We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Inn and Restaurant
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rosman
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Sunset Motel(Brevard)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Key Falls Inn(Pisgah Forest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
6
6
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
6
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family and I came for dinner and were very, very happy. Their French onion soup is the best we've ever had. The steaks were excellent, the chicken was very good, too, the grilled vegetables were lovely and fresh, and the salads were colorful and full of good things you only usually see at home. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinajennybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was over from England visiting my daughter. Some friends had recommended The Old Red Lion Inn so a party of us booked for Saturday 24 the May. Out of the five steaks we ordered four had to go back as they were overdone and tasteless. The meals were not taken away, just new steaks were cooked for two and the plates from two other customers were taken taken away and returned complete. A few minutes later a slug crawled out from my daughters salad, everyone was immediately put off their food. The proprietor did not come and apologise, the waitress was left to deal with it. There was a small compensation but no apologies. Just one meal was deducted from the bill. Our friends were very embarassed and said they will never go there again! It was a shame as the Inn is in a lovely setting, but this did not compensate for the slug.

Room Tip: We only went for a meal.!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I've known the owner for a long time now and was so excited when he decided to purchase the Inn, as this was his childhood home!

My family and I stay there every time we go home to visit, and I wouldn't have it any other way.

The Red Lion is family/kid friendly, dog friendly, and one of the most awesome places in WNC! The music is always incredible and supports local artists. The food is delicious (including a new menu) and is also supportive of local businesses.

Can't wait to get back home again!

Room Tip: Leave the windows open and sleep to the sound of the stream outside! Amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We know the owner and when we found out he had purchased this property we promised to come to dinner. We were not disappointed. We ate on the deck where you can hear the brook below. Mark Yaxley, a local guitarist, provided very nice music throughout the evening.
They do not have menus. The waitress recited the fare-it's mostly chicken, with one duck and one fish (swordfish) and one beef (filet) when we went. I ordered the duck. It was a bit tough but very tasty-it wasn't tough enough to be bad, but just a tad. The swordfish and beef were quite tasty. The salads were fresh and arranged nicely. I had the onion soup which was quite tasty. The dessert menu was limited, mostly crème type pies and ice-cream or sherbet. Overall a very nice meal. We would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here in May for our 20th anniversary. When we checked in the room they gave us was damp and musty smelling and had mold on the curtains. We asked for a different room and after a 45 minute wait (not sure why since there are only 4 or 5 rooms) they gave us a different room. We changed quickly and went to dinner. Dinner at the inn was actually pretty good with a nice jazz guitarists. We returned to our room and as we got ready for bed we noticed the garbage had never been emptied and contained disgusting toiletries from the previous guest. There were also no lightbulbs in the bathroom and mold was on the bathroom curtains--we had to use a flashlight. As we laid down for bed we looked at the ceiling and there was a damp spot with mold. To make things worse it poured down rain that night and the roof leaked into our room all night. By morning pieces of the ceiling were falling to the floor revealing more mold in the ceiling and water and white mushy ceiling on the floor. (the mattress was also lumpy and old and the bed was slanted)

The next morning at breakfast we told the owner of these problems and he said he would get us another room. We went on a day hike for the afternoon believing we would have a better room. When we returned the "better" room was the first room we were shown with musty carpet and moldy curtains. We told him this was acceptable and wanted a refund. He said he couldn't operate the credit card machine and could only refund us for one nights stay with a check. We had to pack up and find a hotel in Brevard.

As luck would have it we ran into the waitress and hostess (separately) while eating in Brevard. They both said the owner knew the rooms were bad and believed he could "put a fancy bed spread on them and they would be fine".

The bottom line is this inn should not be open. The roof is leaking and the rooms are damp, musty and full of mold. Simply put, this inn is unsanitary. The owner needs to do some major repairs and also learn how to run a b&b. I should have known better when I saw the first room. STAY AWAY

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeckyBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews