We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Racist Hotel Staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Sand

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Marina Sand
Ranked #106 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Racist Hotel Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel staff were ignorant to anyone who was from the UK. Whenever we asked them for help we were ignored. The best part was checking out and even then we were barely acknowledged. Never Again going to a hotel with such rude staff.

Helpful?
5 Thank Burgerboy1501
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    96
    80
    75
    130
See reviews for
155
93
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We went in feb 13, and it was a terrible start with it being -3, but that could not be helped. We went on a cheap coach trip which was good the drivers where fantastic really looked after us . Our room stunk of cigs and was right above the disco.We did ask the rep to be moved but to no avail, but was glad of this when about 100 football supporters stopped and set fire extinguishers off and woke everyone up on the 4th floor. We had 3 single beds in the a tiny room and there were what looked like crumbs on them. I know it was cold and we couldnt go swimming but the pool had no water in it. I good do with a lick of paint, the picture showing was obviously taken a long time ago. We were told by the rep if the DJ didnt like our choice of music and saw no spanish dancing he would take it off. The only way I could describe the staff is I am arfaid is ignorant. This backfired one evening when a bunch of us were left waiting by the barman while read his paper in the back, he could see us waiting, but did not realize one of us was the coach driver , who fetched the manager of the hotel and complained, this in turn cost the hotel 100 euros for our drinks. The food was very basic and sometimes a bit odd, combination wise vol e vents, stew, and chinese rice. Plus there was hardly any places open.
But and there is a but the scenery around lloret was stunning and it had plenty of walks around the coast and beaches.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jacquie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned from 1 weeks stay ,never heared one person speaking English in the whole week we where their! Full of everyother nationality! Breakfast and Evening Meals were just like a bun fight never met so many rude ignorant people in our lives! Filling their plates as well as their bags with mounds and mounds of food. Although the actual food was good except breakfast not a sausage or baked bean in sight, I am not a breakfast person so the cakes pancakes etc where fine for me but my husband loves somewhat something that resembles a breakfast eg; sausage beans (we had bacon one morning) But on a positive note the reception staff were helpful rooms adiquite and over all ok for a 3 star! probuably would consider staying again (If we got a very cheap deal to enable us to eat out for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My 2nd time a the Selvamar having just returned on the 27/6/13 after 7 days at the hotel.I really cannot understand the bad reviews or comments from travellers, all I can think is they go on holiday just to find fault or are far too picky.You won't find tea making facilities in your room,so what the rooms are spotless,yes maybe a bit dated but clean with all the facilities you need such as hair dryer,television,shower/bath,air con.The outside pool area is fantastic for adults and kids alike coupled with a childrens play area and indoor pool and tennis courts.Yes the reception staff are a bit off handish but you're not spending your entire holiday chatting with them so who gives a damn.Food wise not bad at all and please remember that the hotel is trying to cater for many different nationalities,if you want british food all the time then stay at home for gods sake.As for entertainment yes it's maily Spanish as in most hotels but you can still enjoy yourselfs.The bar next door to the hotel offers good food and service second to none(Cristina's) and Manolo and his staff are superb,try the bravos, a potato dish in tomato sauce,lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daffodil12345_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

just had 9days in this hotel and found it to be first class ,the rooms,the food , excellent the staff are very accommodating and very helpful in every way . There is a great little bar just outside the hotel and it is run by Manuel and his food is very good and his sangria is out of this world .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 5 kids for a week. Rude staff who don't even acknowledge you, broken glass doors, completely unsafe with kids, flies on the breakfast buffet, broken lifts, no tea or coffee making facilities. British people are treated and glared at by the staff as second class citizens. I'm by no means picky and have stayed at some poor hotels but this was beyond anything I've ever stayed at. Lloret de Mar is an ok place if you like being harassed by shopkeepers and trampled on by ignorant people, never again!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Layla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Awful food ,Rude reception staff, rubbish entertainment, Hotel in need of a total refurb from the pool area right through to the fourth floor, apart from all this the cleaning staff do a good job dispite the state of the place

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nalabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mariner
Hotel Mariner
#80 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anabel
Hotel Anabel
#5 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alegria Plaza Paris
Alegria Plaza Paris
#17 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alegria Fenals Mar
Alegria Fenals Mar
#84 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Flamingo
Gran Hotel Flamingo
#30 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#35 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Sand

Property: Hotel Marina Sand
Address: Avda Vila de Tossa 51 S/N, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Selvamar)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marina Sand 2*
Number of rooms: 243
Also Known As:
Selvamar Lloret De Mar
Selvamar Hotel Lloret De Mar
Hotel Marina Sand Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing