We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat when visiting Trapani old town”

Osteria I Vitelloni
Ranked #5 of 392 Restaurants in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$67
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in a historic building at number 67 in Corso Vittorio Emanuele Trapani city.The kitchen serves traditional Sicilian dishes and specialties of their own creation made with care and professionalism with a touch of class from the best ingredients available.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to eat when visiting Trapani old town”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The restaurant is in the center of old town.

The service is very friendly.

Food is fresh and very tasty.
I had tuna steak - I have never tasted so good tuna in my life!
I regret not trying the fish of the day though - the waiter shows you fish caught this morning and you decide which one you want to eat.

Prices are higher than moderate.
And you pay extra for water and bread too.

But after all - It was definitely worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krzysiek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    302
    77
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
256 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good tourist menu and an even better a la carte!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant sits right in the centre of trapani on the main street. It has a nice outdoor seating area and v clean modern bathroom.

3 of us had the tourist lunch time menu which was very good value for 10eur each. This included pasta with trapanese pesto and pork for the main. Sides were extra but service and water was included. The pasta was good but the pesto was more of a sauce than a pesto. The fourth person in our group had oysters and Irish steak. The oysters were amazing. The steak was good too. The caprese salad was very nicely presented.

Overall the service was very good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pure disappointment”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place has a good location but the food was disappointing. We chose the baby octopus salad and the octopus was just bad, hard, impossible to chew. Some of the other appetizers were OK, but not memorably good.
The service was OK, English however very poor.
Fish of the day was grilled without any salt, herbs, anything, just plain fish. The side salad was topped with canned corn and the radish was not fresh, we had to give it back to the cook and did not pay for it.
There are definitely better places to eat in Trapani.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinaRusnakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
417 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Nice steak dinner as a change...”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After two weeks of wildly different levels of food & service in Rome, Amalfi, and across Sicily, I Vitelloni was nice: they create a private feeling with planters and screens on the pedestrian walkway and our basic meal was well prepared & efficiently served. The three of us had two insalata mixtas, three steaks with balsamic dressing, two side orders of potatoes, a liter of wine, 1.5 litros of water, a cafe normale and a cafe Americano: side salads were generous, roasted potatoes & steaks well prepared (mine truly medium rare!) a simple portion of bread, good coffee - total for the three of us was 58€ including 2€ per person cover: good value for a nice evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Good basic italian food and friendly staff. Menu for 10/12€ is best value for money! Nicely situated on the main pedestrial street in the old Trapani

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHove_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria I Vitelloni also viewed

Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Osteria I Vitelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing