We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
Ranked #86 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
beds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel room was a bit shabby but clean. Food was very good and plenty to choose from but the management need to do something about the waste of food. It was very annoying to see people loading up their tables with food which they had no intention of eating and the badly behaved children throwing food and handling food that they were not going to eat. I expect the prices would drop dramatically if the hotel was filled with Brits instead of rude obnoxious ignorant Europeans. If the hotel charged €5 per wasted plate of food and made a rule that children under 12 had to be accompanied by an adult at all times they would soon stop doing it. We leave on Friday 27/6 and will not be sorry to get back to civilisation!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedf0rdgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    482
    466
    324
    312
See reviews for
626
486
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

After reading all the reviews on here we were dreading arriving at this hotel but we were delightfully suprised. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who made sure there was food available to us and explained everything to us.

The room was a standard room and very clean. The room and balcony were cleaned daily and the towels changed. We left quite a few things behind on depature and the cleaner had bagged them and handing them into reception enabling us to retrieve our goods giving me a lot of faith in the staff at this hotel.

Now for the most slated thing - THE FOOD! and this is what we dreaded the most but again we were suprised. I am a very fussy eater and i found something to eat every night. I did not find the food cold at all as i had previously read. My partner also enjoyed the food an was far more adventrous than myself. They had fresh fruit, salads, chips, pasta and rice everynight. They changed the meats so one night you'd hve a choice between chicken beef and fish another night turkey pork and a different type if fish. they also had another section with speciality dishes most of which were spanish and delicious. The deserts looked lovely, i dont eat desert so cant comment on taste but they were like mini deserts and looked cute. They had my partners stamp of approval anyways. The only one problem we encountered with the food was for my daughter. She is 7 and they didn't really cater for children so she did struggle to find things she liked on most days. However she did manage fine with the breakfast.

The hotel in itself was nice, pleasant and not as dated as what i expected from the reviews. The childrens club was great and kept my lil one entertained eah night. The flamenco show was also very good. They had a very good reptile show on one day too which was also very good. The bar staff and the entertainment were always polite and friendly.

We used all of the outside pools and the indoor pool and had no problem with any of them. The main one did get very busy and was sometimes difficult to get a sun lounger so i would recommend getting down early, and this pool has more sun than the other.

The location of the hotel is fab. Its a 10 min walk to lloret de mar beach and lloret centre and a 10 min walk the other direction to fenals beach. We preferred fenals beach but everyone has different taste.

Local bus station is a 5 minute walk with regular buses to all resorts on costa brava and also into barcelona. Very good prices too.

I honestly do not understand what the bad reviews are all about. We paid a bargain price and were more than satisfied. I would go again and i would pay more than what we did. I dont know if the bad reviews are from people who expect to pay next to nothing and want the world or wether they just like to moan. But we had no problems and would revisit. I believe you get what you pay for and we were haopy with that.

The only one negative thing we did experience is a LOT of rowdy german students. They were no real problem just a bit loud and this is not a problem with the hotel just timing of when we went. The first 3 days was a lot of older french people and things were wuite calm. Then the last 4 days we had a lot of germans who were ready to party. From my understanding they had finished school for the year and they arrived in force. They were polite and friendly however and caused no real problems. They just liked to sing and dance a lot as youngsters do and obviously arrived back early hours of the morning.

Thanks H TOP ROYAL STAR After reading all the reviews on here we were dreading arriving at this hotel but we were delightfully suprised. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who made sure there was food available to us and explained everything to us.

The room was a standard room and very clean. The room and balcony were cleaned daily and the towels changed. We left quite a few things behind on depature and the cleaner had bagged them and handing them into reception enabling us to retrieve our goods giving me a lot of faith in the staff at this hotel.

Now for the most slated thing - THE FOOD! and this is what we dreaded the most but again we were suprised. I am a very fussy eater and i found something to eat every night. I did not find the food cold at all as i had previously read. My partner also enjoyed the food an was far more adventrous than myself. They had fresh fruit, salads, chips, pasta and rice everynight. They changed the meats so one night you'd hve a choice between chicken beef and fish another night turkey pork and a different type if fish. they also had another section with speciality dishes most of which were spanish and delicious. The deserts looked lovely, i dont eat desert so cant comment on taste but they were like mini deserts and looked cute. They had my partners stamp of approval anyways. The only one problem we encountered with the food was for my daughter. She is 7 and they didn't really cater for children so she did struggle to find things she liked on most days. However she did manage fine with the breakfast.

The hotel in itself was nice, pleasant and not as dated as what i expected from the reviews. The childrens club was great and kept my lil one entertained eah night. The flamenco show was also very good. They had a very good reptile show on one day too which was also very good. The bar staff and the entertainment were always polite and friendly.

We used all of the outside pools and the indoor pool and had no problem with any of them. The main one did get very busy and was sometimes difficult to get a sun lounger so i would recommend getting down early, and this pool has more sun than the other.

The location of the hotel is fab. Its a 10 min walk to lloret de mar beach and lloret centre and a 10 min walk the other direction to fenals beach. We preferred fenals beach but everyone has different taste.

Local bus station is a 5 minute walk with regular buses to all resorts on costa brava and also into barcelona. Very good prices too.

I honestly do not understand what the bad reviews are all about. We paid a bargain price and were more than satisfied. I would go again and i would pay more than what we did. I dont know if the bad reviews are from people who expect to pay next to nothing and want the world or wether they just like to moan. But we had no problems and would revisit. I believe you get what you pay for and we were haopy with that.

The only one negative thing we did experience is a LOT of rowdy german students. They were no real problem just a bit loud and this is not a problem with the hotel just timing of when we went. The first 3 days was a lot of older french people and things were wuite calm. Then the last 4 days we had a lot of germans who were ready to party. From my understanding they had finished school for the year and they arrived in force. They were polite and friendly however and caused no real problems. They just liked to sing and dance a lot as youngsters do and obviously arrived back early hours of the morning.

Thanks H TOP ROYAL STAR for a fab holiday. We will see you again soon :-)

After reading all the reviews on here we were dreading arriving at this hotel but we were delightfully suprised. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who made sure there was food available to us and explained everything to us.

The room was a standard room and very clean. The room and balcony were cleaned daily and the towels changed. We left quite a few things behind on depature and the cleaner had bagged them and handing them into reception enabling us to retrieve our goods giving me a lot of faith in the staff at this hotel.

Now for the most slated thing - THE FOOD! and this is what we dreaded the most but again we were suprised. I am a very fussy eater and i found something to eat every night. I did not find the food cold at all as i had previously read. My partner also enjoyed the food an was far more adventrous than myself. They had fresh fruit, salads, chips, pasta and rice everynight. They changed the meats so one night you'd hve a choice between chicken beef and fish another night turkey pork and a different type if fish. they also had another section with speciality dishes most of which were spanish and delicious. The deserts looked lovely, i dont eat desert so cant comment on taste but they were like mini deserts and looked cute. They had my partners stamp of approval anyways. The only one problem we encountered with the food was for my daughter. She is 7 and they didn't really cater for children so she did struggle to find things she liked on most days. However she did manage fine with the breakfast.

The hotel in itself was nice, pleasant and not as dated as what i expected from the reviews. The childrens club was great and kept my lil one entertained eah night. The flamenco show was also very good. They had a very good reptile show on one day too which was also very good. The bar staff and the entertainment were always polite and friendly.

We used all of the outside pools and the indoor pool and had no problem with any of them. The main one did get very busy and was sometimes difficult to get a sun lounger so i would recommend getting down early, and this pool has more sun than the other.

The location of the hotel is fab. Its a 10 min walk to lloret de mar beach and lloret centre and a 10 min walk the other direction to fenals beach. We preferred fenals beach but everyone has different taste.

Local bus station is a 5 minute walk with regular buses to all resorts on costa brava and also into barcelona. Very good prices too.

I honestly do not understand what the bad reviews are all about. We paid a bargain price and were more than satisfied. I would go again and i would pay more than what we did. I dont know if the bad reviews are from people who expect to pay next to nothing and want the world or wether they just like to moan. But we had no problems and would revisit. I believe you get what you pay for and we were haopy with that.

The only one negative thing we did experience is a LOT of rowdy german students. They were no real problem just a bit loud and this is not a problem with the hotel just timing of when we went. The first 3 days was a lot of older french people and things were wuite calm. Then the last 4 days we had a lot of germans who were ready to party. From my understanding they had finished school for the year and they arrived in force. They were polite and friendly however and caused no real problems. They just liked to sing and dance a lot as youngsters do and obviously arrived back early hours of the morning.

Thanks H TOP ROYAL STAR for a fab holiday. We will see you again soon :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chickaboo2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hi there,
We just been to this hotel, and we confirm that hotel was upto standard.
This is one of the best 4* star hotel, good food, decent rooms , and good customer service provided by staff.

Although we reach hotel at midnight 11:45 pm , staff on reception desk was wonderful and manage to offer snack to us.
From start with breakfast in morning , lunch and dinner , everything was perfect.

We read previously reviews, and we confirms that excellent hotel for holidays with best value for money.

Room Tip: Balcony views are best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chirag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Firstly the positives..
The location is very good and we found the hotel, although very dated was kept to a very good overall clean standard.
On the whole staff were very good.
The reception were superb, really informative and gave detailed local knowledge.
The hotel was really fully staffed, probably more staff than we have seen anywhere.
It was a very cheap price but not really as all inclusive as we expected.
They had a hidden charge for nearly everything.
Wi fi is not free even in the reception.. Go to Mc Donalds it`s free there...
Sauna charged.
Coctails one type of their choice per day otherwise charged.
Real barrista coffee charged..
Sangria. charged
Bingo. charged.. can`t believe that one can you neither could we.
Fridges. a 4 star with no fridge oh you can have one for a charge..
Air conditioning.. if you wake up sweating after 2AM don`t worry it`s not broke they switch it off to save money and let us sweat like pigs.
Beware it`s like a riot at night.
We had hoardes of German teenagers running wild all night screaming and shouting blind drunk.
They don`t seem to care at all..
This hotel is getting really run down and ready for an update.
Can`t see how it got 4 stars ever...
The food was plentiful but some f the worst we have ever encountered.
The only decent spread was the Catalonian fayre on the Friday evening that was really good.
No idea how they can ruin good food so well..
The only meat they seem to be able to cook is chicken.
We`re hardened meat eaters and we nearly turned into veggies, soggy ones though!!!
Please listen to this honest review, yes it is cheap but not too good....
Never again !!!

Room Tip: High floor, low rooms are very noisy you will not sleep at all due to teenage drunks. Also rear roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcarpet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our group of four booked this hotel as a cheap, last minute deal. After reading some of the reviews on here I wasn't expecting much from the hotel but I was so wrong. After we eventually got there at 10:30pm they had stopped serving food but had laid out some small snacks for us to eat.

Food:
The food was great! Breakfast, lunch and dinner all had a variety of things to eat each and everyday and it wasn't at all cold as many of the reviewers have said, the food was delicious and snacks were served in the bar outside of the main eating hours.

Room:
We all stayed in one room with two single beds and one double. The room was clean and new towels and bed sheets were put out every morning by the cleaners. The beds were really comfy and extra pillows were kept in the wardrobe if you wanted more than one.

Hotel:
Overall the hotel is very nice, with three pools to choose from you won't find yourselves with nothing to do. One of the pools is located above the restaurant with glass windows so you can be seen swimming around - which is always fun :)

Overall:
The only negative points I can say about this hotel is the drink arrangements. Instead of having an all inclusive wrist band to get drinks you are given two cards. One for the glass and one for the actual drink. You are only allowed another drink if you bring your glass back - which isn't that bad but at the end of the night when they close (1am) if you haven't gotten the card back you are forced to take the glasses back to the room until tomorrow.

Great experience and I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Me and my hubby stayed here in June 2014 for one week it was our first holiday abroad and we had an amazing time! Hotel was clean, food was fab lots of selection staff were friendly and very helpful! We took the opportunity of using the free bus to other hotels and visited the Htop royal sun in Santa Suzanna and the Htop callella palace in callella both hotels were fab and good was good as well! We also went on the castell medieval and Flememco show amazing night... Well worth it! The royal star hotel is about a ten minute walk from the beautfiul lloret de mar where we got the boat to tossa de mar! Plenty do do in the are lots of little shops etc. the hotel is local to beaches and places to eat as well if u want to eat out! Would defo stay here again. Fab holiday

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

i went with my neice and nephew for one week, the hotel was wonderful but not sure what the super deal was about as did not get anything different from anyone else, all staff were very helpful and friendly. The beds were made every day but the room as not cleaned or the balcony atall for the week we were there. fresh towels are but out every day if you leave the dirty ones in the bath which i think is a good idea. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good holiday and a little walk from the beach so you do not hear the nightlife too much. The transfers are terrible and spoilt the whole holiday both ways for us but hotel wonderful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lloret de Mar
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#67 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#71 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#21 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#23 of 43 in Calella
1,892 reviews
14.1 mi away
H.TOP Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park
#21 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#14 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Star & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Star & SPA

Property: H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
Address: Avda. Vila de Blanes, 70, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly H TOP Royal Star)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Star & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star H•TOP Royal Star & SPA hotel is a nice family oriented hotel located in the lively city of Lloret de Mar, (north-east coast of Spain). Positioned at 10-minute walk from Fenals Beach Creek and a 15-minute walk from the Lloret de Mar beach. This classic 397- room hotel offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. It is situated at 85 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 25 Km from Girona Airport. Lloret de Mar is one of the most popular cities in Costa Brava known for the lively nightlife and its clean&safe beaches. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • 2 Bar • 2 Swimming pools • Sun terraces • Laundry • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Heated indoor pool with waterfall • Turkish bath • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Currency exchange • Car hire* • External medical service* • Air-conditioning / Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your H.TOP Royal Star & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Royal Star Hotel
Royal Star Hotel Lloret De Mar
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing