We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Samba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samba
Ranked #95 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just come back from a week stay here and found it remarkable value for money.The Savoy it is,nt but where else can you get an all inclusive holiday,with all travel,three excursions,food and drink for 186 pounds.The hotel is clean,the staff friendly,fresh towells every day.The rooms are dated but clean and cleaned every day.I found the food very good,allways hot and a massive choice.Salads were good as was the local dishes and the fresh grill section.Enterainment on every night with dancing.All in all a very good weeks holiday at a truly remarkable price.I just cannot believe why some people give this hotel negative reviews,perhaps they want Ritz for hostel prices!
Very convenient to fenels beach.A lot of bars closed but I fully expected this ,going at this time of year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mags008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSalcedo, Commercial dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you very much for your good comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    349
    435
    253
    356
See reviews for
430
391
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is the first review I've ever written because people should know how awful this hotel was.
We booked a hen week for 11 people in February to Lloret de mar being told this would be lively enough at this time of year. Nowhere was open except Burger King, McDonald's and shops.
On arriving at reception we were given no information about our surrounding area or how anything works regarding all inclusive.
We were assigned 2 four bed rooms and 1 three bed room on the 4th floor. The three bed room was tiny and had minimal walking space for 3 adults. On asking could this be changed we were told no and that they were all the same. They then went on to speaking to the next customer without finishing our conversation.
There was no water in the pool, and no chairs outside to sit around. The food in the restaurant was ok but not catered to anyone from the UK, it was mostly aimed at Spanish people. The snack bar was pathetic with cold uncovered pizza that looked uncooked, boiled burgers and frankfurters. The tea was like dirty dish water. The cocktails consist of half a glass of spirit with juice added. If we wanted a cocktail made properly we would have to pay .Anyone on all inclusive was served after full paying customers even though it is obviously included in our price. The barman wasn't going to serve any of us as he thought we were underage even though we had the adult all inclusive armband on.
The hotel was full of old people and Spanish and French people who stared at us like they hadn't seen girls before.
The security guard warned us before leaving that night to be quiet when we come home.
On collecting our passports the next day we were then asked for a payment for "tourist tax" which was €7.92 per day. This was the first we heard about this and we were told it has to be paid every day.
One person in our party got locked in the room because the cleaner jammed the door and the maintenance man had to come up and bust the door open. He was then quite rude about what had happened.
The reception staff were extremely rude except for the young girl with dark hair. Everyone else had no time for us and were very unhelpful with their grunts and dirty looks.
We may have been a young group of girls but at no point did we cause any trouble or were rude or disrespectful to anyone. We were there to have a bit of fun and enjoy ourselves and we were treated like rubbish which wasn't deserved.
The rooms were clean which was the only positive about the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciara-mc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSalcedo, Commercial dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Hotel Samba.
We will pass these comments to the Management so we can try and imporve our service.
However, there is one thing you wrote which is not correct, the tourist tax is 0,50€ per person per night, and not 7,92€ per night.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice clean rooms ok. Was ok for the price we payed the drinks fine all inclusive food was appalling pizza burgers and bread sitting out all day beside a microwave ! The food was also awful I know I'm a not a fish eater but the food was fish fish and more fish , pork one night in batter grease dripping from it I ate salad most of week , chicken one night was awful , nice clean hotel great location if the food was better ! Entertainment was Spanish music with a lot of older couples me and my hubby 40 and bored stupid very few young in hotel, this hotel probably be better in summer and most of lorrett de mar was closed for season deffo would not go back at this time of year ! Nice hotel clean nice location but the food was a disaster !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinederry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent 3 nights here in January on all inclusive. Cost £130 for two of us so class it as very good value for money. Would however be disappointed if I had to pay any more. The bedroom was very basic but with a nice view over the pool(emptied for winter) to the sea beyond. The twin beds are a bit on the small side. The bathroom is very tired with patched enamel on the bath and a cracked sink - but clean. Looking at various photos I thought there was a hairdryer provided but that must just be Superior rooms. As mentioned by others sound insulation is non existent. Someone in the room above ours seemed to be walking up and down constantly in high heels and moving furniture!
The food is the usual buffet style with plenty of choice and a different carvery dish each evening. Perfectly acceptable food unless you are very fussy or perhaps a vegetarian! The staff were all very pleasant. The musical Entertainment was geared up for coachloads of French of a certain age but nonetheless enjoyable.
On all inclusive the food provided outwith meal times was very basic. Crisps/Pizza/hot dog/Burger with sliced bread.
Very convenient for Fenals beach and the main beach at LLoret. All in all I rate this as perfectly acceptable for a short break at a cheap price but would think twice about a standard room in high season at vastly increased prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catrionaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I read reviews before I went, but thought..everyone's different, so I'll judge for myself.....what a regret!!! Yes it was a cheap holiday, it doesn't mean that I must grin & bare terrible food that was reheated from lunch time & served at dinner, I'll admit christmas eves dinner was gorgeous, very well cooked..however...after that it went back to awful, the breakfast bacon was some kind of reformed ham in strips, the egg seemed to be powdered, on the odd occasion we had fried eggs which was good, at the freshly cooked area, the chef was using the same utensil to turn the uncooked meat, then serving the cooked meat with it!!!! I spent more time on the toilet everyday from the food!! Terrible quality
The rooms are so small, my husband & I had 3 single beds in our room, we requested for a bed to be taken out & a double bed to be put in, but it never materialised...the walls are so thin you can hear people having sex, talking, coughing, in the next room all the time.
The so called entertainment consisted of a man & a keyboard 5 days in a row, playing the same music, over & over, in Spanish, then on weekends the gardener & his wife were playing music & singing, badly, the same music over & over.... They played about 10 minutes of English music, & that was it, they DO NOT provide entertainment for us English, we had a couple of nights in an English pub they had opened downstairs, which was nice for us, but the entertainment was music stored on a computer, playing the same songs over & over again also, however the bar staff was very nice, he was very pleasant & a great personality...
The all inclusive drinks were watered down so much, for a decent brandy I had to buy it from the bar, all drinks were served in plastic beakers, when I asked why, it's because people get drunk & drop the glasses breaking them, however if you buy one from behind the bar you get a proper glass!!!! Can these not be dropped & broken also????
On a plus side, it's close to English pubs where you can get a decent drink, & food to eat...please believe me, I didn't speak to anyone there who had anything positive to say, we stayed for 10 nights, & so we were there for christmas & New Year's Day, it ruined it for us...so never again will we go there, & we wouldn't advise people to either, unless they have an iron stomach, & don't want quality!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vixen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We travelled as a couple for two weeks, Christmas and New Year and have to say that this is easily the worst Hotel we have ever stayed in! When we arrived midweek there were not a lot of people staying there, a few French and a few English.We had requested a room with a good sea view, we were given a pool view with a glimpse of the sea in the distant future, so we asked to be moved. Three rooms later we settled for a room, not really sea view but better than the first. We asked about a whole block of rooms that were sea views that were obviously vacant but were told that they were occupied. Two days later lots of French people arrived, then Spanish, and they were all given the best rooms, along with their dogs that they brought with them to the Hotel. I am allergic to dogs and found this to be a real problem throughout our stay.
The food was simply awful and having both took ill,we decided against eating at the Hotel even though we were all inclusive Please also be aware,the coffee machines are plumbed to the water mains and do NOT boil the water, therefore lukewarm coffee made with tapwater,unsterilised, so we decided not to drink the coffee either.
All of the Abysmal entertainment, which consisted of the pool maintainance guy and his wife, looking like they were attending a funeral, is in French. The animations only speak French or Spanish, All of the activities are in French, the trips tour guides speak French, bear in mind this is Spain, The French invaded this Hotel, and took over it basically, if you are English you don't exist.
We have travelled to Spain many times in the past, both me and my partner can speak Spanish, so why oh why do they insist on only catering for the French, who I have to add, are rude, arrogant and bad mannered.The Samba has an 'English' pub downstairs which they decided to open for 2 nights only,even though there were many English guests. Everyone we spoke to in the pub, said the same as us,they felt angry that we were treat like second rate citizens.They even served the French before us!
All in all, we felt that we were robbed of our Christmas Holidays, two weeks in prison would have been more favourable as at least we would have had food and drink without having to spend an extra £700 euros, and £60 at the chemists as we were so ill. We have complained to our travel company, but no doubt nothing will come of it.The best advice I can give is take time to read the reviews on here. Yes its cheap, but you still expect to be able to eat and drink and treat as a paying customer, not an outcast.The Samba has bad reveiws for a reason, it's simply awful. Save your money...go to PORTUGAL!

Room Tip: choose another Hotel...you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSalcedo, Dept. Comercial at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Cathy,
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The tap water in Lloret (and the rest of Spain) is perfectly fine and drinkable.
The buffet has a wide selection of food, catered for everybody. We haven't had any other complaints about the food during the period you stayed here.
We do accept small pets, but they are only allowed in the room and the reception area.
We think it's a bit harsh saying that 2 weeks in prison would have been better... however, we take your comments on board and will try to improve our service.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We just returned from a girls few days away break & we had a great time at this hotel. The majority of the staff were friendly especially Pedro on reception who was most helpful & printed out my travel documents for me. He was so friendly & informative. The hotel was extremely busy with mostly French & Spanish guests & lots of entertainment. We were a little on the ''younger'' side for most of the entertainment but we still enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the center of the town but remember most shops shut between 1pm-4pm.
The beach is about 15 minutes brisk walk but well worth a visit especially to see the walk way where lovers lock their padlocks to the railing & then throw the keys into the sea.There is also a beautiful monument to the Fisherman’s Wife: Bronze sculpture found at the end of Lloret beach erected in 1966 to commemorate Lloret de Mar’s Millennium. It is considered to be one of the town’s most emblematic symbols. Legend states that touching the sculpture’s foot while looking out at the horizon will make your wishes come true. Very romantic & well worth a visit.

The food in h hotel was fine, I ate everything & we were all inclusive so were happy for what we paid & for what we got. The bar shuts at 11pm sharp & there was nothing else open near by at this time of the year so late nights are not on the cards if that's what you are looking for. As a result the hotel is nice & quiet by midnight & we had no problem getting sleep.
Would we go back? For what we paid for 4 days all inclusive, yes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Surf Mar
Hotel Surf Mar
#63 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa
Guitart Central Park Resort & Sp...
#100 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#88 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#76 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
#40 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#78 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samba

Property: Hotel Samba
Address: C/ Francesc Cambo 10, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samba 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Samba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samba Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Samba Hotel Lloret De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing