city on foot. As the budget carriers go to Trapani (as opposed to Palermo), it's good to have a nice option for staying in the city. Trapani also has ferries out to nearby islands. Re: having a car--there was parking on the street, and there did not seem to be security issues. The food is Sicitly is excellent!

Our bed was quite firm, but comfortable, and there was one burner and a microwave in the room, a very nice touch. The room was of a good size. This is a family-run hotel; there isn't a lot of staff, but the owners are friendly and want you to be happy there. We enjoyed the upstairs breakfast area, which seemed also to attract some businessmen from the area. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view. The street in front of the sea is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rgeandGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Arrived at La Gancia in the early evening and was very impressed with the entire hotel. The front office staff was very pleasant and the lobby warm / welcoming.

The staff showed me to my room and it was a) bigger than expected; b) very clean; and c) equipped with a lovely bathroom. It had a good sized table in the middle of the room which worked out well, as well as a dock for my iPhone. The bed was quite nice, though probably the only area that needed improvement.

For dinner I simply walked out the front door and walked two blocks before stumbling onto a fantastic dining zone filled with good smells and tasty food. Had a bottle of wine with dinner then walked along seawall where 100s of locals were out enjoying the evening.

Slept like a rock once I got back and had an easy checkout the next day. I'm sure there could be a better hotel in Trapani, but I wouldn't know how it could top La Gancia's facilities and (more importantly) location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleEastBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,545 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

La Gancia is an extremely 'special' hotel in Trapani and we have recently stayed there for the third time. It is perfectly located overlooking the sea by the old fish market and it is such a pleasure to be able to stroll out along the promenade as the sun rises and sets. This area of Trapani has a lovely atmosphere and is within easy walking distance of numerous cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is a magnificently restored building which is tastefully decorated and incorporates original features into the successful contemporary architecture. The breakfast room on the top floor has wonderful views over the bay. There is a terrace for eating the extremely good Sicilian breakfast and having evening drinks. Rooms are immaculately clean and those on the upper floors have sea views. There is a fitness room, reading area and terrace for sun lounging. The staff in this hotel are part of its attraction - they are exceptionally helpful in every respect and will happily advise on restaurants, travel and all aspects of the locality. We look forward to returning once again.

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view it is worth paying the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent 4 nights here with our toddler...she got to turn 3 in Sicily! Location is great for day tripping on the west coast. San Vito lo Capo one day, ruins at Salineunte the next, and last but not least...Favignana. Lots of great restaurants, bars and shopping right out the door. All of the staff were helpful and friendly...especially Ivana who works the bar at breakfast and in the evening. Breakfast spread was great for us...don't pass on the pistachio croissants...AMAZING! Only suggestions to them would be to get a more mild scented cleaner...way too strong, and to pay more attention to the deep cleaning of the bathrooms...dirty mildewy grout and piping. I would there again for sure...401 was amazing with spectacular views from the large terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrzgrl-inla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapani
0.1 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#2 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
151.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
163.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 74 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
83.2 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Gancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Gancia

Property: Residence La Gancia
Address: Piazza Mercato del Pesce, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trapani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence La Gancia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence La Gancia is in the town of Trapani on Sicily's north coast. It offers Wi-Fi and a roof terrace with garden with panoramic views over the town and the bay.La Gancia is decorated in mixture of traditional Sicilian and modern styles, with colourful mosaic walls. Rooms are air conditioned and have private bathrooms and flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence La Gancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Gancia Hotel Trapani
Residence La Gancia Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing