We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Francesca, the Wonder Woman”
Review of Ai Lumi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ai Lumi
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Francesca, the Wonder Woman”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is centrally located on the main pedestrian street. Francesca was helpful in too many ways to enumerate. Lovely breakfasts provided in charming restaurant next door which gave discounts on other meals. We had a suite with full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath for the price of a room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
What should I say? I am WONDERFULLY embarassed. It was a pleasure to have you here. You have been very kind and therefore it comes easier to be helpful....We hope to see you again at Ai Lumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    120
    41
    18
    15
See reviews for
51
152
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely old palazzo with charming courtyard. Steep stairs to upper rooms. We moved down to Room 1 for this reason. Small but perfectly okay. Nice breakfast in characteristic dining room. Francesca in reception very helpful with suggestions for trips. Right at the centre of this delightful town, perfect for strolling about.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiccazzurra, Direttore at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to have you in our house. We really felt sorry that due to the stairs we could not give you a larger accomodation, but we are very please that you appreciated your stay in Trapani. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed and ate in the restaurant unfortunately for only one Night as they were booked out.on our return to Trapani.
Loved the simple apartment accommodation with the host for getting your luggage up the through the very old building.and was greeted with bottles of wine from the families own vineyard.
the food was just great at the the Buffalo Mozzarella just flowing freshness have not tasted as since.
We stayed here in 2010 and found the staff very helpful with help i=us with car hire and planing the holiday, we went on to the islands and Marsala.Sicily is Just wonderful.

Room Tip: go for top floor with street view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rory j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for the kind words. We hope that this would be the first of many trip to Sicily. We would like to know you better and to offer you always our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a nice B&B in the older part of Trapani. The room we had was really a small apartment with a full kitchen. There's a nice courtyard in the middle of the Palazzo. The rooms are on upper floors and this old building has no lift, so people who have difficulty moving their baggage up some stairs should seek assistance. The staff has rigged a useful cargo winch for this problem. The staff were very friendly and the attached restaurant is very good, and provides a discount to guests of the B&B side of the operation

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Anche a me piacciono i posti pieni di atmosfera, ma qui ho trovato solo scomodità e incuria. La mia camera non solo era soffocante (un mezzanino con soffitto basso che raggiungeva una temperatura accettabile solo tenendo al massimo il "pinguino" che, date le dimensioni ridotte del locale, ti investiva in pieno con un getto di aria polare) ma anche infestata dalle zanzare che entravano attraverso gli infissi sconnessi. In più ho dovuto trascinare i bagagli su e giù dalle scale: due rampe per accedere al piano del BB e una ulteriore rampetta per scendere al mezzanino. Un palazzo antico (piuttosto malandato e più appriopriata sede dell'albergo Messina che offre camere con bagno in comune) e un grazioso cortiletto interno pieno di piante non valgono certo tanta scomodità. Ho passato una notte infernale e sono scappata a gambe levate! Dal tenore delle altre recensioni, immagino ci siano camere migliori...


I love Sicily and have roamed about a lot, but have never had such a terrible experience. I spent a horrific night in a stifling small room (low ceiling and ice-cold air from the conditioner directly in my face), fighting mosquitoes that swarmed inside from loose door/window fittings. Plus, there were a number of stairs to go up and down from with luggage: two flights to reach the BB floor and another flight down to my room which apparently was at some intermediate level between first and second floor. I generally like places "with an atmosphere", but am not willing to experience such discomfort for an old building (rather dilapidated- by the way it also hosts a hotel with rooms with a common bathroom ) and a pretty inner courtyard full of plants. Maybe they have nicer rooms...maybe. If you want to give it a try I wish you better luck than mine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paola n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The B&B takes up part of a beautiful old building with a courtyard filled with plants just off the main street of old Trapani.
We received very good information from them before our arrival, I was a little concerned about finding it and parking but when I emailed I got a very prompt and helpful response which explained clearly how to get to the best nearby parking spot (by the harbour). The welcome at reception was very professional and pleasant and we were shown to our room, which was tucked away on the first floor of the palazzo in the corner of the courtyard.
The room was clean and comfortable, with 3 poster bed and good facilities, the bathroom was fine with decent shower. Mini-bar and local wine.
The breakfast was taken in the next door bar/restaurant of the same name and was fine, buffet style (we ate in the restaurant at night too, they offer residents 15% discount, see separate review). The bar is on the historic main street and it's a lovely place to sit and start the day.
I felt it was very good value and a charming place to stay, we were only in Trapani for one night but I would have happily stayed a few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your beautiful comment. We hope to receive you next time for a longer stay. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Ai Lumi is an old medieval Palazzo right in the centre of Trapani. The room was large, more a suite than a single room and obviously had a classical feel. The restaurant was very good with excellent and well presented dishes and a lovely romantic atmosphere. The receptionist was very helpful. It is located right in the centre and the Italians love to stroll in the evening downtown and you feel right in the middle of things.
On the negative side one can say that the reception is only available during the day and on our last day we had to check out early but the flight was in the afternoon. The receptionist kept our luggage for the day but there were no restrooms available when we returned and we had to go to a nearby bar.
I would definitely reccommend it to customers looking for unique classic settings away from concrete and glass structures. But it comes at a price, no escalators or other niceties.

Room Tip: Some rooms are have balconies onto the road. As it's a pedestrian area and there's a wine ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trapani hotels
0.2 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#2 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Residence San Domenico
0.1 mi away
Palazzo dei Corsari
Palazzo dei Corsari
#16 of 19 in Trapani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chiavi di San Francesco Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Lumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Lumi

Property: Ai Lumi
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 71/75, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ai Lumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Lumi Trapani, Sicily
Ai Lumi Hotel Trapani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing