We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want any sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alegria Plaza Paris
Ranked #15 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I have always prided ourselves on not being holiday snobs, but after 5 nights at the plaza Paris I think we must be! I was really torn about whether to give it 2/5 or 3/5, but I can't in good conscience give it a 3, as it was nowhere near as good as the Portugal hotel I reviewed on here that I gave a 3, and ultimately because I felt thankful to be coming home, and annoyed that I had wasted money and leave in staying here (just home yesterday),

The dining area, reception and poolside are all modern, and the poolside is very relaxed and quiet. The jacuzzis are meant to be adult only (signs everywhere), but this is not enforced and people even had their babies in rubber seats in there! The pool bar wasn't opened during our stay which means you have to keep putting clothes over your bikini to go to the inside bar, or the bar man won't serve you. The best part was not needing to get up early to reserve loungers. We dropped our towels off on the way to breakfast at 9am ( no towels allowed in dining room) and always got a good spot. That said there aren't many loungers so do be prepared not to get one.

Other than the nice pool area, I cannot believe this hotel is 4*! The rooms are small and dated, we were in a room by the stairwell on 2nd floor, overlooking Plaça Paris, which is incredibly noisy with shrieking, motor bikes and groups of loud youngsters at night. Get a pool view room. The room had no mirror at all, meaning you had share the bathroom for getting ready when doing makeup etc. The doors to the stairwell remain open, and the bedroom doors are paper thin, meaning you can hear everyone traipsing up and down the stairs. The walls are thin enough to clearly hear the people in the room next door talking. This was a major issue for us. The hotel takes bookings from ijam which is a young people's holiday club. This meant we didn't get a single night of uninterrupted sleep:

1st night awakened by a group of boys shouting in the corridor (sounded like an argument) - 3 am
2nd night our neighbours returned (2 teen girls) at 5.20 am and spent 35 minutes screaming, laughing, shouting off balcony, moving furniture, despite several people from off the corridor banging on their door and telling them to be quiet.
3rd night- 4.20 am girl returns back having forgotten her key and shouts and knocks on door for ten mins until another guest advises her to sleep on the beach!
4th night- 4am - boys shouting up and down stairwell
5th night- 2am boys having loud conversation in corridor.

Needless to say we did not feel rested when we left the hotel, and feel that the amount of noise the hotel allows is unacceptable to their paying guests that need a rest! I would have complained, but the staff's English is incredibly weak. When I asked for my passport back I got the wifi code :-0

Safe in room €20 per week, fridge the same. When you have to cough up €50 on arrival ( deposit too) I think that is a sign the hotel is not 4*!

We found the bar prices very reasonable for a hotel. Pint €3, glass wine €2 and burger €3.5. The bar food is not consistent though so if you have a burger one day, the next one you order won't necessarily be the same!

The breakfast choice was good, continental, eggs, bacon, bread, cereal. There is cava- if you're lucky! They bring one bottle out and don't replace for at least 30 mins. Listen for the cork! We got a glass 2/4 mornings.
Tea is fine if you're not a fussy eater. The drinks service is slow though, and both nights we stayed and ate at the hotel we had finished our mains before our drinks order was taken! We went to the ritz (2 min) walk for food or a drink most days- reasonably priced, and good food (bottle house wine €6, pizza €7, toastie €3). Would recommend if you're not keen on what the hotel offers. The hotel accepts shorts and denim in the dining room, so you won't need long trousers for men.

Finally, as mentioned in a previous review, on occasion the hotel stinks of dog poo. So our very first impression of the hotel was that we got fleeced and it smelt really bad!! This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that I would say irrefutably I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb_jay2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alegria Plaza Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Ms Deb_jay2007,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review and share your opinion with us and the Tripadvisor community. We value our Guests´ opinions and regret when their expectations are not met. We are surprised by most of your comments about the location, since the hotel is situated in the city center of Lloret de Mar and we regret that the rooms were not up to your expectations, as we did not receive any inquiries from your booking.

Our staff is fluent in 7 different languages, and we are very sorry to read that you had communication troubles. Regarding your sleep, we understand your disappointment and we do apologize about it. We have a 24h concierge service, so when any happenings they are always available to assist our Guests.

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. And we regret that you did not share your opinion with us at the hotel before, so we could have given you the appropriate care and assistance.

We hope to welcome you back, allowing us the opportunity to show the level of service you deserve.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having dropped several guests at other hotels during transfer from the Airport we were relieved to see our Hotel (not chavtastic at all!).
That said, the 'From2' transfer 'dumped' (!) us 3 blocks from the Hotel with minimal instructions in English to head this way then that too find it - bit surprised as would have expected a door to door transfer as that's what we paid for - but the roads were so small you would not have got a coach down them ... what about a minibus or a taxi then From2 ?!?!
Paris Plaza is a bijou, boutique style (well, public areas anyway) spa hotel, suitable for us 2 40 something ladies. For the 1st couple of days we were the only English there (hotel is frequented mostly by French, Germans & Eastern Europeans) and we had no issues with this. The sunbathing terraces & pool are small but were adequate for our needs (we just wanted to chill in the sun for a couple of days) - sunbeds comfy (and free) with plenty of shade if required in what is essentially a courtyard. The 10 min walk from the hotel to the beachfront was lovely (mainly through the old part of town through the shopping area) and we found some nice/reasonable restaurants to eat at of an evening. Breakfast at the hotel was plentiful (even though the eggs were cold on our 1st day and the 'bacon' a tad under cooked for our tastes, but we tucked into the continental style buffet - you can even have a glass of Cava should you wish ! Can recommend the Sangria Cava if you fancy a cocktail - drinks were reasonably priced we thought and bar staff friendly. In fact nothing was any trouble, if you asked, just a shame that sometimes the service didn't come as a given ...
The bedrooms may be a tad tired (in need of an update maybe) but again adequate - comfy beds with nice en-suites, plenty of hot water, towels replaced every day if required. Free toiletries in the room too.
Didn't actually try any treatments in the Spa, but it looked nice and the prices seemed reasonable. Didnt experience any (evening) entertainment, but didn't miss it !

Quick tip - save room in your luggage, don't take a towel, they are provide for the pool area, just take it back every night to avoid being charged.
Ask for a room overlooking the pool area - very quiet and nicer outlook than the street.

All in all would go back to this hotel in this resort as a great location and gave us what we needed - a nice short break !

Room Tip: Request a room that overlooks the pool area - well you dont want to look at a road/apartments (even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiG1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel is marvellous :-) Not big, cosy and elegant. On a quiet squere, not far from the beach (you can visit the town during the walk to the beach), close to the bus station.
We spent there 2 weeks. The first week we were the only polish guests, the rest were Frenchmen and Russians.
Staff was very helpful and polite, always smiling, spoke foreign languages . Our room and bathroom were really clean, with pool view (and on the other townhouses). The only shortcoming: there was no fridge in a standard room...
So, if you don't need a hotel with a view of the sea and you prefer stay in a centre of a small, nice town, choose Plaza Paris - you won't regret :-)
Best regards, Kinga from Poland :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KingaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alegria Plaza Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Kinga Lubwa,

Thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay at the FERGUS Style Plaza Paris & SPA.
We will make sure our team receives your compliments and motivates them to keep in the same track! Also, we have made up the shortcoming you mentioned, and all our rooms are provided with fridges now.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Went on the 8th of june, fantastic holiday. This is the 4th time we have been to this hotel. It was taken over last year by fergus hotels, they have made some changes and we think they are for the better. The foodwas lovely, all the staff were were very friendly and helpful. We have all ready booked for next year, we go with siesta, we have been promised the same room as last year.
Tony and lilian

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alegria Plaza Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Lilian and Tony,

Thank you for visiting FERGUS Style Plaza Paris & SPA again and leaving your opinion about your stay. We already passed your nice comments to our TEAM, and I am very sure it will encourage them to continue improving!

Our reception talents will take into account your wishes!

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

What a lovely hotel this is. Just had a week here and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are spacious. Staff are so polite and helpful. Manager even brought one of the entertainers back at my girl friends request. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you to all who made our holiday a great holiday. Kevin Fillingham and Michelle Bates

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevbensam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alegria Plaza Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Mr Fillingham and Ms Bates,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the FERGUS Style Plaza Paris & Spa within the Tripadvisor Community. We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time and we are looking forward to welcome you back again with us!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed at Plaza Paris for one week (6th-13th Oct). Hotel was in a good position;10-15 minutes walk from the beach/shops etc. The hotel itself is very clean and of modern decor. It has an adults only area with jacuzzis and most of the time there was hardly anyone there. It was the same with the pool area - very quiet and plenty of sunbeds. This could be due to the fact that the pools/jacuzzis were unheated and freezing cold. Still it was nice to sit and read in the sun without being disturbed by rowdy children and music!

I agree with previous comments on other guests. The hotel appears to be aimed towards those over 65! We are aged 51-60 and for most of the week, we were the youngest there. The evening entertainment consisted of a 'disco' that played what could be described as easy-listening music and sequence dancing in French! Almost all of the other guests were French OAPS who were incredibly rowdy and rude. My friend and her husband were continually disturbed during the night/early morning by them banging doors, having the TV blasting out and stomping up and down the corridors. In the end, they had to complain to reception. The staff aren't as friendly as in some other hotels I have stayed in in the past but they try their best to understand you.

The food was disappointing. It was very repetitive even for supposed theme nights. It was often lukewarm to cold and if you went down later, was dry. Twice I found the chicken to be warm, under-cooked and bloody. I had a bad stomach one day which was possibly due to that. I also found under-cooked fried fish. In the end I mainly ate salads. Some of the deserts were very bright brown or pink and tasted artificially flavoured and coloured. Lunchtimes it looked as if they had reused leftovers from the night before, trying to disguise them in sauce or batter.
The dining room can also get very busy especially first thing. Some of the French guests were quite rude, knocking each other and us out of the way to get to the food. Another English guest said he'd witnessed a fight between the French guests over cheese at one lunchtime!
By the end of the week, we couldn't face anymore so we ate out at The Orient Express on the seafront. There we had a lovely, tasty, hot meal and real English tea supplied by very friendly staff.

We visited Barcelona for a day via bus and train at 13 euros return. Going by train you do get the chance to see other resorts as the train travels along the coast. It took over two hours each way, however, and was very confusing as it is not clear where you get off the train when reaching Barcelona or where to board the train to return. You can go direct by coach for 19 euros. This was probably quicker and less stressful!

Is the hotel 4*? Decor wise maybe. Food and facilities - no. I have visited many 4* hotels where the food has been amazing. There was no fridge or kettle in the rooms which there should be in a 4* hotel.

If the food was to be improved and the hotel aimed to cater more for all nationalities, not just French, we might return. Otherwise, we would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool-view but not over the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JulesBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Alegria Plaza Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Mr Jules,

First of all we would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to read feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve.

We will discuss your findings with the head chef in order to prevent them from happening in the future. Your remarks about the room facilities will also be evaluated for the upcoming season.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Fergus Plaza Paris SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed at Plaza Paris Hotel between 1st-6th October after being moved from Alba Seleqtta as they had not allocated us a room and were fully booked. The hotel itself is great. It's clean, modern and has a lovely adult only terrace area with a pool and jacuzzi. It has another bigger pool and loads of sun loungers which were never full when we stayed here. Both the pools and jacuzzi were freeeezing cold even in the 24 degree heat!! The hotel has a spa where you can treat yourself to a massage of facial. It also has a hydrotherapy circuit which costs €15 for an hour and has a sauna, dry room and vitality pool/jacuzzi. The food was the main downside of this hotel. There's not much to choose from and if you're a fussy eater you'll probably want to eat elsewhere and avoid the buffet restaurant. The bar offers snacks between 10.30-12.30 and 3-6.30 and the food was much better here. You could have chips, hamburger, pizza, hot dog and pastries. The all inclusive drinks were very good and available between 10am and 1am and included local alcoholic drinks and cocktails. The bar also has free wifi. The hotel staff don't speak much English which can be difficult at times. If you speak Spanish or French you'll be ok. The rooms are clean and modern and have a balcony, bath and shower, flat screen TV, double bed (very firm!) and have air con and heating. The hotel is very noisy early in the morning mainly cuz the walls seem quite thin and the French are very loud! There isn't much in the way of entertainment in the hotel although the live musician was excellent but sadly only there for one night. The music is suited to older guests and people who like salsa! The hotel is about a 10 min casual stroll away from Lloret de mar beach which is very nice. There are plenty of shops a short walk from the hotel and a coach station where you can get coaches to various destinations including Barcelona. We took a coach from lloret to blanes train station then a train to catalunya (Barcelona) for €13 return. I'd recommend paying €19 for a coach direct to Barcelona as the trains are very confusing. Overall the hotel isn't too bad but I think if you are young and English you may want to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mushyb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alegria Plaza Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of us on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we will use your suggestions to further improve our services in the future.

Regarding the title of your opinion: I can assure you that most of our staff speaks english, the few that are less fluent will be provided a course during the winter months. We also take pride in the fact that we have a great mixture of ages and nationalities who all enjoy their holidays in our hotel.


Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
Hotel GHT Aquarium & SPA
#7 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Bertran Park
Aqua Hotel Bertran Park
#14 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
Hotel Delamar - ONLY ADULTS
#1 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#13 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#19 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Plaza Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Plaza Paris

Address: C/ Placa Paris, 5, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#19 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: £39 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegria Plaza Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FERGUS Style Plaza Paris SPA is an exclusive hotel with spa located in Lloret de Mar, close at hand from the beach and with special services for couples, families and friends. It is a place to enjoy the calmness of the de Mediterranean and the beauty of Costa Brava. Take pleasure in a personalized attention and first class facilities especially designed for your wellness: outdoor Jacuzzi, solarium terrace, gym with views to the gardens and a marvelous spa with sensation shower, footbath, saunas, professional massage room and personalized treatments. Everything only 300 meters away from one of the best beaches in Lloret de Mar. Recognized for its spacious bedrooms and the good cuisine of its buffet restaurant, the FERGUS Style Plaza Paris SPA invites you to make the most of all the advantages of a hotel with free wifi in Lloret de Mar, especially designed for you rest and you children's enjoyment. Discover in the FERGUS Style Plaza Paris SPA a complete hotel with spa in Lloret de Mar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alegria Plaza Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placa Paris Hotel Lloret De Mar
Alegria Plaza Paris Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing