We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Storm Eklund Sweden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cielo Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cielo Mare
Ranked #14 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Trapani, Italy
1 review
“Storm Eklund Sweden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Late arrival in the middle of a very rainy night was not a problem - the very friendly Enzo and Mariagloria were there waiting for us! We stayed one week. Perfect location in the middle of the old town with the Mediterranean sea just outside our door, Wonderful apartment, first floor kitchen very well equipped, bedroom and bathroom - second floor living room with TV and all the channels you need were there. Very clean and tidy. We can recommend this place if you go to Trapani! We will for sure come back to Cielomare!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunilla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    21
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
65
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

After reading all the fantastic reviews about Cielomare, I can't believe that I was staying in the same group of apartments. We struggled to find anything 'superior' about it, and I was in tears on the first night. Our home looks out at mountains, a castle, and the sea, so specific views (as long as they are not nasty) are of no particular interest, but the standard of the apartment is!
I will start with the positive - there are some!
The sheets and towels were clean, the bathroom was reasonable, the staff all very pleasant, and there was a lovely cafe nearby that we went to for breakfast every morning. Although the immediate area is a little down at heel, it is very conveniant for everywhere and we felt very safe and we liked the Trapani area very much.
That's where it stops being good.
The apartment was extremely basic - no charm at all! A very odd arrangement of the bed in a box on stilts (sort of) in the middle of the room. You seemed to walk round walls all the time - made it seem very small. No dining table, 4 rings, a sink and a fridge in the kitchen ( good job I wasn't cooking). Rather decrepit (sorry antique) wardrobe and bedside cabinets, and the hardest bed I have ever tried to sleep on! To add to that, the apartment was not clean ( to be fair they did come and clean again the next day), and the air was full of plaster dust - my husband has a lung problem and this was a worry. Next to the bed was a translucent window with no shutter, consequently we were bathed in light from an outside light every night, which again made it difficult to sleep. We sorted that one out with the Sunday Times and some masking tape from a nearby shop.
Somehow, we still managed to enjoy our holiday, but we were glad to get back to our own bed!!!

Room Tip: There must be some good ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Recanati, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Cielomare for a night over the Easter holidays. We had the fantastic Annibale apartment with a private terrace overlooking the sea, although the other apartments seem equally as nice just without the terrace. The apartment is on two levels with the kitchen/dining area and terrace above and the bedroom and bathroom below. It was very clean, fully equipped, and very nicely decorated. The view is amazing and there is nothing quite like falling asleep to the sound of the waves! It is located in the heart of historical Trapani. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back the next time we visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridisempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valletta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed in Cielomare in the beginning of February with three friends. Cielomare is situated in the historical center of Trapani with walking distance to all amenities especially a lovely baker just round the corner whose delicious cornetti are so tasty for breakfast.
Although the street is very narrow and the place has a lot of stairs (we where in the top apartment named Asdrubale) It was still worth the climb as the view from the terrace was fantastic. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Trapani. Thanks to Enzo and his staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in Trapani at Cielomare for a long weekend end of November. The apartment we had (Annibale) was a mix of typical Sicilian and modern style with a touch of cosines everywhere. The sink in the kitchen is made of stone and there are typical Sicilian tiles preserved where possible. The kitchen is small but it has all you need. We never had breakfast at the Bar, it would have been a waste not to jump to the nearest pasticceria and have cassatine and cannoli on the terrace of the apartment enjoying the sound of the waves coming to the shore 50 meters right under. The apartment was on two floors what makes it even more lovely. I don't know how best to describe the stunning view on the gulf of Trapani and Monte Erice from the large terrace. The bedroom was enjoying the same view. The bathroom was smallish but with a huge shower even for two. I don't believe any other touristic accommodation has this privileged view and position at the same time. All the commodities were there: TV with Sky, free wifi internet (router in the room) with a good signal, air conditioning hot and cold, bicycles are free of charge, there was cloths and detergent for the kitchen, clothes stand for drying towels on the terrace and if you stay more than 3 nights bed sheets and towels are included. There are some steep stairs to come to the apartment but they are all worth it - your bags and suitcases will be taken care of by the staff. I must say the expectations were high but we were extremely positively surprised about Cielomare. No need to say we were very lucky with the weather as well. To conclude, we felt like home and didn't want to leave. We really loved this place.
As a little tip for the owner (we could see he put a lot of effort in creating the Cielomare residence that's sure) but just a few small remarks would be: a tiny little bit of more cleanness also for the cutlery and a bigger water boiler.
We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: The higher the apartment the better! For couples I would suggest Annibale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshaa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

The room was great and full of character, the view amazing. The bathroom was clean and modern. Located in The old city center, everything nearby. It was awesome that We could use bycicles, that was specially for The renters. The owner and receptionist were very kind, and so helpfull! We had a great time, cielo mare contributed a great deal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Themaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svedala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Though I arrived to the reception in late afternoon, a bit delayed because I've got lost in the backstreets, Mariagloria was waiting patiently, very welcoming and friendly. When I returned the next day to check out some details I got a very personal and useful information about f.e.the terass on the roof, the fish market, restaurants, shops - and trips outside the city; the salt fields, using the free bicycles, the ancient town Erice. I stayed at the studio,right across the port, enjoying the marine sounds from the ferries, the huge cruisers and the scent from the roasted chest nuts in the evening. The studio was spacious, nice and clean, with a very functional, equiped small kitchen - just perfect for a single person.
Though the character was a bit ruff, I did like the the back streets of old Trapani, as an image of just an "ordinary life town" in Sicilia.
I had a really nice stay at Cielomare, catching late summer in Trapani. And even though I made the mistake to leave the balcony doors open the first night, forgetting the mosquitos that bite like crazy I will always remember the very special beat of the trapanese heart...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#2 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
0.1 mi away
Palazzo dei Corsari
Palazzo dei Corsari
#17 of 19 in Trapani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ai Lumi
Ai Lumi
#11 of 19 in Trapani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielo Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielo Mare

Property: Cielo Mare
Address: Via Botteghelle 18-20, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to introduce you to CieloMare, our diffused residence at Trapani, this is constituted by 11 apartments, 8 of them(located on Via Delle Botteghelle) with an exclusive terrace, plus 3 of them located on Corso Vittorio Emanuele, which is the principal street of the storical center. The apartments starts from 16m² to 100m², the furnishings are with a mediterranean style and many apartments will offer to you breathtaking seaview of our splendid mediterranean sea. For more infos you can send an email to our office(mail on the tripadvisor's info), this will reply to you as soon as they can and with the possible best answer that they can give to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Cielo Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cielo Mare Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing