We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice complex, awful room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa
Ranked #97 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice complex, awful room”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed here for 4 days at the end of September. I'm still undecided about this hotel and whether I wouldstay here again.

I would definitely not stay in the same room. I was in Guitart I, thebuilding that the reception is in. On my floor it looked lovely, with posh doors with key cards etc, I then walked through a door to get to my part of the corridor and it looked much more run down, with little keys that you put into the door knob. I didn't feel particularly secure with that door. The room itself was very basic. The beds were not comfortable, and my blankets had cigarette burns in them. The walls were very thin, the nice lads next door were having conversations at normal volume and I could hear every single word.

The bathroom was disgusting. It was mouldy, there were cracks in the walls and the tiles, pipe were exposed, there were holes in the walls, it was disgusting. I got the impression that this was the oldestpart of the complex and therefore the worst, although looking at other reviews I'm not so sure! There's also only one plug socket in the entire room which was above the double bed, this made it somewhat awkward to use. The room was also right above the worker's area, and they would often stand beneath my window smoking and chatting,so I couldn't really open the balcony doors as it got loud and smoky very quickly. This was also a very cold room - it was 27degrees but as its on the second floor and overlooked the room gets no sun and I was shivering.

The lifts are a bit dodgy, one of them the doors don't shut properly, and the other one got stuck between floors which wasn't overly fun. (These are the small lifts that lead to the restaurant, not the big ones from reception). The food itself was good atlunchtime and in the evenings. There was a decent selection and they kept the food replenished and it was hot. Breakfast was a different story and it was pretty awful- so avoid the breakfast but the rest of it is good. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly also.

I didn't really take advantage of the all-inclusive, as every time I went there were really long queues and only one person on the bar, who wasn't in any rush to get the queue down. Generally I just couldn't be bothered to wait 15 minutes to get a drink, although the selection they had was really good.

One thing that was really missing is a map of the hotel. They do have boards around telling you the layout, but theydon't really tell you where you are. I think it would help a lot if they gave you a map on arrival, as there are many different levels, and a lot of stairs, and I found it quite difficult to navigate. I expect there were much shorter routes than I took to get to places, but I couldn't find them easily. On the last day I found another part of the resort that I had never seen before, complete with pool and entertainment. Turns out this was where all the English speakers had been hiding (I didn't encounter any before this, there seemed to be predominantly French and Spanish at the hotel) and it would have been nice to find it earlier.

One thing I did like,was that if you climbed all the stairs past the pools there were roof terraces that were quiet zones with no smoking just with sunbeds for people to relax in peace. This was ideal for me as I wanted some quiet and naturally the pool area is quite noisy with children running about. It was good that they catered for different wants in this way.

The hotel was in a good location with a short walk to the beach (not sandy) and shops and bars. This is a very touristy area, so if you are wanting to avoid that kind of thing then Lloret de mar isn't for you. I liked it and found the locals friendly.

Overall I would recommend the complex itself, but not the room I stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    356
    314
    240
    416
See reviews for
630
432
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed from Sept 20th - 27th 2012 as part of a large group. The hotel and its staff are absolutely appalling! The staff are extremely rude and unhelpful and make absolutely no effort to welcome guests or resolve issues never mind apologise! We arrived to find that we had been allocated a room with a double bed despite having called in advance to request a twin room. We were told they would make up the sofa bed which we refused. Our new room hadnt been cleaned so we had to wait 25 mins outside while this was done. We then found (at 1am) that we had no hot water from the taps. Then followed the rudest conversation we have ever encountered with Michael at reception who refused to even listen never mind do something about it! It was resolved the next day. The rooms are not cleaned properly and the only reason we had our sheets changed every day is because we stripped our beds every morning otherwise they only change sheets once a week! The breakfast is awful and we ended up paying again to eat in local cafes every morning. We were lucky we stayed in guitart II but some had to stay in what was locally known as Bairut! A delapidated building with no tvs. GOLD Superiour standard is a myth as there is no carpet, washing lines, piped music!! or the use of the safe as that costs a £10 deposit and the £4 per day!

Room Tip: Try for the main building which houses the reception as those rooms are apparently the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

awful place spent a nightmare week in it filthy rooms our beds had not been changed from last oucupirer and was blood stained . 3 robberys from our croup when asked for things to be left in our rooms and place moveing with ants ground floor appartment and cigs littered everywhere from higher appartments never cleaned up . place should be wiped of map

Room Tip: would not even give it one my tip is dont go near it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

stayed at guitart central iii for three nights myself and husband ,on arrival was a bit confussed as where our hotel was ,but in finding it was pleased as this was a last minute booking .there are a few hotels in complex. room was clean food was really good and tried different meats fish ect and was really pleased how well these dishes were cooked and displayed .there is two resturants for guest to use for meals .and we were allocated one i dont know the set up ,maybe it has to do with what hotel you stay in . staff were very polite and helpful and the bar staff were pleasant.we were on a all inclusive .we are going to go back next year. looking in to what hotel to stay in .as we still did not see and use all that is on offer,i have already informed my friends and family they must try this hotel out. jackie

Room Tip: i just ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The photo's on the web site look fabulous but how dissapointed were we!The room which I was later informed was their standard room - more like basic! walking into the room there was a huge water mark stain on the carpet where there must have been a flood. The carpet looked dirty as there were other stains on the carpet-you would'nt want to walk on it with bare feet. The towel rail in the bathroom was hanging off the wall and the plug hole in the bath looked dirty as all of the chrome had come off it-would not have wanted a bath. The bed was uncomfortable and we sweated alot as there was a type of plastic cover over the mattress. The pillows were lumpy and it was very difficult to get comfortable. Balcony was cracked, paint peeling on the railings. No information in the rooms about the hotel and the reception area had every language book but no English. The food in the resteraunt was awful-breakfast was always cold and the evening meal lacked imagination again cold - good job there was a microwave! Entertainment in the Salsa Bar was very poor-same musicians every night with the same set of music. Fire alarm went off one evening but no one seemed to be bothered. Swimming pool looked nice although did not use it as the yellow sunbeds looked dirty need a good clean. We did complain about our room but was told that the hotel was overbooked! Watch out for the lift down to the resteraunts one does not go down properly! Staff in resteraunt worked hard which is the only plus point.

Room Tip: When you book your room make sure you are put in one of the so called refurbished rooms - don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

have just arrived home from a four night stay in the guitart resort and spa. the grounds are beautiful and the location is very good ,a five to ten minute walk to the beach and shops . two main pool areas, an covered heated swimming pool and a spa indoor pool . i was surprised at the 15 euro cost of the spa as it only hadf a pool and sun beds . so i didnt use this. i came with 3 other women and we all were not dissapointed in the hotel. the all inclusive deal was good we got 3 meals plus snacks and drinks til 11.30 . you are'nt really told what you are intitled to though so ask !. the room were cleaned daily and apart from thin walls there were no complaints. the food was ok ,with generally 3 meat choices, 2 fish, pallella, potatoes and deserts, for fussy eaters the food maybe the let down of the hotel . but overall a lovely pretty clean hotel ................NB do not use the tattoo palour called hard lines run by david lopez as he is a con artist who takes deposits and doesnt show up for appointments!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tambo0280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just come back from an excellent 10 night stay at your wonderful Hotel :D My 2nd time there and for sure will be back for a 3rd time next year :D The Hotel Grounds are Beautiful and my rating for this 2nd stay would be 95%! Thank you Very Much! It certainly has a place in my Heart! Just really sad i had to leave :( Wishing i was there still! Until next time!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, Not Hotels fault about noise from Other Hotels!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xalonso, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear valued client,
On behalf of the whole staff and hotel management we wish to express to you our very grateful thanks and appreciation for your comments.We'd like to thank you for having stayed at our hotel and we sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you here again to help you enjoy another brilliant holiday.
With regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Guitart Gold Central Park Resort & Spa
Guitart Gold Central Park Resort...
#79 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guitart Rosa
Guitart Rosa
#96 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#87 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#21 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#16 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#9 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa

Property: Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa
Address: Constanti Ribalaigua, 7, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and beautiful gardens, swimming pools, waterfalls, tennis courts, a sport area, solarium, gym, an extensive variety of spacious comfortable and lively terraces. Combine together these amenities and facilities create Guitart Gold Central Park Resort & Spa the ideal location for an immensely pleasurable and original holiday.Choose between five different swimming pools situated at various levels around the complex (one of them heated and covered). Spacious gardens to enjoy for leisure and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guitart Central Park Hotel Lloret De Mar
Guitart Central Park Resort And Spa
Guitart Central Park Spa
Hotel Guitart Central Park
Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing