We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
Ranked #76 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just back from a week here and was a little hesitant before going but at £200 each including flights and transfers was to good not to give it a try. Thought I would give me views on things.

HOTEL
The hotel does show some signs of wear and tear but you have to look for them and they do not subtract from the overall cleanness of the hotel. Our room was cleaned every day as was all the communal areas. It is far enough from the main centre that you are not kept awake all night but close enough so you can be there with a 10 mins walk. One of the smaller beaches is even closer straight down the road outside the hotel. The spa and steam room are an added bonus that you would pay extra for in a lot of hotels. Also unlike most hotels the air-con is free.

FOOD
There was not a day when I could not find something to eat. Be warned you are going to Spain so the food is Spanish. There is a lot of fish, pork and veal, but there is also salad and chips if you really do not like what is on offer. Spanish people tend to eat their food warm rather than hot so yes it can seem to be cold. However if you really do need your food hot there is a microwave just for that. At lunchtime you can also choose to have burgers, hotdogs, nuggets and chips which are served in the bar area. You can even have that then still go for lunch if you so wish. If you go all inclusive the amount you are paying for food and drinks is about £10 a day so taken that in to account the food is very good.

BAR
As with all other all inclusive deals I have been on you can have local drinks, here this means a local beer (this was drinkable), cheap vodka, whiskey, brandy, rum etc as well as sangria. If you only drink bitter or a specific brand of something then all inclusive is not for you. The downside here is that since they have a lot of guests that are not on the all inclusive deal you need to queue to get drinks. The longest I waited was about 10 minutes but that was only once. In addition despite the rules being only 1 drink, it was never enforced while we were there.

POOL
The pool is small for the size of the hotel, but that said we never had a problem finding a seat or lounger. The sun terrace is nice with the outdoor jacuzzi which we used. The fact I did not go on holiday to lay by the pool might have helped since these things were secondary to my needs.

OVERALL
I really enjoyed my stay here so much so that we are looking at going back next year. There was no do slamming at 4 am, only 1 rowdy group who were soon told to quieten down and did so. We did go at the start of October when the main season is over so it might be worse in August. If you are looking for a cheap all inclusive deal that is near the action but not right on top of it, then you could do a lot worse then this place.

Room Tip: It seems that they are in the process of doing the rooms up starting at the top. There are 7 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

before i went on this holiday i was dreading it every day i would read the reviews and i was not looking forward to my holiday at all!! now we went on the 20th sep 2012 and the weather was amazingggg it was really nice, when we first got to the hotel i have to agree first impressions it doesnt look very good it is on a main road and that can be a little of putting. but once inside i thought the reception area was lovely we were given our key to the room straight away and went of to find it. now the first room we had was on the second floor... it was nothing special just your average bog standard room it was really small and the bathroom was well.. minging lol we asked at reception the next day if we could move to the 5th floor and it was done without any problems. now the rooms on the 5th floor are MUCH better lovely and modern brand new bathroom and decorated lovely so we were very happy the rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard and we had no problems with cleaniness at all. the main down fall for the hotel is the food... if your not a big lover of meat then you definatley will not like the food they served a lot of meats i didnt even realize you could eat and stay away from the chicken nuggets i had some the one day and the chicken was grey.. so i would avoid those if possible lol :S so me and my partner ate out alot breakfast was the best meal they did and the deserts were always really nice. The drinks were watered down but we expected that in an inclusive hotel best drink i would recommend is peach snapps lemonade and grenadine it is sooo nice a lot of people were just drinking vodka and coke but they do like sangria and sex on the beach and stuff to the one downfall with the drinks is that if you drink beer they only offer one home larger on the tap but it didnt taste that bad . if you make friends with the barmen they seem to give you stronger alcohol lol the one waiter we met who was lovelyyyyy was Miguel he was a tai boxer if you get to meet him ask him to lift up his top!!!! haha ... the pool is tiny we didn't actually go in the pool whilst we were there because it was always full with kids we used to just sit at the tables and get drunk haha if you go outside by the pool and walk up the steps your in the jacuzzi area which is nice i did try the jacuzzi and it was freezing so didn't stay in it for very long!! all the people that we met at the hotel were sooooo lovely and really made the hotel special:) the spa area was proberly one of the best parts to the hotel it was lovely and modern and the steam room was great make sure you check it out!! now although the hotel is on a main road the location i thought was brilliant its right next to a really big supermarket which is handy if you need to get any bits and bobs. right across the road there are some lovely little shops and its literally about 10 mins walk to the beach and bars/ restuarants. the best place for food is right across the road its like 5 euro for any pizza and they are amazinggg :) also theres a free bus right outside the hotel that goes to marine land you HAVE to go. best day out ever we watched all the dolphin and seal shows and the parrot show and then theres a big waterpark there to we spent the whole day there and had so much fun :) honestly i would recommend going to this hotel i think some people are just TO fussy if your standards are not 'that' high then you will have a fantastic time don't let the other reviews get you down because i did and trust me it really isn't that bad :) i had a lovely holiday and really enjoyed myself!

Room Tip: ask to move to the 5th floor the rooms are all really lovely on the floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

arrived to find hotel very clean and more spacious than appears.
great steam room and spa bath free too.
our room on sixth floor spacious clean well fitted.
breakfast everyday was worst ever experienced by myself and wife and most people we met.
after couple meals which were all cold we ate out.
everyone complained about the food every day.
the bar...slow service in those awful test tubes
highlight of the week watching guest look in snacks cabinets for the 4 pm snax !
empty ! just dry wafers...hilarious.
entertainment.....
small pile burgers and hot dogs earlier in day though....oh joy....but long gaps between snax n drinks esp for kids.
oh loved the way staff turned off drinks machine bang on the dot while eating meals...no more...is finished....go upstairs...no drink there yet ha.
bonus points they jumped on rowdy British drunken holiday makers and we met a great bunch of Irish guys who made our hols.
Big al.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanhypno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel was awful, the food and drink was disgusting and the room was small and it is on a main road so lot's of noise as the patio doors seem to have no noise reduction going on, the bathroom constantly smelled of sewage and the beds were so hard you would wake up with dead arms. At night if there wasn't shouting and screaming at all hours there were people slamming doors. At one point a stag do broke through the glass exit doors ruining a quiet drink we were trying to have, and another time there was a group of 20 or more spanish teenagers who were very rude and loud. And yet the hotel done nothing to rectify any of this for us, so we ended up staying in a hotel in Barcelona for the night to try and get some decent sleep

Room Tip: Try and be on the top floor in one of there "Suite's" you may not have as much noise u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebell3680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

well i was horrified to read report after report of horrific reports, discussed it with a friend and she said alot on here who roport on things as a hobby to annoy and worry ppl...now here is the truth and nothing but the truth about ancla...

yes the rooms are small if your gonna have more than 2 people in them..but what the heck do some people expect?? doh! i was on the 5th floor, on the side over the entrance, i was extremely happy with my room, standard was lovely, bathroom awesome and very clean as was the whole room, view wasnt great but what the hell..i am only on my balcony when i am either tipsy having a late drink or to wake myself up in the morning.
the hotel its self i was surprised when i walked in through the door, i expect a cockroach infested shabby reception after all i had read, with horrid staff and lager louts every where..well i was wrong, lovely clean area, staff pleasant and helpfully(even when i lost my room key card)..i was on crutches at time as had fractured 2 bones in my foot, staff couldnt help me enough when asked
yes the swimming pool is small, but big enough as most walked to beach, which was within 5 mins walk and fabulous
ok now here for the food...breakfast was bacon, sausage, spanish omlette, and you could have a selection of breads or toast..and occasionally beans...and a wide selection for continental brekki....the bacon wasnt great, but you could eat it if you were not fussy, sausages were hotdog sausages, not everyones fav thing but i enjoyed them.....right here is the warning smell the beans first as on my last morning it wasnt beans but ratatouille...not nice for brekki. lunch was lovely, fresh salads, fish, if the battered squid or octopus if available i would highly recommend!! dinner in the evening was again lovely, all the usual salad, a pork, fish and chicken dish always available....and i never had reason to complain...the main thing about the restaurant area was the staff..i have to say they work hard!! showing people to their tables, with a bottle of fresh water and then brings a bottle of wine if you asked them to...the kitchen staff constantly refreshing the food out. ignore all the rubbish about barely edible...i enjoyed it very much|!
the bar and final bit.....yes your drinks are served in small plastic glasses..but its all inclusive so what is wrong with people..go get another drink..simple!!!! we were always allowed to get 2 drinks everytime, and no it wasnt because i was on crutches, everyone was doing!!

all in all if you expect 5* luxury at 3* prices then tough no i would say its for you...on the other hand, if you want decent 3* accom in a clean, friendly hotel then go for it..i enjoyed it, and already thinking of booking for next year with a couple of friends,
after reading some of the reports on here i think ...no infact i know that people just love to moan about nothing, i almost cancelled my holiday thanks to these idiots...so glad i didnt!!!!!!!

thanks to the staff...look forward to seeing you next year x

susy and troy (of preston)

Room Tip: ask for front facing or top 2-3 floors....these have recently been decorated i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank susy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel was awful, the bar was only open 11-11, the food was disgusting overcooked and cold, the pool was very small with only a small amount of sun loungers, the room i was given was at the back of the holtel above the kitchen with no view , no air con and the disgusting smell of cooking coming in all the time, the door onto our balcony was broken and you had to be very careful when u went near it, here were no reps in the hotel and we also recived no welcome pack when we checked in, the hotel was very Spanish meaning they played mostly spanish music and the spanish people who stayed there had better service than everyone else.

Room Tip: If you do go to this hotel and dont like the room complain in the first 10 mins otherwise they wont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have never experianced any thing like this place in my life!...You couldnt even lye on your sunbed or ther were dirty old men lying next to you trying to chat you up then half hour later the wife would come and join and she was just as bad never take your kids here it is like a live sex show they all make out in the indoor pool and spa area and it doesnt matter if ther is anybody else in ther even children some old lady took her top of got her breasts out and started groping her male partner infront of children.I have never been so discusted in my life and frightend the hotel its self is a discrace!!!!YES its cheap but i wouldnt expect a dog to stay in ther the food is rotton the drink is not worth drinking as it just does not effect you and the staff are snotty.they never clean the roof top sun area at all i was ther for 4 days (TO LONG)!! And it never got cleaned once the glasses you get your drink in are always dirty i feel sorry for anyone who has booked here the place needs raided for all the perverts !!!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are a bit better but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#80 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#82 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samba
Hotel Samba
#87 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#9 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
GHT Oasis Park & SPA
#20 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guitart Gold Central Park Aqua Resort
Hotel Guitart Gold Central Park ...
#83 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA

Address: C/ Aribau 3, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly H TOP Palm Beach)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range: £22 - £1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star H•TOP Palm Beach & SPA hotel is a renovated resort located in the lively city of Lloret de Mar, one of the most popular cities in Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain). Positioned at 350 metres from the beach and 500 metres from the centre. The comfortable 153-room provide many facilities and services for adults and children and it is an ideal place for singles, couples and families. It is situated 85 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 25 Kmfrom Girona Airport. Lloret de Mar is one of the most popular cities in Costa Brava known for the lively nightlife and its clean&safe beaches. FACILITIES Rooms • Business centre (on request) • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc. • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool (Unsupervised pool) • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Heated indoor pool • Turkish bath • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning (Only superior rooms) • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV “old” • TV plasma • Luggage storage (coin lockers)* • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancla Hotel Lloret De Mar
Hotel Ancla
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing