We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,336)
Filter reviews
2,336 results
Traveller rating
305
647
599
364
421
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
647
599
364
421
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace bad reviews main town rooms were cleaned every day min walk fussy eater small pool plenty of choice cleaned daily clean towels rooms are basic beans plenty of sunbeds pool view family holiday abit nightlife
Filter
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 2,336 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just got back today 09.09.12. The bar staff apart from one were great, we treated them with respect and we we're friendly to them and when we saw them or them us in town we always got a big friendly hello.

Rooms not bad at all, a little tlc needed but hey, it's not that bad.

Sadly food wasn't that good and apparently it's improved greatly lol. Roxy's across the road does a great breakfast and pizza.

Entertainment is dire. Not even going to write anymore about that.

Great location, 15 mins from Lloret de Mar the actual town centre, great beach, but it's gravel not fine sand so takes a little getting used too.

All round good time, and I am still sobering up from a night at El Pub and the Queen Vic.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We booked this hotel albeit last minute in August so we knew that it was never going to brilliant, but it was near the beech and walkable to town and quite frankly AI for this was coming up the same as SC for other hotels and arpartments.

On first impression it seemed quite nice although we did arrive at 230am. The next day I did notice that we had booked into the "oyal Beech" hotel where the letter has fallen off the sign. So not the best first impression.

We weren't given our drinks/glass card until the next day when we had to go and ask reception for them. Stupid system with kids plastic glasses that had been dishwashed until they were razor sharp that cut your lip each time you had a drink!

The room was quite a good size but needed some attention five years ago, The bath had broken enamal and rust, the plaster was falling of the walls and delicately covered up with an oversized picture plonked in the middle of a wall. There were cigarete burns in the sheets and these weren't replaced during the 10 days we stayed there.

The Food offered some choice on day 1, but by day 3 we were sick of the same old thing, the chef must have been extremely talented to make food so tasteless. Even the tomatoes and cucumber tasted of nothing!

The roof garden was a nice touch if you could get peace to enjoy it or could get comfortable on the hard plactic sunbeds with no cushions! This would benefit from being a child free zone.

The pool area downstairs was overcrowed and again only offered hard plastic sunbeds and hard metal chairs, they have never heard of comfort. There is no way this should be called a 4 star hotel! maybe a 2 star with a large imagination.

Please be advised don't stay here. The only good thing about it was it was near the beech.

Room tip: If you want t good room, don't book this hotel in the first place.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Spent 6 nights at this hotel in July with my husband and 2 children ages 7 and 10. Room was very very small we could not have stayed in it had we have booked for any longer. When I asked the receptionist if there were any larger family rooms I was told all rooms where exactly the same size! The food was so bad we only ever entered the dining room twice at breakfast were things like chips and chicken nuggets were on offer. All our food was paid for outside the hotel, which was very disappointing since we had paid for all-inclusive. Night life in the hotel did not exsist which again going all-inclusive was very disappointing especially for the children and the fact there was no alternative entertainment near the hotel left us with no other option. We have been on many all-inclusive holidays some 3 star and have never experienced such a silly idea as was on offer at this hotel with regard to getting a drink at the bar. You had to return your empy plastic glass before receiving another drink. Overall I would not recommend this hotel unless you are a group of young people on a hen/stag weekend and have got a very very very cheap deal. There is much much better hotels out there that cater for British people which this hotel did not in any way.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmythFamily_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

this hotel is not what some are saying,just returned from a week,holiday with my daughter and grand daughter. First the hotel is clean and never came across any of the staff being rude, in fact
they were all lovely, you could always find some thing to eat there was a good selection. The hotel does need decorating but overall it was ok .M y granddaughter really enjoyed herself, lot,s of familys in the hotel. Yes a stag and hen party arrived but they were not rowdy at night. The only people i heard moaning about the card system they have in this hotel was english, it is not
rocket science! Ignore the bad reveiws and enjoy ,I read reviews before we went and feared the
worst. It was unfounded, I think to many people want 5 star but only want to pay for 3 star
and 3 star is what this hotel is. over all good value.

Room tip: we stayed facing shops across rd and didn,t really have any problem
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

OK so the hotel itself is a little tired and in need of a coat of paint but be honest - how much time do you spend in your room looking at the walls?

We booked a last minute mini break as the hotel is only about 2 hours drive from where we live. We paid 233 euros for 4 people, full board. When we arrived we upgraded to free local drinks with our meals for a total of 18 euros for 3 days.

We've stayed here before, despite all the bad reviews and we will go back again. It's excellent value for money. Fenals and Lloret itself are a bit touristy with loads of fast food restaurants and souvenir shops all selling the same stuff but if you want to go a bit upmarket then take the bus to Blanes, the next town south from Lloret - there the shops and restaurtants are different, with a lot of spanish and perhaps not so many foreigners. But you can't beat the beach in Fenals, which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotal. In the morning take a stroll to your right along the prom and you come to the outdoor gym area where all the joggers and energetic folk are beating themselves up on the public machines. Grab a snorkel and go watch the glorious fish which swim right in to the shore and then have a sit on the seafront benches which are under the shade of mulberry trees - fantastic.

Food at the Royal Beach was plentiful and varied. As soon as the trays were getting low, another one arrived, carried in by spotless chefs. There was something for everyone - if you didn't fancy to try the gorgeous local cuisine then you could fill up on pasta with a variety of sauces, plainer cuts of meat without sauces, chips, salads, soup, breads... We couldn't fault the food, nor the attitude of the friendly and charming staff, lots of whom have been there for years. We love our food and are good cooks - the food served when we've stayed there has not deserved some of the comments I've read on here.

Sure there were a few folk just there for the all inclusive booze but they were few and far between when we were there and we certainly didn't see any trouble or have any problems with noise. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the main road and we all slept like babies. The beds were spotless, fresh towels every day, fantastic aircon, loads of hot water and shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste and brush supplied - you could actually leave all those at home as the maids replenish the supplies! Staff were smiling and efficient. I asked for an extra pillow and TWO arrived to our room within 10 minutes. The receptionists all speak english and are knowledgeable and helpful.

All in all we couldn't fault the Royal Beach. I don't think we could have been just lucky on every occasion that we've stayed there and at sister hotels but we have honestly had no complaints about noise, drunks, stag parties or trouble of any kind. We'll go back, even if they don't redecorate!

Room tip: People we spoke to said their rooms overlooking the pool and bar area were noisy when the hotel had night time entertainment - we had a room overlooking the main road, on the 4th floor and had no noise from either the hotel or the street.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jax1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews