We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review, please read!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Don Juan
Ranked #93 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honest review, please read!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Where to start. Wish I took note of previous reviews.

Hotel staff could hardly speak English and were very reluctant to help. No explanations of rules of hotel ie key drop off and breakfast/meal times. Very unhelpful. Especially when they have your belongings and won't give them to you, but by being percistant I eventually got my camera back.

All food very bland, so don't go all inc. really not worth it when you can go out on sea front, nice meal for two for only €20.

Hotel looks great on the photos but in reality it's unbelievably dated and run down.

In the centre of all the nightlife, so some would not like this at all, very noisey from 9/10pm until 3am ish each evening.

The only half decent bit was that it was Somewhere to sleep... But... Only If you do not move during sleep as all The beds kept falling apart during the night.

It done the job for us for 3nights sleep but will never stay again.

Don't let this put you off Lloret de Mar, it's a great place with loads to do (check out Water World, Gnomo Park and Water Sports), just don't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrMurphyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    200
    281
    188
    328
See reviews for
313
298
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night all inclusive stay (Im British and my husband is Spanish). Its a very tired hotel in dire need of having some money spent on it. The bar staff are pleasant enough, the restaurant staff look like they are being tortured on a daily basis. I think its very sad that customer service is so low down on a hotels priority. The staff forget that people like me, save hard to come on holiday and would appreciate some sort of good service and a cheerful attitude. The rooms are very small and on first arrival seem clean but on closer inspection are not! The bathroom could have done with a good bleaching. Even after the cleaner has been the bathroom does not smell any different as if they dont use any cleaning products. The beds and towels just dont have that “freshly laundered” smell which is one thing I normally love about visiting hotels (the bed frame was thick with muck). Its advertised with “complimentary internet wireless access” - you had to pay 5euro a day if you wanted wifi which I just thought was disgusting. Also advertised “satellite tv” - there are very few Spanish channels and the television is so small and so high up on the wall that you cant see it good (I wasnt personally bothered because I dont watch tv when away). The food was average accept for breakfast which was just awful. The toast machines all need updating (cos they dont work) and there was no choice. Again there is just no attention to detail or presentation, everything is just thrown out. The worst thing for us was as we were all inclusive we wanted to spend a lot of the night at the bar. Every night the dancefloor was full of elderly Spanish couples dancing pasadoble. They advertised as having “live music” but its just a guy with a computer playing the same old fashioned Spanish songs over and over and over again, the same every night (maybe it would have been somewhat bareable watching the dancing every night if it was at least live music). On our last night, we were so fed up, another bar was open at another part of the hotel (it was the only night it was open) and we went in there to get away from the music and were told we couldnt have the all inclusive in that bar!!! I was disappointed that no other entertainment was put on at all. All in all a very disappointing stay. Would we go back? - never.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DebJo225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Tortona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
2,489 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,290 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This is a giant concrete's construction and it is located a few hundred meters away from the nightlife of Lloret de Mar and 10 min walk from the main beach.
I spent a few nights at this property and I can feel happy, certainly it is not a 5stars hotel but it is not even that bad.
If you getting here during the summer months (August) it can't be a prudent choice, there is so much chaos in the streets around and it can happen also through the corridors and rooms beside, of course this time of year is crowded and very popular of young alcoholic from around the world who come to Lloret looking for the buzz, so if you are looking for quiet and relax this is not the place for you ... but then again before or after August is a very good and cheap solution.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

At this hotel now, and am disgusted by the treatment being received. My friend and I are in our 50's and are being treated like children by a very arrogant Spanish staff. We have travelled all inclusive, and have the blue wrist bands. This, apparently, is now a sign that we are hooligans and cannot be trusted with real glasses, having to make do with plastic ones all day and night. The sight of these bands means you are treated as second class by all the staff, and expect to be served second, if at all, to any other class of customer.
My friend has travelled and stayed in all inclusive hotels all over the world, and has never had treatment like this. If you are travelling all inclusive, avoid this place like the plague.

Room Tip: Just don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeChatN0ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Gran Hotel Don Juan in Lloret de Mar and the hotel has some good and a few bad points. The hotel is very large and although it is not new is kept very clean. The staff were helpful if you asked for anything although their English is not great and they seem to be too busy for much chatting anyway. The lady who cleaned our room was always friendly. The food is mostly OK, especially if you like meat. During the week they served beef, chicken, pork and rabbit, all of which were well cooked although I thought that some of the food was a little bland. There was generally pasta and sauces, cold meats and cheese, although not much in the way of vegetables. There was always salad and a kids selection (chips, pizza, onion rings, sausages etc) which the adults were quite keen on as well. Basically, unless you are very fussy you should find things to enjoy but you have to remember what you are paying for the food. The cost of the buffet was advertised in the hotel as 10 euros. The breakfasts were the average hotel buffet.

We were on the all inclusive deal which again was good and bad. The wine and beer in the restaurant bar was served in glasses and the wine was good. The only other bar serving all inclusive customers is in the lounge area and the drinks are served in plastic "glasses". For this bar you are issued with tickets that you hand over when you get a drink and take back when you return the "glasses". They serve wine , beer, soft drinks and local spirits. The local version of Baileys is good as is the brandy and the measures are generous. There are snacks all day but the sandwiches and burgers are put out at 10.00am and there is a microwave to heat them up. There are also cakes and pastries, crisps, fruit and ice-creams. The all inclusive runs from 10.00 in the morning until 10.00 at night.

The main entertainment in the hotel is dance music, afternoon and evening, so if you enjoy Spanish ballroom dancing this is for you.

There are 2 outdoor pools and we used the main one. The pool area is not very large but there are plenty of sunbeds, chairs and tables, a few parasols and also shade under the trees. The pool is 1 metre deep at one end but most of it is 2.5 metres.

Our room was smallish with 3 single beds , adequate storage room, a TV, nice bathroom with bath and shower and a small balcony with 2 chairs. The beds and pillows were comfortable, there was always plenty of hot water and despite it being a busy hotel it was very quiet (obviously this may depend on where your room is). The air conditioning worked perfectly and the room was well cleaned every day. The TV is not much use as the only English channel is BBC news with bad reception - but we didn't really come to Spain to watch TV.

Lloret is a Spanish seaside town (think English seaside town with more sun and cheaper drinks) so there are lots of fast food and other restaurants, bars, clubs and souvenir shops. (Ask at the hotel reception for a street map.) The drinks and food seems to be reasonably priced and the souvenir shops are cheap. If you turn left as you go out of the hotel and cross the road there is a largish Spar supermarket. The beach is less than 10 minutes from the hotel - turn right outside and follow the road past the souvenir shops. If you turn left after the Londoner club there are streets and streets of different shops and restaurants. The beach is very clean but unless you are at the far ends slopes quite steeply into the sea. A sun bed and parasol is 6 euros a day. The beach at Fanals (10 - 15 minutes walk from the hotel - turn left out of the hotel and immediately left again and follow the road) is good, especially at the far end to the right. We found all of the beaches we visited in the area to be particularly clean.

There is a coastal path running from each end of Lloret beach with signposts and red and white stripes on trees and rocks. From the right end of the beach you can walk to St Joan's Castle and beyond. From the left end of the beach we walked as far as Calella d'en Tron which has a lovely small beach. If you pick up the path at the right end of Fenals beach you can walk to the Gardens of St Clothilde which are lovely Italianate gardens. Just beyond the Gardens is another nice beach.

If you want to go further afield the bus station is about 5 minutes from the hotel and the Spanish bus service is cheap and efficient. We went to Tossa de Mar - nice beaches and a mediaeval town and ruined castle to walk round and Blanes - not so attractive but the botanical gardens are worth a visit.

in short we had a very enjoyable and inexpensive stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank T0talt0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went here in 2012 large hotel 2 pools but it was very crowded good price food ok small area around out door pool but had gardens not a lot of sunbeds but hundreds of people in hotel just up the hill from the beach 6 mins walk large super market 2 mins away, bus station 4 mins walk .......
//////////

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nis,Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were at the hotel with 2 small kids (6 years and 10months), and we were very satisfied with everything. Room was with 2 beds+one for big kid and they also added one baby bed (it was already prepared when we arrived). Room was cleaned every day, towels changed every day and bedsheets changed twice during our 11-days stay in hotel.
Food was very good - big variety of food to chose for every meal (we had all 3 meals in the hotel). Some dishes were international and some local for Spain and Catalonia - so variety of food for everyone. Also ice cream available for desert every day :)
Since we were with baby, everyone was very polite with us, both other guests and staff in the hotel, so that experience was good too.
Swimming pools are clean and both children were playing in them, only problem is too much sun during the day (not enough parasols around swimming pools).
During the night is was rather quiet (when we close terrace doors), since hotel is not in the center of the Lloret, so we didn't have a problem with sleeping

As a conclusion, hotel is really huge (800 rooms or so), but everything is very well organized and goes smoothly (except maybe check-in if you come with in a big group). If you don't ming such big place and people all arround it would be great place for you.
If you prefer more private places, quiet with few people around you, than this is not a hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maricanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lloret de Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#16 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#87 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,808 reviews
5.1 mi away
Don Juan Tossa
Don Juan Tossa
#35 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samba
Hotel Samba
#90 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#17 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#73 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Don Juan

Property: Gran Hotel Don Juan
Address: Carrer de la Riera, 77, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Don Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 870
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Hotel Don Juan offers you the possibility to enjoy one of the most complete and best located hotels in Lloret the Mar for you family or couple holidays in Costa Brava. Enjoy an accommodation located a few metres away from the beach of this famous Catalan tourist locality. Swimming pools and heated pool (open during the Winter season), solarium, games room, TV room, WIFI (With extra charge), daily entertainment for all ages, live music and dancing every day of the year (afternoons and evenings)... The Don Juan Gran Hotel combines the best facilities with exclusive services specially designed to guarantee our guests some resting and leisure days at the shores of the Mediterranean. Enjoy with your family an emblematic accommodation in Costa Brava. Book today at the best price your 3-star hotel in Lloret de Mar with all type of commodities within your reach. Exclusively here, on the official website of Don Juan Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Juan Center Hotel
Don Juan Lloret De Mar
Gran Hotel Don Juan Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing