We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Marta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Marta
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Old School charm, that's what this place is about. It was beautifully done up although had a slightly 80's feel to some of it. That's not a bad thing as it felt likes the way it should have been. The service was good. There are other reviews giving the service a bashing. I thought it was all good, the English speaking was a minor issue if you got past that- they were all really nice and tried hard to please. I think service in a place like this is replicated if you treat the staff with a little respect.
What are my negatives. The cost of the food was considerable and there was no provision or reduction for kids. 55 euro's for a buffet breakfast (which was average) for 2 adults and 2 children, 1 being 1 years old the other 5 was very high. The room service food was not at all good for the price, very different from the main restaurant where the food was very good and could just about justify the prices. I say this owning a restaurant so something I know about.
This did dent the stay somewhat, not to the extent where we came away from it with negative thoughts. The overall stay was lovely, we had an excellent time and would definately come back.

Room Tip: We had the family room, a little more expensive but exceptional views and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    61
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
46
92
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Most of the cyclists first choice as it has the best view of the seven hotels we stopped at. The beach below the hotel is a perfect slice of paradise. The restaurant offers fine dinning at a reasonable cost. The rooms are functional rather than luxuries. The staff are all just a little stale but efficient enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Santa Marta is a very comfortable, quiet hotel in an idyllic location on the doorstep of Lloret De Mar. The location is excellent with fantastic views out over the Med and a lovely beach.
The facilities retain a degree of old fashioned charm but are immaculately clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
global
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at amazing Hotel Santa Marta with our two dogs and we loved it!! Thank you for a great experience:-)) Fantastic location right on the beach...we will miss the superb view of the bay. Hotel has a great gym decent restaurant and friendly staff. Rooms are very comfortable and hotel property is kept in immaculate order...would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tribble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

A great little hotel hidden away on the outskirts of Lloret / Blarnes. The hotel is perfect if you want to escape the crowds and simple relax and chill out in great surroundings.
I found the staff to be excellent - always attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
A few pointers:
- Go with sean view rooms - its worth the extra cost. The views are stunning and its great to sit out on the balcony
- The evening meal is a treat but a little pricey. Remember you are in a five star hotel so it is 5 star prices. However I would recommend at least one night dinning here. The food is of a high standard and the service excellent
- The pool / beach area is great. Towels are provided and there was never any issue with beds or space.
- It is a family location - so expect children / babies
- Visit Blarnes (local side). Its about an hours walk over the hill. We did it in flip flops and enjoyed it but we like walking!
- WiFi is free and great signal even by the pool area
- Sort your transfer out carefully. We got the shuttle from barcelona and it was a little traumatic. They dropped us in Lloret which is a cab ride away. Buses cant get down to the hotel as its on the side of a hill on a winding road
We will definetly visit again and thoroughly enjoyed our time here

Room Tip: Go with Sea view - its worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark468_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I celebrated his 30th bday by spending 3 nights at the Hotel Santa Marta.

We could not have asked for 2 more perfectly beautiful beach/ pool days. The beach, Santa Cristina, is amazing. The water is warm, clear, and safe, as it is a nice protected little cove. There are a couple of awesome little restaurants on either direction down the beach. I recommend a bowl of gazpacho and a glass of white wine as a nice light lunch on the beach. You can also rent lounge chairs and umbrellas if necessary.

The pool was also phenomenal with a beautiful view out over the ocean and ample lounge chairs and umbrellas. The hotel serves drinks, snacks and light lunch options down at the bar.

The fitness room was also great. Had everything we needed to get a good workout on vacation.

My only complaint was that for the price, the annex rooms weren't very nice. The beds were uncomfortable and things were kind of funky... but not bad. It is clear that you pay for the amenities and the setting more than for the room. Also, because we did not have a car, we ended up eating almost all of our meals at the hotel. The food at the hotel is good, but a bit pricey and limited. On our last night we took a cab in to Blanes and ate a crazy dinner at the fish market. It was a nice outing.

I think it's wonderful that Hotel Santa Marta is a few kilometers away from all the craziness of town. It's a perfect little getaway and is so awesome and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mgk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is very nice, I would class it as being old fashioned. The service was ok and the chap that gives you a lift in the buggy to and from the beach if required is friendly.

The beach area is very nice and we particularly enjoyed the large pool.

We were given a free upgrade from the annex to ocean view as the annex was closed during our visit. The annex is as you may or may not expect, totally separate from the hotel which after having stayed there I personally would not have liked.

The food was very limited on the menu, I am not a fancy eater so I found myself eating pollo croquets a lot!

The area of Lloret de Mar is really I would say for young 20 somethings with it very lively nightlife and fast food joints.

I would recommend taking a boat ride to Tossa, it was very quaint, cobbled streets type place with lovely a bakery.

We did enjoy the local water park, it was great fun.

We also took a train ride into Barcelona for the day which was lovely.

I would stay here again for a long weekend type of break as it is fairly near Girona Airport.

Our stay was in 2009 but I still receive greeting cards from the hosts!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LTS1Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.8 mi away
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
#31 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
#10 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alva Park Costa Brava
Alva Park Costa Brava
#25 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#11 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#32 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Acacias Suites & Spa
Hotel Acacias Suites & Spa
#36 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Marta

Property: Hotel Santa Marta
Address: Playa de Santa Cristina s/n, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#4 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santa Marta 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE CHARM OF PRIVILEGED ENCLAVE THIS The hotel is in a unique natural setting, surrounded by 7 hectares of forest and direct access to a beach of unique beauty as is the beach of Santa Cristina. The populations of Blanes and Lloret de Mar hotel is located equidistant from 3 km and Barcelona, is just 70 km and an hour's drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marta Hotel
Hotel Santa Marta Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing