We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer 2014”
Review of Maria del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maria del Mar
Ranked #77 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Melnik, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer 2014”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Accommodation was ok, average room with bathroom and balcony. No refrigerator, possible to rent it for 20E/week. Kind staff. Very poor dinner, slightly beter breakfast. Very noisy area even at late night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnetaSyrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    112
    120
    57
    52
See reviews for
116
97
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Rooms were basic.....bed was comfortable...... shower was ok.......You could here everything from other rooms.......Food was not to my taste!! ...... Great location for night life and beach both just round the corner...... Pool area was ok but cushions on the sun beds would have been good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one week at the end of July, and on a half board basis.

Location:
We arrived at around 3am - the drop off point is outside a big and popular nightclub - club Tropics and the hotel is down a side street behind Burger King and MacDonalds. If you are not into clubbing and don't enjoy the company of drunk, young (18-20 years) people as well as the noise that comes with it - perhaps this is not the hotel for you. This may however be different if visited in term time. The hotel was not far from the beach, this takes about 10 minutes to reach, and is accessible via many back roads and the main street. Both are filled with shops and bars. We did enjoy many a drink at a bar just behind a shop called 'Happy Days' the bar was called El Cristo something - a pint was only 2Euros, and often served with an aperitif. The main bus station is just across the main street, and a return bus to Barcelona costs 10.25 Euro (adult) it takes about an hour and is well worth it (beautiful city). Would recommend booking your seats on the bus the day before. These get booked up quickly and the seats are allocated.

*TIP: The drop off point in Barcelona is on a street, that upon arrival is not easily identifiable. When you get off, you are at a cross roads. Cross the street ahead and head towards the green park(like) area. Keep going straight until you see a number of large fountains on the left. This is a central information point and you pick up one of the two sightseeing tour busses here.*

Hotel Room:
The hotel was immaculately clean throughout. The rooms whilst simple are refurbished and come with air con. The twin room we were initially given was really small, and the balcony looked out on to other balcony's and was tiny! The next morning the very helpful and kind staff changed our room (without request) to a quieter section of the hotel. This was a family/double standard room and much better - Would recommend booking this! Room has a hairdryer, but don't expect any kettle or fridge. A safe key/lock is 4Euros per day, 20Euros for the week, with a 10Euro deposit.

Pools/Entertainment
There are 2 pools and 1 kiddy pool, whilst small they are enough to take the heat out of your skin after sunbathing on the roof. We had a "DJ" playing music on Thursday/Friday & Saturday night. This was ok, but not a highlight. The other nights included some live music, and a flamenco performance.

Food:
Whilst more reviews say the food here is good, we did not. Whilst we were grateful not to be ill, the selection was not the best. The "hot" selection of food rotated every other day, consisting of beans, really greasy mushrooms, fried eggs*,scrambled eggs* with peas & mongetout, Spanish/German sausages, and "bacon". There were brioche style croissants, Spanish biscuits and madeira cake. You could also make a sandwich with cheese or ham (although the ham was horrible - tasted like Billy bear ham). The dinner was not much better, although there was a large selection it was often cheap and small cuts of meat, fish (deep fried), pasta with a instant cheese style sauce (Carbonara) and a tomato/pasata sauce. We ate out a few nights because it was so busy, disorderly, and we were tired of eating bland, food that we didn't enjoy but endured because we were hungry.

Drinks:
If you want a cup of tea with breakfast, bring tea bags - the ones supplied are horrible. Likewise with the coffee. There is no fruit juice, only machines dispensing a squash like syrup drink. This is strong, and makes your teeth shiver with the sugar.
The service from the waiters whilst enjoying the entertainment was great, polite, attentive, and reasonable(ish) price wise.

Overall:
If I was to visit lloret again, I would recommend this hotel, it was family friendly and clean. However, I would recommend staying in one of the apartments rather than the hotel, and perhaps on a self catering basis. I also think that the information about things to do, and help could be improved with more information in English. Many of the notice boards provide information in French, Spanish and German only.

One final note: We went on a ecursion booked with a travel agent (across the main street, and to the right of the bus station)

Room Tip: Ask for a family room (hopefully this will from level 3 up), the AC is quieter, however you maybe un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Klipp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

hi my husband n I spent a wk at maria del mar hotel in june ovthis year well what can I say the hotel was lovey the food was really nice the staff was very friendly n the hotel was lovely n clean , the hotel was right in the center ov lorett de mar u couldent ov got any nearer if u tried theire was plenty ov bars , shops n resturants all close 2 hand even mcdonalds on my corner n burger king on the other corner , it was really good4 children aswell plenty 4 then 2 do they ad like akids cub a swimming pool 4 then n lots ov other entainment theire was even a roof top pool with sun loungers , we really enjoyed r holiday hear n would return again linda

Room Tip: double room really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 259lindylou259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

weekend away the hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly. the food was very good lots to choose from everyone should remember they are not at home and so the hotel caters for lots of different people breakfast lunch and tea was included in our price and it was very very good.
our beds were made every day and clean towels and bathroom cleaned the rooms are very adequate for getting ready and sleeping.
it was a noisy hotel when everyone came back from going out but really not a problem.
the hotel is larger than i expected so have a good look around the facilities

I would go back to this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice hotel good location, friendly staff we had no problems, te security were fab when we got back to the hotel in early hours making sure they knew who was staying there and who wasn't. Basic rooms but was a basic price. Bars and resturaunt extremely close beach only a small walk away. Breakfast was horrible glad we only opted for a b n b. Top party venues e.g st trop, and cocktail bars fab time

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samlambert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is located in Lloret de Mar - a little town by the seaside, that is full of clubs, bars and discos. There're a lot of teenagers from all over Europe.
The hotel has a great place: it's very close to the beach, right next to the best clubs, but at the same time at night you can't really hear all the noise and music

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
Hotel Helios Lloret de Mar
#39 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xaine Park Hotel
Xaine Park Hotel
#60 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#16 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Flamingo
Gran Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#65 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Park
Astoria Park
#35 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria del Mar

Property: Maria del Mar
Address: Ponent 11-13, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maria del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maria del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Del Mar Hotel Lloret De Mar
Maria Del Mar Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing