We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth a 4 star rating”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #41 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not worth a 4 star rating”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My girlfriend and me stayed there for 9 nights in August 2013. Besides the good location (close to beach, city center and good restaurants) there are no other positive aspects about this hotel.
The room is very small and basic, you have NO FRIDGE (if you want one you have to rent it from the reception desk – and this in a 4 star hotel !!!), no hair dryer nor iron (this you can get for free though after you make once again a trip to the reception) but the worst part is there no form of isolation (acoustic or thermal) for the room, you hear the street as is people are in your balcony and you have to stay with the drapes closed and the air conditioned on all day long!
The towels are synthetic and the shower drape has still the logo with only 3 stars 
The breakfast is also very basic and while you eat you will have the chance to see (and smell) the cleaning of the floor in the nearby bar, the personnel also does not speak English in most of the cases.
There are also no swimming pool nor hotel parking.
Overall a poor display, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: if you have the chance go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crissfrequent_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    57
    38
    12
    19
See reviews for
31
66
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It's a small hotel, but that's what I liked the most. very cosy! :)
The beach is a 30 sec walk! Easy for everybody! And especially for me, because on a holiday I don't like to do anything at all!! Haha

The staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karinbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is at an excelent location, near the beach, in the central part of Lloret de Mar. The terrace on the 6th floor provides an overwhelming view to the central square, the beach and the horizon.
The staff is very professional, I especially liked their effort to speak in foreign langauges. This is most true for the night shift receptioner, who is very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilanBebic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

having had to cut short the holiday at the hotel metropol due to not being able to stand another day there,apart from one member of the reception staff who was dutch i think all the rest were very rude, the restaurant staff were terrible, they were reserving tables for their russian friends and leaning over us to take our plates before we had finished, the food wasnt much better with very little choice and always cold. how it got 4 stars il never know.

Room Tip: if you have to go book a room with a balcony as our allocated room was over looking the bins at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The facilities were basic but clean. The location by the beech is handy. Lloret is an hours train to Barcelona and a short bus to the lovely historic town of Tossa de mar just up the coast and well worth a visit, it has much nicer restaurants.

The breakfast was fairly basic and not exactly full of flavour but you could fill up on it. The breakfast staff were not the friendliest though and had a tendency to clean away your plates if you visited the buffet for a second helping!

The afternoon receptionist was an absolute treat however. Always smiling, polite and full of advice on the local area. She was brilliant.

We visited as a couple in early October 2012 and so didn't pay too much. Would recommend for a nice trip on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBMcMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We just came back from vacation in Lloret! Metropol is a small, cosy hotel, few steps to the beach (!!!), to the main street with all activities, clubs, shops, but it is so silent and peaceful in the hotel (i noticed the main guests are families, so it is not noisy in the hotel)! Very good kitchen, tasty food, kind stuff. Rooms, bathrooms are very clean. Even on the check out day you get a little room for lugages with a shower, so you can stay at the beach till you leave :) (I didnt have it even in a very expensive 5 stars hotel). If you want a hotel in the center of all activities in Lloret, next to beach, but to have a silence at the hotel when you come back to rest - chose Metropol!
Gracias for Metropol stuff!
Regards,
Jurgita, Lithuania

Room Tip: Just notice - there are rooms with balcony and without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is most certainly not a 4 star hotel, more like 2 star. It wouldn't have been a problem if they charged 2 star prices, however they charge 4 star rates, so not worth the money, but this is a general problem with hotels in Lloret de Mal and beach side hotels in Spain. The rooms were clean but very basic, towel were very thin and we were given 1 per person, definately not enough when you take a shower couple of times a day. No beach towels provided. The breakfast is not very nice, very basic and not tasty. If you want an iron, you would have to pick it up from reception yourself as the service does not stretch to a maid bringing it to your room. Overall if you expect to pay 4 star prices but stay in 2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeniaR974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#25 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marsol
Hotel Marsol
#33 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Excelsior
URH Hotel Excelsior
#40 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#15 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Park
Astoria Park
#35 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
#43 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Placa de la Torre, 2, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropol Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing