We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Gran Garbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Garbi
Ranked #91 of 125 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Was very happy to stay at Hotel Gran Garbi. We stayed in the block across the road from the main block with a large party of school children (6 adults and 26 teenagers with learning difficulties). we were given a floor to ourselves with 4 extra rooms on an adjacent floor. We had a problem with some exceedlingly noisy children from another party but when we complained the hotel staff were on to it straight away. The room temp was spot on, the variety of food was impressive and the dining room very clean and nicely laid out. crockery and cutlery were clean and the staff were very helpful to accomodate our large party making sure we could always sit together at mealtimes. we were also allowed a set time where we had the indoor swimming pool to ourselves for an hour.
Overall I was very satisfied. Negative points would be that there were no staff available in our block - to talk to anyone we had to cross the road, although there were phones in our rooms. .The pool although has a maximum capacity of 20, only had changing rooms big enough for about 5 so were rather cramped. I couldn't get the air-con in my room to work. Also no kettles in rooms and the dining room didn't open til 7:00 - not being able to have an early morning coffee was definitely a downside for me. Also Evening meal only had a water option - coffee, tea and juice were available at breakfast. we didn't sample any light lunches.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    93
    93
    59
    56
See reviews for
133
67
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I am still staying at the Gran Garbi unfortunately until Thursday 12 September 2013.

If you have any sence do not come to this hotel. I and my partner are 62 and 74 respectively and I have never been in such a bad hotel.

The food is appalling and the bar staff except for a couple of them are rude and very ignorant. I have never felt in all the years that I have been to Spain that I am not wanted, at this hotel this is exactly how you are made to feel.

e.g. I asked where we could could an English newspaper at reception and I was told we have international newspapers here in the bar oh good I said so tomorrow we can read an English newspaper no we DO NOT have English newspapers you will have to go and buy one.. Please note that I am not normally a moaning Brit as I love Spain and its people but this place is bad.
We are all inclusive and there are no snacks after 6.30pm the snacks they do have is very limited and all drinks un less you make a fuss are in plastic cups and plastic containers for beer which only comes in small containers you cannot have a large beer unless you pay for it and we were charged 6.40 euros for a pint of lager and a diet coke.

The place is full of Russians and French there are only 5 Brits here now and we are all looking forward to coming home

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Eccles, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

been to llorett many times in the past and paid a lot more than we did at this hotel, we are a family of 2 adults and 2 children 4 and 6 who loved lewis the entertainment manager who made everyone welcome all the staff were really nice with us. concerning the food which everyone seems to be complaining about this is a large hotel cateriing for all nationalities and there was lots of choices and lots of it, lovely salads and fruit fresh bread rolls every meal and a choice of meats tapas night was our favourite of all. Close to the beach and shops but not close to the night clubs as we wanted quiet at night would recommend to any familes we had no trouble either in the hotel or lloret and can def recommned day out at marineland for the children a free bus away great day out but take your own food as quite dear. Overall we believe this hotel to be worth the money there were others 3 times more expensive and not even including food really clean maid was in every day we would return . christine and family

Room Tip: i always pick the top floor but be careful on the balcony with young ones, i dont like the noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Part of 3 hotels this is the top one 2 more lower down the hill not to steep but a little quieter nice hotel although the 4 stars i would give it a 3 clean but looks like they could do with more staff ,especially at the bar and the restaurant ;-( and the food was definitely not 4 star maybe 2 n half if that,

Room Tip: 6 floors quite on the 6th
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I was in this hotel with a friend for about one week. We had a room in Grand Garbi Mari but had our meals (breakfast and dinner) in Gran Garbi. There were quite some older guests in the hotel, but as we weren't there to party, it didn't really bother us. We also went the last week of September which could explain the lack of younger people and children
- Our room was quiet and in a quieter part of Lloret, but very close to tourist shops and the sea, so an ideal location.
It was clean, with daily clean towels and a nice terrace with view on the sea. There was one extra blanket with some stains on it, but for the rest the room and bathroom were clean. The sleeping quality was good.
- The dining room was quite crowded and staff is very busy which at first gives you the impression they don't really care about the clients, but once you get to know them better and you respect them there's no problem. Staff at the reception and in the bar is really nice.
They also organised a nice event called "buen viaje" in the evening which was very positive for the atmosphere.
- I don't know why people are complaining so much about the food. You have to realize this is a mass-hotel, like a lot of chain hotels... but I don't think it was worse than in other hotels. I think the donuts and croissants maybe shouldn't have come out of bags in the morning, but for the rest the food was nice for a mass-hotel. There was the possibility to choose cereals, toasted bread, different kinds of meat or cheese in the morning or you could go for an english breakfast. You could also choose to eat eggs or churros and pancakes.
In the evening there was a large buffet, every day different... so I don't see what's there to complain.
I think the hotel offers a good price-quality and if one day I would go back to Lloret I would consider this hotel again, it's not too expensive, but still offers a reasonably good quality and the staff in the bar and the reception is really friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IngePinge333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzau, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

a bad experience..i didn t expect at smelling carpets on the coridors,old furniture and terrible food.the rooms smelling also...i well never come back.my experience in spain was very bad for first time.they never changed my sheets in one week..just arange them and in the restaurant..disapointing.french fries every morning,lunch and dinner...also fried eggs.i got sick in that hotel.a skin deseas.ugly.shame on them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adriana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If you are 18 and looking to party on the cheap, by all means, come here! If you are a bona-fide adult, stay away. The good: cheap, clean rooms, sufficient towels (though no pool towels), courteous staff, gorgeous pool with decent sunbeds, plentiful food. The bad: THIN walls, noisy clientele, HARD beds, one small hard pillow per person, dreadful food (the coffee is totally undrinkable and I although I am a connosieur, I am also an addict and can choke down almost any horrid coffee-like beverage...not this), and they nickel-and-dime you (4€/day to use room safe, 5€/day for internet, water is not included with meals so you have to buy a bottle - they won't let you bring in your own and there is no tap). The town is tourist hellhole full of Brit and Euro teens on party weekends. But also there is an inexplicable number of taciturn, elderly tourists as well. They do not look impressed or at all happy, but I can't tell if it's because they are just grumpy old people or if they were not expecting this environment (surely some of them knew? A lot of them are Spanish...). It seems the hotel tries to cater to them, though, as they have bingo nights, etc, which is incongruous amongst the partying kids. We came here for a beach sporting event and were housed in this hotel, probably on a group rate, and paid something like 150€ for 4 nights of accommodation including breakfasts and dinners for 2 people. On our own travel, we would likely spend that per day, so I can't really complain about the value for the money, but I would not choose this hotel or this town independently.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank granite_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Garbi Mar
Gran Garbi Mar
#70 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garbi Park
Hotel Garbi Park
#64 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#20 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Surf Mar
Hotel Surf Mar
#50 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guitart Gold Central Park Resort & Spa
Guitart Gold Central Park Resort...
#85 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#68 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Garbi

Property: Gran Garbi
Address: C/ Potosi 7, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#43 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Garbi 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Garbi Hotel Lloret De Mar
Gran Garbi Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing