We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a beautiful location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence La Gancia
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne AU
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a beautiful location...”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

They've done a nice job restoring this historic building into a boutique hotel overlooking the water. The room was very comfortable and luxurious and there was even a gym downstairs. You'd be hard-pressed to find a nicer hotel in Trapani...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    172
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
108
356
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Setauket, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here two nights on our tour of Sicily. It was the best of the six hotels we stayed at--and most were very good. Our fourth floor room had an outside deck overlooking the harbor, a separate kitchen area with appliances, a sitting are as well as a VERY comfortable bed in a separate, spacious bedroom. We we're only steps from the breakfast area with its typical sumptuous Italian breakfasts and late afternoon happy hour. The location is excellent--just steps from the old town and midway between Erice and Mozia--two major area sights. It's also near the Donnafugata winery which offers tours and the best wine in Sicily.

Room Tip: As k for the top, fourth floor room with deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just loved this accomodation on our recent tSicilian holiday. Standout of all places we stayed. Perfect location in a great city. Comfy bed and decent bathroom that could have been a bit cleaner in the shower grout. Only minus I would give this place. Breakfast good and great staff serving you. Evening aperitif was a bonus. Great front desk staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at La Gancia last week for my first visit to Trapani and could not have been more impressed. The room was a good size with a great view of the sea. Fantastic rainfall shower in the bathroom. Staff were really friendly too. The roof-top terrace was great for breakfast and perfect for evening drinks watching the sun go down. So many great places to eat within 5 minutes or so on foot - so nice not to need a car! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My second stay here and it remains one of the best hotels I know. Well decorated,absolutely clean and well maintained.
Breakfast on the roof terrace is fantastic,everything is first class,including the coffee.
The terrace also doubles as a bar in the evening,amazing views.
The service is very friendly and helpful. I am running out of superlatives!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family of three spent 4 nights at La Residence Gancia. Our room has a partial view of the water and we especially enjoyed listening to the waves and birds outside. Everything is excellent about the hotel - our bathroom is spacious, the interior is tastefully decorated and clean, the breakfast is scrumptious, the upstairs terrace and breakfast room very pleasant, and the library area next to the fitness room comfortable. We also appreciate the staff who gave us good recommendations on restaurants and places to visit in Trapani.

In particular, we find the management very helpful and reasonable when handling a difficult situation. When we arrived at the hotel, we parked along the water as per instructions from the hotel staff. The next morning, there was a sporting event for which the police towed away all cars parked along the water. A few of the guests at the hotel found their cars gone in the morning! We encountered this surprise because the hotel did not properly inform us about parking. Management graciously covered the charges we incurred (approx. Euro 75 for tow and police fees) and they earned a lot of goodwill from us. We strongly recommend La Gancia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeUppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in la Gancia in April. On arrival we were immediately impressed by the attentive customer service. The room was large spacious and spotlessly clean. The location was excellent convenient for beac, sea and the town. Staff were courteous and helpful. Alessia who is in charge of the terrace bar is very nice and makes the customer most welcome.
We will definitely go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxtravelanddine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.1 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#2 of 18 in Trapani
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#3 of 18 in Trapani
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 18 in Trapani
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ai Lumi
Ai Lumi
#7 of 18 in Trapani
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#8 of 18 in Trapani
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Gancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Gancia

Property: Residence La Gancia
Address: Piazza Mercato del Pesce, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence La Gancia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence La Gancia is in the town of Trapani on Sicily's north coast. It offers Wi-Fi and a roof terrace with garden with panoramic views over the town and the bay.La Gancia is decorated in mixture of traditional Sicilian and modern styles, with colourful mosaic walls. Rooms are air conditioned and have private bathrooms and flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence La Gancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Gancia Hotel Trapani
Residence La Gancia Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing